We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good basic and welcoming place, near the city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arnie's Backpackers

Arnie's Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Arnie's Backpackers to your Saves list
Arnie's Backpackers
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   63 Fitzwilliam Street, Belfast BT9 6AX, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good basic and welcoming place, near the city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Arnie’s a great guy, really welcoming and helpful. The hostel is a bit cramped but charming and not far from the city centre where there are loads of things to do. For example, Botanic Railway Station is a few minutes away, with a route to the Titanic Quarter and beyond to the coast and Bangor. I see there are mixed reports here on Trip Advisor but I didn’t have any probs: I just needed basic accommodation and the place was clean enough and Arnie and the other folks working there were very friendly and helpful. My 4 / 5 bunk room was comfortable enough for me – and it did have a socket in it. The website described things pretty well: even the two dogs were great little characters, both of them polite and charming! My son and I even had the welcoming cup of tea and roaring open fire to greet us!
Thanks Arnie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
3
7
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Comfortable and friendly hostel. Located about 15 minute walk from very centre of city, easy and free parking on the road. Helpful staff and fast internet. Clean and tidy kitchen and bathrooms. All in all ideal for accommodation on our UK road trip

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked the hostel only 2 or 3 days before leaving.
We were lucky to find a place for 2 persons and for this price.
The employees of the hostel were nice, give us good advices and helped us find our way in the city.
However, the hostel was dirty. Our room was smelly and there were 2 dogs in the hostel walking around (downstairs, not in the rooms) but still, it was dirty. Also, the dogs were annoying, wouldn't stop barking while we were cooking and eating. I like dogs, but that was too much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

A cozy little hostal, with friendly staff and just enough room for everyone.

The free breakfast is amazing! And if you don't like dogs, avoid this place because the owner usually brings his by (which are incredibly friendly!)

I would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburgh, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

By far one of the best hostels in Belfast! You feel at home the minute you walk in the door. The staff and Arnie do everything they can to make sure your stay is great. The hostel is also one of the warmest thanks to the roaring coal fires. Great location close to the city centre, Europa bus station, and Queen's University. Based in the university district, tons of great pubs just around the corner. Clean, great value, a home-away-from-home, Arnie's will always be my place to stay in Belfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

On my first visit to Belfast I was looking for a cheap but nice place to stay. Unfortunately Arnie´s wasn´t really living up to my expectations. I stayed at a mixed 4 bedroom for 12 € per night which was fair enough but... the beds were a nightmare, old and smelly. I needed to help my friend to climb onto the bed because there weren´t any ladders for the bunk beds. The bathroom lack renovation since the 1970s. The common rooms were crowded and crammed with broken furniture. It was noisy and the staff wasn´t very helpful. Overall I can´t recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My first experience of hostel life. Staff very helpful. Owner very laid back. Good mix of people from all over the world. Amenities good. Washing service efficient. Great Coal fires everyday. Nice atmosphere. Really is a good place to rest up on travels. Excellent booking service for cab tours. Staff work hard keeping the place clean.
Would highly recommend Arnie's backpackers.
Weekends can get busy - some characters go a bit over the top but the staff soon put them right in a very polite way. Great value for money. And always warm friendly welcome.

Room Tip: Four bed room is best, cost a bit more but better privacy. Weekend can get busy as great location fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arnie's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnie's Backpackers

Address: 63 Fitzwilliam Street, Belfast BT9 6AX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Arnie's Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the friendliest and cosiest hostel in Belfast! Its a safe, clean, 27 bed, city centre hostel. Free WIFI & tea/coffee. Be greeted on arrival with tea/coffee & biscuits and relax in front of our warm coal firesWe have a lovely kitchen, dining-room, lounge and garden open to all visitors. Along with Free WIFI we have internet access available on our in house computer. This is an environmentally friendly establishment as we recycle. You might be lucky enough to meet the jack russell dog that often visits! Feel free to use our in house piano and guitar. No curfew or lockout.Our friendly staff will do their best to make you feel right at home. Feel free to ask for any information about tours, travelling, and the local area. Arnie's is the ideal place to explore the culture, nightlife, shops and entertainment in Belfast. Tours of Belfast and Giants Causeway from the hostel and lots of info and advice!!We provide a full kitchen and common areas kept warm by real coal fires, along with radios and a television/dvd player. We also have laundry facilities available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Arnie's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnie's Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.