We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Opera House

Grand Opera House
2 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BA, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)
+44 28 9024 1919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 155 Attractions in Belfast
Type: Operas, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Grand Opera House in Belfast is Northern Ireland's premier theatre, presenting a range of drama, dance, opera, comedy, musicals, pantomime, family and West End shows. Established in 1895, the theatre boasts the majestic Victorian main auditorium designed by renowned architect Frank Matcham. Extended in 2006, the original building has been joined by a striking addition to Belfast's skyline, The Baby Grand. The initiate studio is home to a smaller performance space with 100 seats. Northern Ireland's premier theatre delivers an outstanding programme of entertainment, playing host to some of the greatest names in theatre and music. The theatre boasts a wide array of popular shows; everything from opera and drama to pantomime, comedy and musicals. The Grand Opera House offers unrivalled corporate hospitality with tailored events packages and is the perfect venue for meetings, special events and conferences of all sizes. The historical theatre is one of the most unique conference venues in Belfast, catering for seminars, conferences, meetings and weddings for up to 130 people in the Baby Grand Studio. The Main Auditorium holds up to 1060 people and smaller meeting rooms are also available. The theatre bars stock a range of drinks including beer, wine and spirits, in addition to tea and coffee.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faultless visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My first experience here was faultless, great staff and facilities. Would definitely go again in the future.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    102
    27
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
venice nights
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“belfast panto cinderella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

went last night just one word brilliant, the costumes were absolutely amazing singing dancing jokes brill what more can i say loved it and had brill seats roll on next one

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went to see Cinderella pantomine - show was fantastic - grat night out apart from small problem at the start when people were sitting in our seats. One member of staff told us to sit in other seats - all totally separated from eachother. So we had to find someone who was willing to move the people who had taken our seats

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food not so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It's a pity that the GOH cannot deliver as good as food as they do shows. Sometimes you struggle to get somewhere very handy to eat before the show. Have a look at how the Mac does it

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“outstanding customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

booked tickets for panto few months back. put the tickets away for safe keeping on the day we were to see the panto we got the tickets ready only to discover we were one day too late. Rang booking office as soon as it opened at noon explained my error the female on the other end of the line was able to offer us seats for that evening. could not have been more helpful fantastic service could only say this saved the day and we had a fantastic night at the panto. well done to Belfast Opera house many many thanks top marks to this member of staff.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Opera House also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Grand Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;