We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not be better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wellington Park Hotel to your Saves list
Wellington Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“could not be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

this Hotel was in a great location the food was cooked to perfection with a good choice of menu very clean rooms we stayed for three nights with a just go holiday tour to Belfast and Titanic experience and the giants causeway they chose very well for the Hotel all the staff were excellent and helpful, nice soft beds large rooms and a nice open bar area would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    139
    89
    57
    43
See reviews for
62
104
26
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I recently arranged a formal for all of the biological sciences students at Queen's university and the night was a huge success. The wellington offers an exorbitant package at a very affordable price. The staff were also a huge help in the process of arranging the formal as well as on the night. I would highly recommend anyone looking to arrange a formal for any reason to consider the wellington, it was an incredible night and I can't thank the staff enough for their assistance in making it so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

stayed one night May bank holiday week-end for family get together. Must thank Malachy (manager) for looking after us. Very pleasant staff, quick booking in process, happy with room (suite ). Bed very comfortable and facilities in the room good.
Hotel bar area very spacious and again staff very efficient. Had bar food which was of good standard.
Location within walking distance of city centre. Would stay here again but would agree with other reviews that hotel needs refreshing .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I booked this hotel through Trivago, after checking it online. The pictures on the website of the bedrooms were very impressive. I booked a double room and was greeted and dealt with promptly by the reception staff.
The corridor leading to the room was narrow and dull, the decor tired. On entering the bedroom, I was immediately disappointed, the carpet had debris on it and the desk had crumbs on it.
The bedroom furniture was sparse however the bedding was clean upon inspection. I decided to have a shower freshen up, but to my disappointment the shower produced nothing more than a trickle that ran down the shower hose and it was cold. I was forced to kneel in the bath and was myself from the bath taps. In addition the bath handle was hanging off.
I contacted reception who sent a manager and eventually a handy man to fix the shower. To be fair, they responded quickly.
There appeared to be some building work going on in the hotel, as during the afternoon, there was continuous banging from another floor with a hammer or something.
This hammering started again the following morning shortly after 09:00. I had only just finished a week of night shifts and was looking forward to much needed lie in. I gave up that idea and left the hotel.
I travel a lot with my job, staying in many hotels throughout the UK and don't think I have ever been so disappointed with the standard of a hotel. The bedrooms are not reflective of the website pictures. I emailed the hotel immediately to tell them of my experience but to this day I have had no response.
That's a shame because the only thing that was good about the hotel was the staff, they weren't outstanding but were courteous and polite.
The Wellington Park Hotel..... I would have preferred a night at Norman Bates motel :0(

Room Tip: If you want a decent hotel don't book this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Definitely not 4star standard. My boyfriend had book a suite as this was our engagement. 1st room we were offered, is not what I would class as a suite. It had a double bed! My boyfriend went to reception who changed our room which was more acceptable with a queen size bed, not the most confortable but acceptable. The room was extremely warm and the window only opened a small crack to deter smokers but you could see from the burn marks around the pvc, it didnt. We didnt have dinner here as we had already a table booked elsewhere. We did have breakfast, buffet style, usual fruits cereals and hot food, nothing special as the potato & soda bread were left in hot plates to go soggy, bacon over cooked and had dried out in the hot plates.
This definitely wasnt to 4 star standard, ive stayed in better 2 star places but thats my opinion!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Two night stay here. Located in a nice part of the city close to the botanic gardens, so great for an evening stroll. Choice of several and varied places to eat nearby too. The accommodation was comfortable albeit a bit on the tired side decoration wise. What impressed me most was the friendliness of the place and the willingness of the staff to be of service in a natural, pleasant way. Not a fixed-grinned corporate mission statement in sight. I happened to have booked on the same night that a party of 60 hyper-active school children were staying over, and the night staff were more than accommodating in seeing that I was not disturbed. Thank you!

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you fancy something different - split level with a bedroom on top with its own bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

for the price the hotel rooms just are not good enough and they are so warm. On the plus side the bar area is nice and relaxing, Don,t think we will be back any time soon unless it gets a serious face lift.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Park Hotel

Address: 21 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established, independently owned and managed Hotel in a great location, close to Queens University, The Ulster Museum, Botanic Gardens and only minutes from the many tourist attractions now available in Belfast. With 75 large comfortable bedrooms, a spacious welcoming foyer and conference facilities for up to 300, a lively Bar and Restaurant, it's no wonder this hotel is popular with locals and visitors alike. Private coach and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Wellington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belfast
Belfast Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.