We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelieveable service, best in Belfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wellington Park Hotel to your Saves list
Wellington Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unbelieveable service, best in Belfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Had a 25th wedding anniversary here, and I could not have asked any more from the staff on such an important day! They took all of our banners and cakes and decorated the place beautifully. They catered for the 20 children with such professionalism, and the 60 adults with a few drinks and too many bad jokes even better! The carvery meal was excellent too. The do finished at 5:30pm but they even let us all stay for a lot longer, and still laughed at our horrific jokes!! Made our special day all the better, couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    129
    81
    50
    40
See reviews for
60
89
26
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I would like to congratulate the Wellington Park Hotel on an excellent overall level of service. We booked 18 rooms over 2 nights and also held a Gala Ball (175 people), some meetings and a small evening function. The standard of food was really good and the hotel was clean and well presented. However it was the level of staff service which most impressed me. The hotel staff could not do enough to help. Malchy Toner (General Manager) was very helpful and attentive throughout the entire weekend. He was very ably supported by Stephen Gallagher who helped the Northern Ireland Judo Federation and the British Judo Federation put on a fantastic Gala Ball on the Saturday evening. All of the arrangements (including several changes and last minute additions) were accommodated without any fuss. My thanks go to Clare Smith and Billy (from corporate bookings) for all of their help and assistance. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. Ricky Sloane – Chairman NIJF.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Wellington Park for a night's break in the city and were very pleased. The staff (reception in paticular) were very helpful, the food was excellent, and the room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Wellington park for 2 nights as we were attending a function on the Saturday night. The room was very clean but small and had poor natural light. It overlooked the back car park and as a result was very quiet. The room was well insulated from corridor noise which was a big plus as I am a light sleeper. The breakfast was buffet style but all items were nicely presented and cooked. Eggs were cooked to order and tea/coffee was replenished as needed. The staff were polite and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Other reviews seem to indicate that some of the bedrooms at the Wellington have been refurbished - we were clearly in one of the ones still waiting to be done. The hallways were tired, the bedroom had fairly cheap old fashioned pine furniture and we had one tiny window overlooking a rooftop and a brick wall. The complimentary toiletries were on the basic side - more motel than luxury hotel - and the hotel lacked facilities such as a gym which one would usually expect in a big city 4 star hotel. On our first day we had ordered a sandwich lunch for a meeting. Nowadays I would expect this to consist of a variety of breads - maybe some baguette, some wraps and some ciabatta etc. What we got was a plate full of very ordinary sandwiches with supermarket cheap sliced bread. But on the positive side the hotel is well located, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, there was free wifi and the staff were friendly. If the hotel was advertised as a 3 star I would be happy but I expect more for 4 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent a weekend in Belfast with Fri night in a 3 star hotel and sat night in Wellington Park '4 star'. As such we expected the Wellington Park to be better value/quality than our previous night stay. How wrong we were!!!
I have stayed in better rooms in budget hotels with better facilities. The room decor was terrible, the cleanliness was poor, the hair dryer was faulty, the trouser press was faulty and pretty much everything was less than standard. We asked if we could get extra coffee and some wine glasses to our room - staff were very friendly and helpful.....however, we had to wash the glasses we received and we got a generous helping of '2' coffee sachets!
Dont have a bad word to say about the staff but the accomodation and facilites should not be rated as 4 start!! Personally i wouldnt rate as 3 star!

Room Tip: Good room - pay more money than you should OR stay at another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Being from Belfast, I wanted my wedding reception to be in the city centre so my husband and I chose the Wellington Park Hotel.

Living now in London, we only had 2 days to fly home, visit 7 hotels, chose one, and fly back! Having seen 4 so-called "Finest" hotels, we went for our appointment at the Wellington Park and straight away we were made to feel so comfortable and welcome. Gerry (I think!) showed us around and nothing was too much trouble. He wasn't "in your face" about booking and gave us time on our own. We decided to book straight away and the service over the next year of planning was brilliant. They were always at the end of the phone or email!

Being a bit of a self-confessed bridezilla, I knew EXACTLY how I wanted my tables set out etc...and my goodness - the hotel seemed to read my mind! They made the room up to be more perfect than I could have imagined. We had lots of guests over from london who were also incredibly impressed by the service and told us so. Stephen was our contact on the day and his service and care to attention was flawless. The staff were really discreet also when serving and half the time you wouldn't have even know that they were there!
I flew back to Belfast at the weekend there for a late first anniversary night and stayed in the hotel again - I'm glad to say it is still the brilliant hotel I remember.
Thank you to the staff of the Wellington Park Hotel for making our wedding day that little bit extra special. You guys really KNOW how to do a wedding!

Jennifer (nee Beatty) and Edward McGuigan

Room Tip: The side rooms are lovely and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Park Hotel

Address: 21 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established, four star independently owned and managed Hotel in a great location, close to Queens University, The Ulster Museum, Botanic Gardens and only minutes from the many tourist attractions now available in Belfast. With 75 large comfortable bedrooms, a spacious welcoming foyer and conference facilities for up to 300, a lively Bar and Restaurant, it's no wonder this hotel is popular with locals and visitors alive. Private coach and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wellington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belfast
Belfast Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.