We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done exhibition!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Titanic Belfast

Titanic Belfast
1 Olympic Way | Queen's Road, Titanic Quarter, Belfast BT3 9EP, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9076 6386
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$27*
and up
Titanic Belfast Entrance Ticket: Titanic Visitor...
Ranked #9 of 122 Attractions in Belfast
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Titanic Belfast visitor attraction extends over nine galleries, with multiple dimensions to the exhibition. Drawing together special effects, dark rides, full-scale reconstructions and innovative interactive features you will explore the Titanic story in a fresh and insightful way from her conception in Belfast in the early 1900s, through her construction and launch, to her infamous maiden voyage and catastrophic demise. The journey goes beyond the aftermath of the sinking, to the discovery of the wreck and continues into the present day in the Ocean Exploration Centre.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well done exhibition!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We expected that the exhibition only was about the horrible trip of the Titanic. But they managed to show the history of Belfast with the story about the Titanic. Really well done! And despite everyones warning, it wasn't crowded at all.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,779
    1,296
    537
    199
    129
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Ocean Exploration Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is probably N. Ireland's busiest attraction so it's best to book in advance, particularly on a Saturday. An adult ticket will set you back £13.50 and the optional audio tour is an additional £3. I wouldn't recommend the audio tour as it really just repeats what is already being said throughout the exhibition. Tickets that include the pump house have an additional charge.

The exhibition was a lot larger than I expected, taking me around 3 hours to 'quickly' see all of it. Depending on your area of interest, you will want to leave extra time for certain sections (you could easily spend a full day here). I found the ocean exploration section of the exhibition the most interesting, with detailed information about the work carried out by Dr. Robert Ballard. The section on Titanic's sinking is also quite moving if you take the time to stop and listen to the accounts of the survivors.

The exhibition makes good use of various types of multimedia but I don't feel it would be the best place for young kids as there are very few interactive activities, with most information presented in galleries. I would advise parking in the Odyssey's car park. It's a longer walk but will allow time to properly appreciate the area. It would also be advisable to buy your coffee, lunch or dinner in the Odyssey, as the cafe in the exhibition centre is expensive and extremely busy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A complete waste of time and money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

After reading all the hype about this! what a complete and utter disappointment. I don't know where to start. After arriving in the Titanic Quarter the view from the outside is definitaly impressive but unfortunately thats where it starts and ends. Parked the car and entered the building feeling very excited to be there. There was only one person issuing tickets, queued for 10 minutes to pick up tickets.
The so called experience simply consists of several slide shows, photos and lots of basic info that you could get in any book. This was something The 4 of us who visited, including my 10 year old, are very happy to forget. A complete waste of time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“St Valentine's Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I attended the St Valentine's Night in the Titanic Room and I have to say that it was a wonderful event! The ambience, the food, the staff and of course the setting of the beautiful staircase were all exquisite, although not in the least bit stuffy! I was amazed at the standard of food and service for the price! £55 for 2 for a 4 course meal, tea/coffee AND a bottle of wine! All in all it was the perfect Valentines treat and I would highly recommend it for future years although my husband asked me not to in case we don't get booked in next year if it becomes too popular lol!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not very impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went in December 2012 with family visiting from Germany. The building looks impressive and car park were great. The exhibit was disappointing. Don't know what else to say except "They spent 80 million on that!?"

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie W, Visitor Experience Manager at Titanic Belfast, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hello and thanks for your feedback! I am really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us! We really appreciate the opinions of our visitors and we use their feedback to plan gallery refreshments and improvements! Thanks again for taking the time to review your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Titanic Belfast also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Titanic Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Titanic Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.