We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wellington Park Hotel to your Saves list
Wellington Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was disappointed by the 4th floor room, the fact that the room wasn't serviced on one of our days is poor. Despite breakfast stated as up to 10.00am, there was virtually nothing left at 9.55am.

Only fair - can do better

Room Tip: Don't accept 4th floor! Rooms lower down are reported as better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    139
    89
    57
    43
See reviews for
62
104
26
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

For a stay in Belfast, I highly recommend the Wellington Park Hotel. The locale is perfect -- a lively university neighborhood with good pubs and restaurants and close enough to city center in quieter and interesting part of the city. The staff is remarkably professional, knowledgeable, hospitable; the rooms very comfortable; and the breakfast lovely. The large first floor seating and breakfast areas offer pleasant spaces to eat, drink, talk, or read. The hotel and especially its staff contributed to an excellent visit to Belfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here Valentines Weekend (but was on a business trip!) The restaurant was beautifully decorated. The staff were friendly, professional and truly lovely. The bedroom was spacious and with free wifi, dvd player and other amenities there was plenty to keep me occupied. I found the food to be top class, the large lounge to the side of the foyer was relaxing and the service second to none.
This is one of the only hotels in Belfast with their own parking and the location is nice. It is located in a quiet part of the city centre very close to the Botanical Gardens, Ulster Museum and Queens University. I walked to the MAC on sunday morning where there is currently an Andy Warhol exhibition and this pleasant stroll took about 20 mins.
I would highly recommend this hotel and its restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent, spacious room, comfortable bed, staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast a little disappointing: cooked stuff seemed rather tired and it had been a long time since the scrambled egg (powdered?) had been inside a chicken. But I shall use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Wellington Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed it. However , please be assured that the Hotel does not use powdered egg for scrambled egg..they are made with cream and butter... we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently had my 40th birthday celebrations at the wellington park hotel. The venue was only surpassed by the friendly and accommodating staff who seemed to anticipate the needs of the evening beyond my expectations. It was a watertight performace of professionalism and i would have no hesitation in recommending this venue for any celebration or a weekeknd away

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I just checked out of wellington park hotel belfast today. Nice bedrooms but not luxury, all you need in a room would recommend for couples only nothing for children. The bar staff were fab very Friendly and quick service could not be nicer. Entertainment at night very good. The door men are very sleezy and disrespectful to women I will not be back because of their attitude to me. Breakfast was excellent choice of everything and staff were excellent at breakfast.. me and my husband had a lovly stay apart from door men I wore a black dress with knee boots and got insulted by them. Think they thought I was a ho when I'm married 3children and been with my partner 11years.. I went here for a relaxing break ended up upset at end of night!!

Room Tip: I would Say pay that extra and get dulexe room. Really lovly hotel staff could not be nicer apart fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

great hotel
*close to city centre
*nice modern rooms
*good hearty irish breakfast
*very pleasant staff incl reception and restaurant

Ignore all the poor reviews, it deserves 4 star rating.
Paying a reasonable price in peak times, makes this an ideal spot

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Park Hotel

Address: 21 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established, independently owned and managed Hotel in a great location, close to Queens University, The Ulster Museum, Botanic Gardens and only minutes from the many tourist attractions now available in Belfast. With 75 large comfortable bedrooms, a spacious welcoming foyer and conference facilities for up to 300, a lively Bar and Restaurant, it's no wonder this hotel is popular with locals and visitors alike. Private coach and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Wellington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belfast
Belfast Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.