We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belfast's world-class tourist attraction.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Titanic Belfast

Titanic Belfast
1 Olympic Way | Queen's Road, Titanic Quarter, Belfast BT3 9EP, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9076 6386
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$26*
and up
Titanic Belfast Entrance Ticket: Titanic Visitor...
Ranked #9 of 122 Attractions in Belfast
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Titanic Belfast visitor attraction extends over nine galleries, with multiple dimensions to the exhibition. Drawing together special effects, dark rides, full-scale reconstructions and innovative interactive features you will explore the Titanic story in a fresh and insightful way from her conception in Belfast in the early 1900s, through her construction and launch, to her infamous maiden voyage and catastrophic demise. The journey goes beyond the aftermath of the sinking, to the discovery of the wreck and continues into the present day in the Ocean Exploration Centre.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Belfast's world-class tourist attraction.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was sceptical about the whole 'Titanic Belfast' thing. As a Northern Ireland resident (and tax payer), it seemed like this project would just be another big, expensive and pointless white elephant. I was also unconvinced that visitors to Belfast would actually come because of the Titanic link - tourists I speak to tend to be more interested in the conflict aspect of our history. Another issue is that the 'Titanic Quarter' project (aimed at creating a new district of Belfast with shops, high-end apartments and restaurants) has pretty much staggered to a halt. There are some (empty) high-end apartments, but not much else.

So it was with a healthy dose of said scepticism that I went down to Titanic Belfast to see what all the fuss is about. Needless to say, I was pleasantly surprised. For tourists in Northern Ireland, one thing that should become immediately apparent is that the tourist industry is very much in its infancy. Until now, Belfast itself has lacked a truly world-class visitor attraction. Titanic Belfast has changed all that. The first thing that a visitor will notice is the striking architecture of the building; it really is different and fits perfectly into the industrial landscape of the city's docks.

I ventured inside and bought my ticket - £13 is steep, but as it turned out, worth it. I visited early in the morning which allowed me to avoid the majority of the crowds. This really is a top-class museum, plenty of money has been spent and it shows. The story of the Titanic is told in great detail using the latest technology. The recreations of the cabins were a particular highlight, as was the 180-degree projection that allowed you to take a virtual tour of the ship.

I felt that the shipyard ride was something of a let down. The designers have quite obviously put a lot of thought into the ride system (which is certainly impressive) but the content of the ride itself is nothing special at all. You fly past a few video screens and listen to a commentary that just repeats things you have already read in the exhibits. This ride really could have been a highlight of the museum. A real missed opportunity. The section devoted to the Titanic wreckage was an unexpected and interesting experience; the multi-media exhibits were very informative and the large cinema screen was fascinating.

The staff seemed friendly and fairly knowledgable. The whole museum was spotlessly clean and well maintained, everything was working and walking around it was an easy and pleasant experience. I finished the tour with a visit to the gift shop, which stocks the usual array of over-priced tat and rubbish (Titanic marmalade anyone?) I didn't buy anything, but tourists seemed impressed with the selection.

All in all, Titanic Belfast was an experience I have no trouble in recommending. Hopefully more local residents will fork out the cash to experience the city's flagship attraction. I also hope that the success of the museum will spur on the Titanic Quarter project, which is starting to look a little depressing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,783
    1,297
    537
    200
    129
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A must see and do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Got to visit the museum at last. And was blown away. So much to see and do. Staff friendly and you can ask as many titanic questions as you like, the staff are well informed. Shall return for a second visit in november , because you have too. Impressed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One star is even too much”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

So disappointing. Not what I was expecting at all. Learned very little new in the ninty minutes stroll around. I was expecting a lot of artifacts from Titanic, the highlight of it was the costumes worn in the movie. Avoid!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie W, Visitor Experience Manager at Titanic Belfast, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello and thanks for reviewing your recent visit to Titanic Belfast. We really appreciate your feedback about the contents of our galleries and are continually making improvements to our exhibition in response to visitor feedback. We're really pleased that you enjoyed the costume exhibition, which is on loan from James Cameron's personal collection until March 2013.

Titanic Belfast is a celebration of the people of Titanic. We do not agree with salvaging from wreck sites for ethical reasons - this view is shared with our partner Dr. Ballard who discovered Titanic's wreck in 1985. For this reason artifacts salvaged from Titanic or her debris field will never form part of our exhibition.

Just this week we have added a letter written by Dr. John Simpson, Titanic's Ships Surgeon while he was on-board Titanic. The letter which is addressed to his mother left Titanic in Queenstown (Cobh), Titanic's last stop before heading across the Atlantic. In the letter he describes his cabin and some of his experiences on the first leg of the journey.

We have also recently added the 33ft plan of Titanic that was used by testifying survivors during the British Board of Trade Inquiry which took place in the weeks following the disaster. Speculators believe that this is an original Harland Wolff draft used during Titanic's construction and has been described by international media as the "Holy Grail" of Titanic artifacts.

We hope that you return soon to enjoy these new and exciting additions to the exhibition, in the meantime if there is anything else i can help you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What a surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

As visitors to the Belfast area from England we had no idea what to expect. We were initially shocked at the cost (just under £14 each for full paying adults). However we werte very pleasantly surprised, firstly with the building itself. The staff, ticketting staff, catering staff and "crew" were helpful and knowledgable. The fact that the exhibition does not concentrate solely on the sinking of the Titanic but looks also at Belfast at the time of the construction as well as the construction itself. The exhibition is well set out and provides a variety of experiences for all ages. We arrived at about 11.00 am and by 1pm were feeling in need of some food but were up on the 4th floor. A very helpful member of the crew took us down to the ground floor where the restaurants and also showed us who to contact for assistance to return to the 4th floor to resume our tour. Do we have a criticism? Yes! We should have arrived earlier as at 4.30pm we had barely finished the tour and did not have enough time to explore outside around the area! A great day that exceeded our expectations. Congratulations to all involved!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Well done Titanic Belfast you could of not done it any better and has to be the best museum, exhibition I have been too. The attraction is well explained through out with it different sections from Bloom town Belfast to Titanic beneath. There are 9 sections in total and in the second section there is a little surprise as there is a suspended ride where people sit in a cart and then the ride comes along the track and the story of how the Titanic is explained through the different TV screens. That was something I did not expect. On the ground floor at the main entrance there are two eateries and a great gift shop, selling all the Titanic merchandise from t-shirts, books and all sorts of little things. The gift shop is a bit on the expensive side but to be expected. All in all the place is well worth a visit and don't forget at the end of your'e trip to visit the forecourt between the Titanic Belfast Building and the Harbor where on the ground the actual markings of the Titanic are made out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Titanic Belfast also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Titanic Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Titanic Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.