We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Malachy's Church

St. Malachy's Church
24 Alfred Street, Belfast BT2 8EN, Northern Ireland
44-28-9032-1713
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 264 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We took several photo's of this very pretty church whgen passing but didnt have time tyo go inside. Defiunately on iour to do list next time we visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    34
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

a must see when you go to Belfast, the architecture, paintings and overall presentation is very very impressive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Catholic Church near Downtown Belfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful Catholic Church near Downtown Belfast. four blocks from the city center. A nice treat. Very ornate with very pretty altars.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I walked into this church and just stood still and took a sharp intake of breath. It is stunning inside. A very peaceful and tranquill building.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gottaluvflying
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL CHAPELS IN IRELAND! A MUST SEE.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

St Malachy's is such a beautiful Church....it has stood on this site since 1844 & has been a focal point for the local residents of the nearby Markets area as well as the lower Ormeau Road area. My own grandparents were married there, buried from there and my mother & father were married and buried from here as well. I made my first Holy Communion in this church and both my brother and I were married here. Both his and my children were all christened here in St Malachy's, so as you can understand, it holds a very special place in our hearts with so much family history so closely tied into it. The building has undergone major renovation & restoration work in the past few years, costing in excess of £3million and seeing the beautiful results I am sure people will agree it is money very well spent. The vaulted ceiling is stunning & a copy of the one in Westminster Abbey (Henry VII chapel). The main altar is beautiful and there are two side altars , one to St Joseph and the other to Our Lady, the Blessed Virgin Mary & there are at least 6 statues of saints, including the Sacred Heart of Jesus & St Anthony (who my mother had great faith & confidence in praying for restoration of lost items)
If you possibly can, make a point of paying a visit to this beautiful oasis of calm in the centre of the city of Belfast. You will not regret doing so.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Malachy's Church also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to St. Malachy's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Malachy's Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.