We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is just so so!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Anne's Cathedral

St. Anne's Cathedral
Donegall Street, Belfast BT1 2FG, Northern Ireland
44-28-9032-8332
Website
Improve this listing
Visit St. Anne's Cathedral like an insider
Top Rated
$18*
and up
City Sightseeing Belfast Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #50 of 260 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“it is just so so!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i visited it , i was a cathelic church with hundreds of years, it was old. but the ceiling was special!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    75
    17
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Welcoming place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I'm a fan of a cathedral that lets you go in for free and wander at your leisure. Thanks to the staff for staying open for us. And of course, what a lovely building. Well worth a look round. Keep cathedral entry free!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nice place to sit a spell.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice cathedral, nothing over the top. Losts of military colours etc. The staff are friendly and very welcoming. Informations material about the cathedral is available in a range of languages.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The family church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My maternal grandparents were married in Belfast Cathedral. Both have long since gone - but is was comforting to think of each of them whilst seated in the cathedral. I also recalled memories from my childhood - of attending concerts and choir rehearsals within the cathedral adding to the importance of the building to my family history.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This cathedral was absolutely lovely! I found it simpler than some other cathedrals that I have visited but I loved that about this one. There was this one smaller room that had angels painted on the ceiling, amazing. We pulled in to the parking lot and completely missed the sign that said Saturday Parking £4 all day, rather we read parking £4 all day. When the bar wouldn't come up we rang the buzzer and the woman let us park there even though it wasn't Saturday, what a welcoming gesture! Definitely need to visit if going to Belfast.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Anne's Cathedral also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to St. Anne's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Anne's Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.