We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Belfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Belfast to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Belfast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Ormeau Avenue, Belfast BT2 8HS, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Just the job!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hotel is positioned in the south of the city centre, very close to a cinema, bars, restaurants and a short walk to the shops. Our room on the 4th floor was more than adequate and the breakfast was to Holiday Inn's usual high standard.
The computer terminal in the foyer (free) came in very useful as I'd left my laptop power lead in the car. Parking isn't free, but the hotel has a deal with the multi-storey NCP next door @ £7 for 24hrs.
Definately use the place again, the staff were 5* when it came to local knowledge etc.
No complains whatsoever.

Room Tip: If you smoke, ask for a low level room for easy access to outside!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    339
    193
    82
    64
See reviews for
192
257
60
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

Choose to stay in the hotel over the 14th February with the nights stay and 5 course meal deal! The meal was perfect, food was lovely although steaks were bit overcooked, but the dessert made up for it!

Although we had payed extra for an executive room and to be honest we were disappointed! Room was cramped not very big at all and the cupboard doors couldn't open fully due to bedside tables etc in the way! I wouldn't of liked to have seen the size of the standard rooms!!

Couldn't fault the bar and restaurant staff very polite and friendly. When checking out we did have a restaurant bill and few other items that shouldn't of been on it so make sure you check before you pay!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

No good for business, poor service, run down gym

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Belfast Feb 2012 on business.

Overall, noisy rooms, poor service, run-down gym, impractical rooms and poor breakfast

The room I was given on check-in was very noisy with street noise and noise from ventilation shafts running past the window. I brought this to the attention of the receptionist and she moved me to a room that was equally as noisy right opposite the lift! There’s a tiled floor outside the elevator and you could hear every footstep and trolley drag over it and the “ding dong” of the lift all night. Being moved to this room after complaining about a noisy room is poor and inconsiderate service. I raised this on check-out and got the standard “all I can do is apologise” – is it?

Internet access was a whopping £3.50 per hour. I begrudgingly paid this but the Wifi was so slow my VPN connection kept disconnecting.

The room was okay and nicely decorated but very impractical. The wardrobe was to shallow to hang suit trousers (I’m only a 32” leg!). The only available electric socket was behind the desk at the back the TV, very difficult to reach for laptop power and almost impossible to use an iron.

The gym isn’t really a gym, more of a work-out room. When I visited at least three pieces of equipment were out of service. This must happen on a regular basis because I noticed a supply of pre-printed laminated “out of service” signs on the side. Just one set of free weights and that was a problem at busy times. Generally, old and run down and not a good place to work-out. Pool area was okay but full of kids screaming and splashing about when I visited.

The breakfast was poor, dried out bacon and black pudding that fell apart as you tried to dish it out. No fried eggs available on the buffet, tomato sauce sachets run out and cold tea.

Overall a poor experience and will be recommending that the Holiday Inn Belfast is removed form corporate hotel list.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room,don't bother with breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

Vast improvement with the refurbed rooms
Had moved to the Radisson up the road but move back due to change
Only problem is parking as street only available outside hotel and you need to pay from 8 am
So early start

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The Holiday Inn Belfast is a clean and modern hotel situated within easy reach of nightlife in Belfast. We were given a good rate here and this was the main reason for choosing this hotel but it turned out to be a good base for our stay in Belfast. Credit must be given to the staff as there were a couple of larger parties in the place when we stayed and the staff coped well even though I was getting stressed by some of the guests moany faces and rude atitudes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed here with my wife for three nights over the weekend.The room was ideal with everything you need, tea coffee etc. There was a iron in the room and a small fridge which came in really handy. My iron was broken but on reporting this to reception i had an apology and a replacement sent up immediately. Wooden shutters on the windows are a really good idea as they keep the noise out. Any staff we encountered were very pleasant. The only thing i was unhappy about was i had a flat pint of Bass in the bar.I didn't complain but i am sure if i had it would have been replaced by the efficient staff. The hotel is perfect for the nightlife on that side of town being just minutes from numerous Restaurants and Bars. Thank you Holiday Inn for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

It may have a city centre location and spa facilities but didn't make up for the 'ikea' style furniture in the room, the industrial view, the tiled floor outside the elevator which you could hear every footstep and trolley drag over it. this together with the noise that sounded like a distant fog horn, next doors toilet flush and a noise that sounded like a pair of jeans being rolled around in a tumble dryer with the button knocking left it difficult to sleep. It wasn't the 'romantic' get away we intended even though it was convenient to the city centre etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHolidayInnBelfast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Belfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am genuinely very sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations.

It is a real shame that you did not contact one of our receptionists about the issues with your room as I am sure we could and would have done something to make your stay more comfortable.

I absolutely believe that you are entitled to your opinion on the decor but I must disagree with your Ikea comment. Our bedrooms have recently gone through a full refurbishment and the reception our customers have given them has been overwhelmingly positive.

Thank you again for your comments which have been shared with the team here as we take all guest comments very seriously as we drive towards our goal of being the first choice hotel in Belfast.

My team and I certainly hope that on a future visit we may be able to change your opinion of our hotel and in this respect please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind regards

Iain

Iain McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Belfast

Address: 22 Ormeau Avenue, Belfast BT2 8HS, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#23 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Belfast 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Belfast is a modern, contemporary property located in the heart of the city with the Odyssey, Waterfront Hall and shopping areas just a few minutes walk away. It is the only hotel in Belfast with a Swimming Pool within the hotel's Spirit Health Club and Spa. The newly opened OrmEau Spa offers great treatments from a hair styling to a massage. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 170 fully air-conditioned bedrooms including accessible Rooms (5 of which have roll-in showers), free super fast high speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 600 people. The Hotel has a state of the art Academy Conference and Training Centre boasting 9 purpose built flexible meeting rooms. Our Hotel Restaurant, Lounge and Bar offer tempting dishes including local specialities and the famous Award Winning Holiday Inn Breakfast. Sit back and relax in our newly opened Starbucks in the hotel lobby. We recommend the use of the secure National Car Park, off the Dublin Road and less than 1 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Belfast Hotel Belfast
Belfast Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.