We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong with this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Belfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Belfast to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Belfast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Ormeau Avenue, Belfast BT2 8HS, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Manchester
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong with this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Positives:
1) great location!
5 minute walk from the City Hall / main shopping area.
1 minute walk to a cinema.
30 second walk to some bars and restaurants.
5 minute walk to the Europa Bus centre and Great Victoria street train station

2) I got upgraded when I arrived to an Executive room on the 7th floor!
3) free drinks and chocolate in the room.
4) the decor was lovely in the room. Looked more like a boutique hotel than a chain.
5) health club on the 2nd floor that has a swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi etc.
6) free wifi in my room (signal wasn't great though)

Negatives:
1) aircon in room702 doesn't work.
2) when you leave your bags behind reception to pick up later, I don't like the way they don't have any form of ticket system. This isn't very security conscious.


TIPS
1) I always find hotel breakfasts completely overpriced. 20 seconds walk from the hotel, there is a Wetherspoons. This may be a more economical option for you.
2) when you leave the hotel and turn right, there is a live music venue called the 'Limelight'. Check if there's anything on during your stay. We got to see the Courteeners.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your Mothers Day experience.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed a great day, I know we all thoroughly enjoyed putting it on, it was the first "big" carvery we had done and Stacey put a lot of effort in to organising it.

Thanks for mentioning Joe, he is one of our stars and we often see his name appear and he will be delighted that his contribution has been recognised.

Hope fully we can welcome you back soon to our next "Big" Carvery.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review, your comments have already been passed on to the team.

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    377
    218
    91
    72
See reviews for
210
281
64
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hotel in good location. Staff helpful and friendly. Food and wine good and fairly priced. The room could have done with a bit of TLC as the window shutter was broken and the wooden floor badly chipped. The room was comfortable and clean as was the rest of the hotel. Try and ask for a room towards the front of the hotel as the one we had looked on to a brick wall which made the room dull. The only downside was the leisure suite. Did not use the gym which looked well equipped but did use the swimming pool, steam room and sauna. The changing rooms are not directly linked to the swimming - you had to walk along a short corrider and the floor was not that clean. The changing rooms were not very clean and had exposed wires. The sauna and steam room were not very clean but this was due to some gentlemen shaving whilst in there and this is not the staff's fault but totally unhygenic. I raised my complaints to the staff but not sure if anything was done about it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Anne2350,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and for the room conditions that did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the facilities we offer to our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Spent one night before a business meeting at the Holiday inn and on arrival at 1000 following an early flight from England they allowed me to check in. The receptionist was helpful, welcoming and very efficient. The room was very comfortable and had everything I needed for my short stay. I think the price I paid (£79) was excellent value for money

I recommend you take advantage of the 'happy hour' free drink between 6pm and 7pm. it was a good opportunity to meet others before going out for dinner.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice from the buffet.
The hotel is in an ideal location for getting around Belfast and the City itself is wonderful. If you have time take a short trip to the Titanic experience it is excellent!

Well recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for St Patrick's Day!!
The hotel is in a brilliant location - easy walk to all local attractions. £5 in a taxi to the Titanic museum which I definately reccomend! Great experience.
The hotel is smart, clean and modern. Lovely reception area. Anita on reception was very helpful and a lovely girl!!
Only down side was service was quite slow but it was very busy so that is to be expected!!

Thank you for a great stay! Will definatley stay again next time we are in Belfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I arrived with my 7 yr old son for a one night stay on 9 March and on arrival I found the lady at reception quite frosty and not particularly friendly.This however was very much the exception as for the rest of our short stay the staff in the restaurant could not do enough for us and the young lady who helped us check out was fantastic and really made a big effort.The hotel could not be better situated within the city centre and my son really enjoyed the leisure centre where again the staff were lovely

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

As a family of four, childen aged 13 & 16. we arrived 9am on the door step of the Holiday Inn, known we couldnt check in til 2pm, asked if we could leave our luggage. The reception staff were great, they told us we could leave our luggage no bother, as we were cold and wet due to the rain, the male on reception booked us into our room there and then. we couldnt have been more grateful. once in our room which was a queen size for 4 of us, plenty of room a double bed with a sofa bed and another pull out bed. also in the room was cable TV, tea & coffee,hairdryer, iron & ironing board, a fridge, fresh towels, air con for your own comfort of heat or cool air. the bathroom had shower & bath with complimentry toiletries. The room was very clean and we were very happy. we all slept great even though the hotel was busy, never heard a sound from outside or other rooms.
we used the fitness suite (they provide towels). My husband is an avid gym user & body builder. He thought the facilities were enough for a good workout while away from home, enough runners, crosstrainers, bikes, weight machines, weight benches, dumbell racks upto 40kg, also tvs & waterpoints. We all used the swimming pool with hot tub, steam room & sauna. This was great for our teens to keep them active and having fun.
The bar was nice relaxed atmosphere. drinks were priced at normal hotel prices. while we were there, a boxing match was going on and a wedding, to be honest it was still relaxed.
This hotel is situated 2 min walk from belfast city halls, right on the door step of the city centre. great location.
I would like to thank the reception staff for all their help and the male reception (sorry i forgot your name) for the early check in and late check out as this was such a great big help especially with teens!! I will certainly be advising friends and family to book the holiday inn if they visit Belfast. I will be returning in october to Belfast for Jessie J concert and I will defo be booking the Holiday Inn. To the manager, be proud of your staff they are doing a great job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish couple in Paris
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is my third time staying in this hotel. It is so central to all location attractions. Just park the car in the nearby public car park on Ormeau Avenue and everything is in walking distance.
On this occasion I went with two of my daughters aged 12 and 15. We enjoyed meals at Pizza Express and Nandos which were within 2 minutes walk!!
2-3 minutes walk to nearest Movie House cinema. City centre shops within 5-10 minutes walk.
We enjoyed the use of the pool, sauna, steamroom and jacuzzi each day. There is also a gym but we did not avail of it on this occasion. It is very handy that there is a fridge and kettle in the room. On the first day we ate a very substantial breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Under 12 eat free with a paying adult.The second day we decided to have a lie-in and bought cereal, milk, doughnuts and fruit the day before which we had for our breakfast the second day.
Well worth the trip and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Belfast

Address: 22 Ormeau Avenue, Belfast BT2 8HS, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Belfast 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Belfast is a modern, contemporary property located in the heart of the city with the Odyssey, Waterfront Hall and shopping areas just a few minutes walk away. It is the only hotel in Belfast with a Swimming Pool within the hotel's Spirit Health Club and Spa. The newly opened OrmEau Spa offers great treatments from a hair styling to a massage. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 170 fully air-conditioned bedrooms including accessible Rooms (5 of which have roll-in showers), free super fast high speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 600 people. The Hotel has a state of the art Academy Conference and Training Centre boasting 9 purpose built flexible meeting rooms. Our Hotel Restaurant, Lounge and Bar offer tempting dishes including local specialities and the famous Award Winning Holiday Inn Breakfast. Sit back and relax in our newly opened Starbucks in the hotel lobby. We recommend the use of the secure National Car Park, off the Dublin Road and less than 1 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Belfast Hotel Belfast
Belfast Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.