We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Rectory
Save
You added Old Rectory to your Saves list
148 Malone Rd., Belfast BT9 5LH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't have been better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

A friend and I had 2 rooms for 4 nights as a base for a short sightseeing break. What a comfortable and welcoming house this is and we had a great time. The rooms are stylish, clean and comfortable and attention to detail is good. The fresh milk for tea and coffee trays and good quality toiletries were appreciated (as was the use of an iron and ironing board). The star of the show though was the amazing breakfast experience! Just perfect.

For sightseeing purposes it is easy to get around. The bus stops just over the road going into the city and right outside coming back. We bought a daily ticket which was extremely good value for money. Buses are plentiful and take you right into the city within minutes.

Many thanks to Mary and her family for a wonderful stay. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor at the front. The road is busy but the noise didn't bother me once the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    26
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
76
40
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic stay at the Old Rectory Belfast. Mary and her family are friendly, helpful and pleasant people. The house is very clean, spacious and caters for all your needs. The breakfast is outstanding, lots of choice and sets you up for the day. This B&B is on a main bus route into Belfast and all of the attractions. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights with family in 2 rooms (2 adults and 3 kids). We had a car and parking in front of house - a bit crowded when there were 4 cars. But very near the Malone / Lisburn Road and Stranmillis area by car with all the good restaurants. Ran by a very friendly couple. Breakfast was excellent with homemade breads, granola and jams. Must try everything in the menu including the Ulster Fry, Salmon Omelette, Salmon scrambled eggs, shredded duck and more. Rooms very homely with ensuite bathroom and lockable safe. A common mini-fridge was outside and free wifi in all areas (very important for kids). Slept soundly on the comfortable beds.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Good size room, plenty of chairs and storage space. Excellent breakfast with range of options. Helpful owners and friendly atmosphere.Good bus service to city centre, slightly reduced on Sundays. Several good restaurants about half a mile away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed at the Old Rectory for 3 weeks while I was doing a work experience placement at Queen's University. It was very convenient for me to walk (30 minutes) or take the bus (10 minutes) to the campus. The food here is really excellent. I think I tried most everything on the breakfast menu and had several dinners in my room as well and it was all really good quality. My room did not have an ensuite but I had a private bathroom just down the hall which was fine by me. If I were to visit Belfast again I would definitely stay here. I would also recommend the Old Rectory to anyone I knew who was visiting Belfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

From the moment I arrived until the time I left was provided with excellent hospitality. Stayed one night as I had my Visa appointment in the morning which I was very kindly driven to by the hosts! Great breakfast and went out of their way to help me plan a day in Belfast, sort out transport etc as it was my first time. Good location and an overall pleasant stay. Would certainly recommend to others.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Very enjoyable stay in this period Guest house with lovely decor and helpful hosts.

Breakfast stood up to its reputation with smoked salmon/scrambled eggs and Irish Mist creamy porridge on offer.

Very convenient for buses into city centre, however being on busy road, traffic noticeable during night if window open

Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory

Address: 148 Malone Rd., Belfast BT9 5LH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.