We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“describe the location honestly.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Belfast International Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Belfast International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Belfast International Youth Hostel
22-23 Donegall Road, Belfast BT12 5JN, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“describe the location honestly.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

bang smack in a stauncly loyalist area.quite scary cos i speak with a southern irish accent.no question of popping to the local for a pint! hostel very nice,but the kitchen keeps ridiculous hours!no cuppa after 9pm.mad.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    73
    71
    40
    20
See reviews for
16
55
63
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albacete, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

Well, I've been to this hostel after reading reviews in this same page, and I haven't been disappointed. Rooms are simple but nice, the cafe downstairs is fantastic for breakfasts and take-away lunches and the staff is quite helpful. Any bad point? Well, sheets may be a little cleaner, and there's a pub opposite it where customers are rather rowdy- they kept me awake most of the night! But all in all, it's a nice place to stay. I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Basic, yet comfortable. The youth hostel is at a very convenient location, not too far from the main Europa bus stand (15 min walking). Check-in was quick. I stayed in a 4-bed dorm room with attached bathroom. Beds were clean and so was bathroom. They have internet facitlity and breakfast in the mess (paid). The only problem that happened was that they closed their main entrance quite early in the night (11 P.M.) on saturday. We came back and found it closed. Had to spend quite sometime knocking the door trying to wake someone up.

But all in all- a very reasonable and cheap place if you want a 2-3 day backpacking trip to Belfast.

  • Liked — Location and tariff
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Italia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

I really hate these 'super' hostels....you know the ones...the ones with about 600 beds over 6 or so floors. The staff are always rude and only interested in taking your money. When you ask about a daytrip or for directions, they can barely contain their frustration with...wait for it....doing their job. This hostel is no different. Stay at Arnies round the corner...bit cramped....but at least you will feel welcome. This place is awful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Stayed here in February for the first time. Wasn't sure what to expect as there are some strange reviews, but we thought the place was fanastic.

We stayed in one of the new Twin Rooms, the room was very clean, and nicely decorated with an En-Suite Shower Room. The room was very tastefully decorated in cream with one feature wall in a bright colour which matched the Duvet etc.

Reception areas were immaculately maintained, and we regularly saw staff cleaning, mopping and hoovering etc.

The Reception staff were both friendly and helpful, and gave us great information on where to go and what to see around the city. The Hostel is located at the South side of the city centre, and we were able to walk to city hall and the shopping area in exactly 10 minutes, also the main bus station is about 7 minutes walk too.

We also had breakfast in Alans Causeway Cafe located on the ground / reception floor. We weren't expecting much from a Hostel Cafe, but we were blown away. The menu choice is virtually never ending, and they cook all the food while you wait just how you ask. The Cafe is also fantastic value for money given the standard of the food served. The staff are friendly, and chatty too, and seem to take pleasure and pride in serving everyone. There is also a selection of vegetarian and vegan food (my girlfriend is veggie and had lots of choice).

We did try another couple of places for lunch and dinner etc, inc Maggie Mays as it had been recommended on here, but the service was slow, food was much more expensive and not a patch on the Causeway Cafe, and their staff weren't that friendly it felt like they were doing us a favour serving us ....so instead stick with the Causeway Cafe, it definately should be your first port of call, and its in the same building, so perfectly handy. The cafe isn't owned by the Hostel, but is is run very professionally by a nice team.

We booked a tour to the Giants Causeway with Allens Tours directly across the road from the Hostel, their bus even picks up there too. The Hostel let out an office to another Tour Company (Minicoach Tours), but their staff were far from interested in us booking, and treated us like we were a complete nuisance, we also heard other people who had booked their tour complaining and their staff being very rude to them so DON'T use them, Allens Tours was brilliant, fun, and cheaper too.

The Hostel also has their own free car park, which given its city centre location is a huge bonus. Its also totally secure with electric gates.

Other aspects include a laundry (we didn't need to try it), Internet space with wireless which is chargeable (But all the Belfast Hotels charge for it too, so for the cheap room rate, you can hardly expect free internet!), Games room with some games machines, and they even had board games and cards which we were able to borrow, other than that it was big and spacious with lots of areas for lounging.

Hygiene, cleanliness, friendliness, and value for money seem to be their thing. We have stayed in other Hostels around the world which have had more charm but far fewer facilities. We definately felt like Hotel guests rather than Hostel guests, but obviously it isn't a 5 star hotel (so you can't expect get all little touches of towels, soaps) you need to bring your own toiletries, towels, etc, but thats a small price to pay for a lovely room at 1/4 of the price of a Hotel in Belfast.

We also heard some people in agroup talking about their conference facilities, which we didn't see, but a bonus for a hostel. When talking to the staff they were also saying about doing free walking tours soon too.

Well sorted place, and yummy grub, lovely city. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Very nice hostel. A little noisy, especially the sound from the streets, but with some ear plugs it's quite doable.
Prices are a little high, especially in the weekend, and note that they your ID as a bail. They don't mind what kind of ID you give them, though.
WIFI is available, internet on the computers costs money.
The first night we were there, it was pretty quite, the next night it was booked solid because of a schooltrip, yet my friend and I still shared a 4-person room with just the two of us!
Breakfast is very nice, especially the soda brad, and very well priced. Service was good, when we were waiting for our black cab tour that was 20 minutes late, the man at the desk called the cab driver for us to ask what kept him.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

I've stayed here twice - once in August 2006 and once in October 2007. The first experience in a twin room with a private bathroom was fantastic - the room was clean, pretty spacious for a hostel room, and had been recently renovated. The common areas are nice, and the cafe has some tasty food (the french toast is absolutely delicious!).

The second time, we weren't as lucky and got placed in a twin room with a shared bathroom that was really tiny, with bunkbeds. There was very little space in this room, and the climb to and from the top bunk was slightly precarious.

I like this hostel, though - if I were to stay again, I'd be sure to specify that I'd like a renovated room.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belfast International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast International Youth Hostel

Address: 22-23 Donegall Road, Belfast BT12 5JN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This huge hostel is the biggest in Belfast and the only one affiliated with Hostelling International. It's a short walk from all a tourist heart desire's, from Queen's Quarter pubs and attractions to city centre shops and restaurants. A recent rennovation has heralded a slew of top class amenities including en-suite rooms, FREE WI-FI, left luggage, currency exchange and laundry facilities. The Causeway and internet cafes serve up good value grub and Mini Coach tours (based at the hostel) offer daily tours to the Giant's Causeway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Belfast International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfast International Youth Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belfast International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.