We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wellington Park Hotel to your Saves list
Wellington Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

This was our first trip away with our 6 month old baby so we didn't know what to expect. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating.We told the person when making the booking by phone, that we had a baby and she said "no problem we will put a cot in the room for you ".Although this was not in the room upon check in ,5 minutes later it arrived.
The staff in this hotel go out of their way to make you feel welcome and it is very sincere .The food in the restaurant was good although menu was quite limited .Exceptional chocolate puddings .
Our car broke down after checking out and when we informed the manager he promptly rounded up a posse to push the car and get us started ,and it was no problem whatsoever,infact they actually seemed to enjoy it !!!
We travel to belfast quite a few times a year and this is the hotel we will be staying in from now on .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    129
    81
    50
    40
See reviews for
60
89
26
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We came here for a family wedding and stayed on a few days to look around Belfast. The excellent Ulster Museum is about a minute away, as are the rather disappointing Botanical Gradens. The Ciry Centre is about 3 minutes by taxi, 20 minutes walk by road or more pleasantly, 40 minutes along the River Lagan (on the other side of the Botanical Gardens)

There are good restaurants and pubs - from "lively" to "relaxing" - in the area. The food in the hotel itself, for the wedding, the restaurant and the Bar were superb, especially the wedding meal which, from past experiences elsewhere, can be dire!

On Saturday nights, the hotel is a popular wedding/hen/stag venue and it's a good idea to keep away from the bar area if you're not involved in any of them! For the same reason, noise can be a problem on the lower floors.

Two of the rooms provided for our party were unsatisfactory (damp smell in one and too noisy in the other) but the two couples involved were given replacement rooms with no hassle.

The rooms in general, I would say, were just above "no frills" standard but what will make us come back to this hotel was the courtesy, helpfulness and friendliness of ALL the staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

this hotel was good, very busy with hen do's and weddings, rooms and coridors were very hot, no air conditioning, room 321 noisy due to generators so could not have the small window open , we asked to be moved which they did with no fuss, very friendly, helpful staff . hotel is a bit out of main town its a long walk , we took a taxi

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Belfast, N.Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

My partner and I decided to book this hotel for Valentine's night as we thought that £55 per person for an evening meal/romantic overnight stay was great value.
I can't think of anything bad to say about our stay there. The location was great for what we wanted to do (The Ulster museum was literally next door)....basically it was the perfect venue for a getaway even if just for one night. The hotel wasn't at all noisy, the service was top class, especially when it came to our evening meal in the restaurant , I felt we were treated like royalty, the staff were also polite and the breakfast offered was generous.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Just back from a night's stay at the Wellington Park hotel. Have to say was very impressed with the service in the hotel, it was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. I asked for a babysitting service and they rang me back and arranged a babysitter for us. She was on time and excellent. Also when we arrived there were feather pillows and duvets in the room which I am allergic too, within litterally two minutes of me contacting reception housekeeping were at the door to change them for me. The room was lovely and I think quite recently done up, it was large with a flatscreen TV. The breakfast in the hotel was also lovely. All in all i would recommend the hotel for a short break. There is a nightclub in the hotel but it didnt bother us as our room was far enough away from it to not know it was there. It is a good location close to belfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Hotel is in a good location, and was in reasonable condition, rooms are modest but functional, but the room was on the cold side even with the rad turned up to max it still could not make up for the drafty window in the room, which also let in a lot of noise from the function room below. TV reception was poor on most channels with a very limited choice of channels. Bar area was nice for a quick bite to eat or an informal meeting. with the staff being quite attentive and service was quick.Daily newspapers were available free of charge which is a nice touch for teh business traveller. Food quality was average for bar type food. I did not try the restaurant while I stayed, except for breakfast. which was quite good with good quick service, Some more fruit and healthy options wouid make it better in my opinion. Reasonable value for money for its location, but charging for Wi-Fi is a big let down for business travellers, it was not worth it and was really slow.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

I booked this hotel using Priceline's name your own price. I don't remember exactly how much I spent, but it was probably not more than 100 bucks or so. I usually travel solo on these types of trips (fun/culture). I know this isn't a whopping price, but I'm on tight budget. I was looking for something better than a hostel, but not super fancy.

The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the food in the restaurant was good (great dessert). The only thing that wasn't a 5 out of 5 was the location (not close to the sights or city center).

The reason for the 4 out of 5 for the room was the odd toilletries provided - liquid shampoo and a shoe shine sponge, but no bar soap? Strange, but I didn't bother to ask reception to bring some. I'm sure they would have.

Worth the money if you bid for your own price on priceline of hotwire.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Park Hotel

Address: 21 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established, four star independently owned and managed Hotel in a great location, close to Queens University, The Ulster Museum, Botanic Gardens and only minutes from the many tourist attractions now available in Belfast. With 75 large comfortable bedrooms, a spacious welcoming foyer and conference facilities for up to 300, a lively Bar and Restaurant, it's no wonder this hotel is popular with locals and visitors alive. Private coach and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Wellington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belfast
Belfast Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.