We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal City Centre Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Belfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Belfast to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Belfast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Ormeau Avenue, Belfast BT2 8HS, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Essex - England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ideal City Centre Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a good clean hotel and ideally situated with only a five minute walk to the City Hall/City Centre. Friendly and helpful staff and a an excellent buffet breakfast. Rooms well equipped with tea and coffe facilities, iron and board, trouser press, flat creen TV etc. Beds have a choice of firm or soft pillows. Although my room was directly above the main road I found it very quiet, probably assited by the wooden sliding shutters on the windows instead of curtains. More hotels should have these they are very effective.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it's really appreciated.

Very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team welcoming and friendly, I will ensure the feedback is passed on.

We agree about the shutters though they do appear to be a love or hate thing when reading through the comments, fortunately many more seem to love than hate!

Hopefully we can welcome you back on your next trip to Belfast. Thanks again for the review.

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    339
    193
    82
    64
See reviews for
192
257
60
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very comfortable and clean hotel room. Mostly quiet, no outside noise, though I could hear the neighbours. Unfortunately, once again I was given a handicapped accessible room--are these always given to single business travelers?

Shower was hot and powerful, absolutely terrific, but despite the greatest of care, water drained out the bathroom door and into the carpet beyond! A structural flaw. No real inconvenience to me, but must drive housekeeping mad. Happened both times I used the shower.

Internet not free, and isn't all that fast. Seems to be ubiquitous to Belfast; free internet most everywhere else in Ireland.

Breakfast a very good selection, both buffet hot and continental; avoid scrambled eggs, puffed egg-air, horrible. Easy walk to city centre shopping, 6 minutes. Neighbourhood feels safe. Great selection of restaurants and bars in the immediate area. Check-in staff were very helpful, with both directions to a restaurant, and to a local church. An evening meal of bar food was tasty, and served promptly.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend one of the handicapped-accessible rooms, unless you're actually handica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a thorough and constructive review.

I'm sorry you were placed in a disabled room, we have a number of them which are all doubles so rather than placing people in a twin we utilise them. There is no difference that you would notice in the bedroom itself but the bathroom does have some different features.

I understand your point about the internet charges, watch this space as we are making an announcement soon on this issue which will please you. Little surprised by the speed comment as we have a super fast service which sits between 23-26mb and is by far and away the quickest service in the city.

We have fixed the issue with the shower, which was as you said a slight structural issue. I am pleased you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and the team and I hope to welcome you back soon and upgrade that 4 to a 5.

Thank you again for the review.

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, the staff were so helpful and friendly, the room was very clean and modern and the breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your great review, cheers me up on a pretty wet Bank Holiday Monday.

Really delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team helpful and friendly, that's the standard we aim to achieve and glad you enjoyed the breakfast, the new improved version is going down very well. Did you sneak a pancake?

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review which will be shared with all the team.

Hope we can welcome you back very soon

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We drove up from Dublin and stayed here for a night out. Very central, comfortable sleep and Anita on front desk was quite helpful in recommending where to go locally, really friendly and went out of her way for us. Breakfast quite expensive but otherwise a Great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for your review of your recent stay it is much appreciated.

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Anita looked after you so well. She will be proud as punch with the mention as well, positive mentions always lifts the spirits.

Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon.

Thank you again for the great review.

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here one night on business Good location - quiet and comfortable rooms - interesting Japanese style shutters instead of curtains in the bedroom. Reception and dinning areas decor is rather dark and uninspiring. Staff are very friendly and helpfull. Good breakfast - lots of choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review it is greatly appreciated.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and interesting to read your comments about the decor, we hear a lot that it is quite boutique in style which is unusual for a Holiday Inn but absolutely understand that different people have different tastes.

How can you not be inspired by our iconic pink bench? Vive la differance as they say.

Thanks again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the HIB in the very near future.

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

my wife and i stayed for 2 nights on our way to Scotland and for 1 night on our return, the hotel is well located, lots of places to eat, a short walk to the lyric theatre. the staff were pleasant and helpful, the room and the food were good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review it is greatly appreciated.

Very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope you enjoyed the play and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Belfast. Hopefully we can persuade to eat in our great restaurant!

Thank you again for your comments which have been passed on to the team.

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I ended up getting stuck in this hotel. From the outside it looked ok. It is in a relatively convenient part of town, and was easy enough to walk to where I needed to go for work the next day. Unfortunately, even though I had explicitly asked for a nonsmoking room, I ended up getting stuck in a smoking room. It smelled foul, and had a heater that was broken in the full heat setting. I tried to change rooms, but the staff were rude and refused. It was impossible for me to sleep, and I had to keep the window open in order to keep the room at a barely breathable state. The heat made the old cigarette smoke waft out of the furniture and into my clothing and skin. The staff were uncooperative when I complained and tried again to change rooms the next day. I ended up having to check out and went to the Europa down the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Robert B,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is great to know you appreciated the location of our property. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the room you had and the poor service you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Belfast

Address: 22 Ormeau Avenue, Belfast BT2 8HS, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#23 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Belfast 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Belfast is a modern, contemporary property located in the heart of the city with the Odyssey, Waterfront Hall and shopping areas just a few minutes walk away. It is the only hotel in Belfast with a Swimming Pool within the hotel's Spirit Health Club and Spa. The newly opened OrmEau Spa offers great treatments from a hair styling to a massage. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 170 fully air-conditioned bedrooms including accessible Rooms (5 of which have roll-in showers), free super fast high speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 600 people. The Hotel has a state of the art Academy Conference and Training Centre boasting 9 purpose built flexible meeting rooms. Our Hotel Restaurant, Lounge and Bar offer tempting dishes including local specialities and the famous Award Winning Holiday Inn Breakfast. Sit back and relax in our newly opened Starbucks in the hotel lobby. We recommend the use of the secure National Car Park, off the Dublin Road and less than 1 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Belfast Hotel Belfast
Belfast Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.