We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class - no complaints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza, Belfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza, Belfast to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza, Belfast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“First class - no complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I do like this place. If I can really try hard to find a problem its turning right out of the hotel onto the busy road - its very difficult.
Otherwise its a nice hotel, comfortable, nice rooms, lovely food. The hotel was so quiet. Overall I'd say very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Woodhurst

Thank you for posting your review during your stay with us. We very much appreciate your comments and are pleased to hear you had found everything at the Ramada Plaza to your expectations. I am glad you enjoyed the comfortable surroundings and quality food at the hotel. We respect your comment on the busy road and appreciate at times the difficulties getting out on to the main road hoping this did not cause to much inconvenience.
However we do look forward to welcome you back for another stay in the near future.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    283
    127
    59
    50
See reviews for
233
204
29
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as part of the neighbourhood retailer awards. We arrived early and checked in. We used booking.com as it was £20 cheaper than booking direct. Our room was spacious and cosy and very clean. Before our function we had a drink in the bar. It was well priced and the pint of guinness i had was perfect. As we were attending a function there was a champagne reception and the staff were very polite despite standing for nearly an hour with champagne on a tray. The fuction room was well laid out. The meal was excellent and we had our own waitress for bar runs which saved anyone from the table getting up. We won 2 awards which put us in great numour. Breakfast was great the next morning with a huge range , and a staff member checking all the trays on numerous occassions. The staff were not intrusive but were always close at hand. Checking out was quick and easy and it helped that the fella checking us out was from our home town. Wont be the last time i come here

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Darren

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ramada Plaza Belfast. It is wonderful to hear you had a enjoyable stay during attending one of the Awards Dinners held with us. I am pleased you found our rooms spacious and very comfortable and breakfast plentyiful and to your satisfaction on the next morning. We are delighted you had a spledid evening at the awards dinner and the service and food was great on the evening and our staff was always at hand to provide your requirements. We at the Ramada Plaza always strive to provide the best for our customers and hope they have enjoyable time. Congratulations on winning your award on the evening. Thank you so much and hope to see you back agin in the near future.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have organised a large conference in the Ramada Plaza for the past 10 years and every year the event gets better and runs more smoothly. This year was no exception. The rooms were setup exactly as requested; any last minute changes we asked for were carried out quickly and with a smile; the food was superb!

The chef presented an amazing buffet lunch with a superb fresh salmon display, tasty salads and delicious main courses. The Gala Dinner was a work of genius. The chef took our idea for a retro theme and researched the dishes meticulously, bringing a modern twist to Vol-au-Vent, Florida Cocktail and Steak Diane. My steak was cooked perfectly (just a little pink) and it was amazing how the whole meal was served to nearly 300 people, hot, on time and delicious. Little touches such as the Tuck Shop bags at the end of the meal just added to the experience.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Ramada Plaza to anyone thinking of holding a large event.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear backpacker

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We at the Ramada Plaza are delighted to host yet another large conference and gala night which is certainly a privilage for another year running. It is nice to hear that everything from the beginning of the event run smoothly to all your requirements and hope we can improve even better for next years event and offer another superb evening by all. We are pleased you enjoyed the presentation and quality service of our chefs food and menu throughout the event, this is extremely important to us that we are able to deliver to all our large events held at the Ramada Plaza Belfast.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I recently attended the hotel federation dinner at this hotel.The drinks reception was very good but took a downward spiral after that. The dinner menu was a retro 70s theme so the starter was a seafood vol au vent it was hot but totally bland and the pastry overcooked. 2nd course was a florida cocktail sorbet which tasted like it had been in the freezer from the 70s.Main course steak dianne with overcooked courgette and provencale sauce which tasted like tomato puree and dried oregano a stuffed tomato with rice & peas no flavour whatsoever the steak was well done and dianne sauce without shallot mushroom tomato concasse brandy & french mustard incredible! Given that most of the guests were in the hospitallity industry not once did any member of the staff ask me did i enjoy the meal ect nor did i see a banquet/general manager on duty. The only saving grace of the evening was the dessert which was very good. Please take my critsism and improve your standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, General Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear redmanc

Thank you for your comments. We are most surprised and disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal / experience with us last week, as we have not had any complaints from the other 254 people who attended the Gala Ball - most importantly the Chief Executive of the NIHF who personally worked closely with our Executive Head Chef to compile the menu.
Our Deputy GM plus 5 other Managers (including our C & B Manager) were all present throughout the day/evening.
However here at Ramada Plaza we are most grateful for all the feedback, be it positive or negative.

Regards
Deborah Galloway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was a somewhat confusing trip. We had booked the hotel via our agency who organise most of the venues for our conferences. We got to Belfast airport and jumped in a cab and told the driver Ramada Belfast - like you would! Well imagine our surprise when Carol jumps out of the cab and goes into the hotel to be told 'it's not this Ramada it's the one at Shaws Bridge' which is incidentally outside of town. It seemed to take ages to get there in the taxi and when we arrived it's in a bit of a strange place - middle of suburbia. There is an oriental restaurant opposite and a gym as well. Anyway the staff seemed pleasant enough. However, the bedrooms were not ideal - very hot and no way of cooling it down unless you open the window which I did. Was woken at crack of dawn by a load of people getting into mini buses going to work smoking and talking rather loud. The conference part was OK and all seemed to go off well. We had lunch on day one in the bar and the service was slow - no-one behind the bar for much of the time. I don't think we'll be back.

Room Tip: Don't have one on the ground floor or front of hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Siobhan

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are disappointed to hear you did not find our venue a ideal location while attending your conference. I can say that a number of guests attending various functions and events have been known to arrive at the wrong hotel due to the similiar name and not checking confirmation, this is out of our control. We at the Ramada Plaza hold numerous events, functions and conferences which we praise ourselves in our setup that we can provide here and delivering the best service possible. However we apologize for the slow service that you received on this occassion and will look into this so this does not reoccur . Regarding the heating in your bedroom, we have air conditioning in all of our rooms, if you encountered a problem with the heating not working properly if this had been reported to reception we would of attended to this as we always have maintenance on call for any problems which may occur. However we do hope on another occassion you will try our Hotel and prove a more enjoyable experience.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed there for a weekend, reading the reviews I see people had problem with the room key, I tried the opposite way without going to the reception and it worked well,friendly staff,the hotel room was very clean , I just didn't try the food,I would recommend the hotel for anyone visiting Belfast, about 10 min by taxi from the city center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Lutropics

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Great to hear the Ramada Plaza Belfast is the ideal choice for you to stay, and that you enjoyed the comforts and surrounding facilities that the hotel offers. Thank you for your recommendations and hope you will join us again for another visit. Assuring you of our best service at all time.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in the Ramada Plaza after attending a wedding there. We had the same experience as a previous reviewer in that the room key card would not work. We had to go back to reception in order to get it rectified and was told to do the opposite to what the instructions on the card state, which worked when we tried it later. The food at the wedding was first class and table service was great. The only gripe I have is regarding one bar staff member in the front bar. She had zero personality and could not pour a pint. A member in my group had to ask her twice in order to get a decent pint and if looks could kill............ not an apology, smile or basic manners . I don't think that is much to ask especially at £3.60 each. Everything else was fine. Breakfast the next morning was first class.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear tyrone

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate all your comments positive and negative during your stay with us. Sorry to hear you had encountered a problem with your key card at this time, i can say this has been rectified now as we appeared to have had difficulties with some of these keys operating. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding and the food and service was first class thank you so much for that, i do hope you and your party had a wonderful day with us. It is disappointing to hear with all your lovely review that you did not receive the service by some member of our team. We sincerely apologize for this and will certainly pass this on to our Bar Manager to address. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Ramada Plaza on another occassion.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza, Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza, Belfast

Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#16 Family Hotel in Belfast
#18 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza, Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently upgraded from Ramada status to Ramada Plaza Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Plaza, Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza, Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.