We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican this side of the Atlantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalco's Mexican Grill

Chalco's Mexican Grill
112 Lisburn Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland
+44 289.068.7338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 730 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican this side of the Atlantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I love Mexican food and living in the States good Mexican is everywhere. Unfortunately in the UK and Ireland and particularly Belfast there is nothing that captures it at all. This definitely comes close!
Will return over and over!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    32
    8
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
donegal,Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“crap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

i was not impressed.staff were slightly aggro.not friendly.distinctly cold.i wanted to leave but ordered thinking it might be tasty.but Alas..burrito was bland.chicken a la rubber.bread was wallpaper pastelike.the girl serving asked if we wanted to sit in.and served up on plastic tray.no offer of fork
i am more annoyed with the staff than bland food.they have a trip advisor logo on door.Bad joke possibly.im telling all to AVOID forthwith.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The best mexican grill in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I always go to Chalco's if am on the Lisburn Road, a family friendly place with good food, good people and good value! My favourite is the chicken deluxe burrito. If you're ever lost on the Lisburn Road, try Chalco's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not a fancy place but the food is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I had fish tacos that came with a delicious mango salsa. They were delicious. My meal also came with complimentary chips and salsa that were freshly prepared. I ate them all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ulsters best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

chalcos is without a doubt the best mexican restaurant in northern ireland i really didnt think i liked mexican food until i tried this place burritos n tacos to die for and good value . I just wish it would open on sundays

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalco's Mexican Grill also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Chalco's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalco's Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.