We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms, Needs Free Wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Belfast

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Belfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Belfast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Ormeau Avenue, Belfast BT2 8HS, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 44 hotels in Belfast
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms, Needs Free Wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Holiday Inn in Belfast was a bit of a pleasant surprise. It's really been fixed up and modernized. In fact, it was one of the quietest rooms I've ever had in a hotel and so dark. There are these wood shutters that pull across - it was some great sleeping!

The restaurant was a bit disappointing, though. It literally took us two hours to eat. Not what you want when you're on a business trip and need to get to bed. The food was fine, but incredibly slow.

It does cater for business people, so I was shocked that you had to pay for wifi. In this day and age that just seems crazy. One old desktop downstairs for public use does not cut it anymore!

Good location and a decent breakfast, but really needs to consider free wifi.

Room Tip: Apparently some are near a night club. Be sure and be FAR from this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay.

I'm very happy that you were "pleasantly surprised" by your stay here, we like to think of ourselves as a "no ordinary" Holiday Inn as we do have some design quirks not usually found in the brand.

I'm sorry about the wait in the restaurant that does not sound like us at all, in fact we have a real push on this year to increase our speed of delivery in the restaurant.

Everything is prepared and cooked to order from local Irish ingredients but that is not an excuse for a two hour wait and you point has been passed on to our Chef who has discussed it with his team.

I fully take on board your point about the internet charges, more and more people expect these to be free. Our Internet service is a Superfast 26 mb high bandwidth product which allows for downloads and streaming without affecting speed for other users. It is better, faster and more reliable than our other 4/5 star competitors and in nearly all occasions cheaper.

WiFi is free with our Executive Room Package 24 hours per day and we have just put in place a promotion where you buy something in the bar / lounge, you get an hours free WiFi which can be used anywhere in the hotel. We have looked at ways of making this product not only the best but best value for money.

All your [points have been discussed at our weekly communications meeting in full and have been passed on to the team.

Thank you again for your kind comments and you are absolutely right about the sliding shutters, they make a real difference, and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    301
    168
    75
    57
See reviews for
174
228
57
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Holiday Inn on Ormeau Ave is pefect for a weekend away. It's not luxurious, but the rooms are clean, the location is brilliant, and the breakfast is superb for its price.

What made the difference for our stay was how we were looked after by the staff. From the moment we arrived on Friday evening Joe and Geoff looked out for our every need. We had an issue with some rude guests on the Saturday night and this was promptly and firmly dealt with by the night staff. They also had a great laugh with us and made us feel really at home on our first trip to Belfast.

We didn't use the gym but believe from other guests thatthe facilities there are great too. We'd definitely stay again at the price we paid!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the HIB.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team was so helpful, both Joe and Geoff have been made aware of your comments and have asked me to thank you for their name check.

We try and ensure that all team members are willing and able to go the extra mile and it is great when they get recognition.

I agree, our breakfast is getting better and better, not only here but across the group, watch out for make your own pancakes coming soon .

Thank you again for your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the HIB very soon.

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremorris, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Rooms were very nice with more than enough space for the 3 of us, we got a warm welcome and the staff were very helpful. The bartenders Goeff and Joe looked after my friends and me in an outstanding way. A great location in the middle of the town close to everything, mynext stay in Belfast will definately be there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is really appreciated.

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and for passing on your compliments about the staff here which has been passed on to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our 4 day stay at the Holiday Inn in Belfast went just right for us. Extremely good value for a very clean hotel with a central location. Staff were very friendly. The only downside was that we were told breakfast lasted from 7-11, except on monday (our stay was from friday->monday) staff was already clearing tables and buffet at about 10.30. This couldn't spoil an otherwise excellent stay though. Recommended for anyone looking to explore Belfast for whatever reason.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and taking the time to post it.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your four days with us as well as exploring Belfast and I am delighted you found the team welcoming and friendly.

Oops, our recpetionist made a mistake over breakfast times as midweek we close around 10am. I hope that we cooked your breakfast to order for you however.

Thank you again for your kind comments, I hope you will tell all your Belgium friends about Belfast and the HIB and we can welcome them and you to the hotel.

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed overnight on business in Jan 2013 - room was lovely, but the long walk from the lifts was a bit of a shock! However, the room itself was lovely with a pull out sofa bed as well as the main double. Bed was confy, pillows firm and nice. Small amount of noise from other guests, but nothing too invasive. Bathroom had a big bath, though the 'non-slip shower mat thingy provided had black marks which were a little worrying. I didn't end up using it - would rather stand on my feet thanks! Lots of hot water, nice powerful shower. Freeview tele. Breakfast was brilliant!

However - no bottled water in rooms, but available from reception for cash. A £3 'tray' charge for each order from poor room service list.

All in all a nice experience. I would stay again for business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of the HIB, it is greatly appreciated and has been discussed in full at our recent Communications Meeting.

I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found us a great business hotel with the facilities that matched your needs. Black marks on the "shower mat thingy" worried me to and I have had them all checked. I am sorry about that as is our Head Housekeeper.

The team and I look forward to welcoming youback in the near future.

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my husbands 40th birthday, we don't get away very often as we have a young family. I had paid the money in full when I had booked. So as I say it was a surprise, ha ha ha, it certainly was. A couple of females were on reception and half heartedly handed over our key.We went to the room and were greeted by a strong smell of smoke, stuffy room. The bedsheets were ripped, the carpet was heavily stained and that was enough for us, reminded us of a hotel room from Dirty Harry. We contacted reception and were shown to an equally rubbish room. We got our full money back and luckily got a late booking in Galgorm. Happy Birthday! Dirty dirty hotel, stay clear!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your aborted stay at the our hotel in June 2012.

I'm sorry you did not like our hotel we obviously were not a good match for you. Our standards of housekeeping are usually universally high and it is very rare that we get poor comments over cleanliness or care and attention.

We are a strictly non smoking hotel so I was surprised to read your comments about the smell of smoke in the room. We charge a fine of £100 if people smoke in the rooms and this is used to deep clean the room and funishings to bring the room back to the required standard.

I am pleased that my team refunded your payment and allowed you to leave and hope you enjoyed your stay at the Galgorm.

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I needed a town centre hotel and the Holiday Inn was close to where I needed to be. As soon as you enter the class of the place greets you along with a smile from the receptionist. The room is comfortable with plenty space and well equipped. Comfy bed and a good nights sleep ensued.
Room service food good quality and breakfast in the morning was well prepared and tasty. Only quibble was with the toaster which if a number people wanted to use could cause a delay. The staff are friendly and overall it was a very pleasant experience. Didn't try the health club or spa but next time I will.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Belfast

Address: 22 Ormeau Avenue, Belfast BT2 8HS, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Belfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Belfast is a newly refurbished. modern, contemporary 4 star property located in the heart of the city with the Odyssey, Waterfront Hall and shopping areas just a few minutes walk away. It is the only hotel in Belfast with a Swimming Pool, alongside a stand alone club standard gym and beauty and health treatments. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 170 fully air-conditioned bedrooms including accessible Rooms (5 of which have roll-in showers), free super fast high speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 600 people and a Spirit Health and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool (no hoist available). The Hotel has a state of the art Academy Conference and Banqueting Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym and a large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa and Beauty Therapists. Our Hotel Restaurant, Lounge and Bar offer tempting dishes including local specialities and the famous Award Winning Holiday Inn Breakfast. We recommend the use of the secure National Car Park, off the Dublin Road and less than 1 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Belfast Hotel Belfast
Belfast Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.