We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but try to find somewhere else.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Belfast International Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Belfast International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Belfast International Youth Hostel
22-23 Donegall Road, Belfast BT12 5JN, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok but try to find somewhere else.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The room was clean and what you'd expect, but have a heavy smell of plastic. The facilities were OK but could have been a bit cleaner. There is meant to be 24hour access, but we were left waiting outside for over 15mins at 1am in the morning, as the person on duty was out the back having a smoke. There is nothing extra here, and Wifi and breakfast aren't included. Good location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    73
    71
    40
    20
See reviews for
16
55
63
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were really surprised by the amount of negative reviews! Had a very positive stay at the Belfast Int'l Youth Hostel. The staff was super-friendly from day one, didn’t even charge us for extra amenities, like towels and toothbrushes. Someone was complaining about the lack of lock on the door, but you need a key to get in the lift and up to the rooms. Also the rooms had lockers, so everything was very secure.

The location was amazing, very central. Just between the student area and the city centre. It’s just a few minutes’ walk to the main bus hub at Donegall Place, where you can get to anywhere in the city. Our room had its own sink, which was useful. It was all acceptably clean for a hostel; we definitely got worse ones on our trip! Also, it's very well-priced for the standard. And there's a travel agency inside the building that is really helpful for tours, particularly around the Antrim Coast, etc.

Our only complaint was that there was a bit of noise from the outside at night, but it was nothing that you couldn't sleep through!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This should not be a first choice hostel for anyone visiting Belfast. I had no other option other than overpriced hotels so I stayed a night here. The room was clean and not too crowded. I had a good night's sleep despite noise from outside and from the shower room. The shower and toilets were reasonably clean and functional but could have been better. The best thing about staying here is the rooms are pretty good value given that you are walking distance from almost anywhere you need to go in Belfast. The hostel also has good value internet access and secure luggage storage. The staff were reasonably friendly but in all honesty with a bit of cleaning and effort this place could be a lot better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Awful hostel. The whole building looks out of date and decayed. Screaming girls at night, whole hostel is too noisy. Lack of a locked front door, everybody can walk in. Disgusting toilets and showers. In my room we had to share 2 power outlets with 6 people. Only one positive thing: bed was good. Belfast is a very nice city, but try to combinate with Dublin or Glasgow, otherwise it's not worth the trip in my opinion. Don't stay in this hostel when cleanliness is important for you...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the hostel.
It's central, and Belfast is small so you can walk everywhere.
The room was small, but clean. There were lots of people staying when I was there so it was perfect for me travelling on my own.
It has a big kitchen and dining area: and a good cafe open at breakfast time.
Internet was the cheapest I've found on my trip at £1 for an hour.
The best thing was the cost generally - at £10.50 for my bed it was amazing value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed in a double room at the Belfast International Youth Hostel for two nights which happened to fall on the Saturday and Sunday night of a bank holiday Monday. Our experience was mixed - some aspects were great but others really need improvement, as follows:

Pros:
- good location, not far from the city centre (and easily walkable)
- modern looking double room with a double bed, chair in corner and large ensuite bathroom
- great shower in ensuite bathroom that was walk-in and was fantastically warm and powerful
- window in our room opened to allow fresh air in
- heater in our room worked well and was very welcome!
- reception was brilliant; on arrival the guy was warm and welcoming (and witty) and continued to be friendly and helpful (to anyone that we saw ask questions also) throughout our stay
- free secure carpark behind the building, owned by the hostel
- large dining area with ample table and chairs for use
- (very) cheap decent-looking cafe available attached to the dining area (although we self-catered or ate out, so didn't use it)
- decent self-catering kitchen for use with ample fridge and shelf space, as well as several cookers
- spacious reception/lounge area with some comfy couches to chillout on
- free wifi available (but only in the lounge area I believe)
- internet terminals available for use at a reduced rate as well as beanbags nearby if you want to use wifi instead
- games room and a separate lounge room with large TV and beanbags above reception on level one (though we didn't use these)
- option of lift or stairs to get to rooms (very handy with heavy luggage!)
- security pass style keys which allow access to the stairwell/lift, your floor and your room (obviously)
- not too expensive and we got a discount for being YHA/HI members

Cons:
- our bed was awful!! The double mattress had been completely worn thin along both sides of the bed and the only part that had any springs left was the centre, meaning that my partner and I continually felt like we were being rolled out of the bed onto the floor on our respective sides and were clinging to the middle throughout the night
- our room (#201) was quite noisy:
- our room's window fronted Donegall Street and was directly opposite two pubs, one of which was a Rangers (football) Supporters Club - the combination of it being a bank holiday weekend as well as there being a huge Rangers game that weekend, meant that there were all sorts of drunk antics and noises coming from the street outside, which I guess is part of the Belfast experience, although if noise bothers you when sleeping, bring earplugs or ask for a different room
- it was right next to the lift and so many people seem to have to use it despite only being two flights of stairs from reception, so the coming and going of people and constant lift bell wore a bit thin
- the self-catering kitchen, whilst it was large and had plenty of cookers, toasters, kettles etc, had minimal equipment for use; we counted only 6 mugs for the entire kitchen at any one time and on one evening, these were all in use by a group sitting in the dining area drinking bottles of wine (as there were equally few glasses). At one stage, my partner had to make his cup of tea in a glass he'd bought as a souvenir somewhere else and hoped it wouldn't break as there were no mugs at all!

Overall, whilst some aspects were great, there were others that we just couldn't deal with - such as the bed - and thus would consider if we really wanted to come back. That fixed (and perhaps some more equipment in the kitchen), we would be happy to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Our first impression of this hostel was the guy on reception, Grant from New Zealand. No smiles, no welcome, in fact he made us feel awkward and unwelcome, as though we were an inconvenience. Not a nice guy at all and if I had my way, he would have been sacked and on the street.

The next impression was the blond girl serving in the cafe. I was with a group of Spaniards who didn`t speak very good English. I saw this girl first lose her patience trying to explain the menu to one of my group and then again with a black guest. Disgusting.

Rooms? Very basic. Broken furniture. Stained mattress. Dirty floors. My pillow case was not clean and smelt of someone else's greesy hair.

The lift outside our room rang a bell every time someone got out of it. It woke me up very late at night and very early in the morning.

On the positive side the cooked breakfast was very nice. The following day a boy called Philip was on reception and was very nice. He was from Belfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belfast International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast International Youth Hostel

Address: 22-23 Donegall Road, Belfast BT12 5JN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This huge hostel is the biggest in Belfast and the only one affiliated with Hostelling International. It's a short walk from all a tourist heart desire's, from Queen's Quarter pubs and attractions to city centre shops and restaurants. A recent rennovation has heralded a slew of top class amenities including en-suite rooms, FREE WI-FI, left luggage, currency exchange and laundry facilities. The Causeway and internet cafes serve up good value grub and Mini Coach tours (based at the hostel) offer daily tours to the Giant's Causeway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Belfast International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfast International Youth Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belfast International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.