We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madison's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Madison's Hotel to your Saves list
Madison's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 - 63 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JL, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
dublin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very good hotel. I spent there 1 night, with friends. Rooms are big and comfortable. Breakfast ok. Service good as well. There is a club downstairs which can be annoying for some who sleep light. Great and relatively safe location. I would not mind to come back there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    151
    65
    28
    23
See reviews for
31
188
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a hen party accommodation and prices were v good however the service in the restaurant both breakfast and dinner was v poor. It took 40 mins for a waiter to come take our order.

Plus the nightclub clientele left a lot to be desired. As a customer here two years ago it was a very different experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel lovely central to all but only diwn side is went for meal had squid ti start which was raw sent it back wasn't even asked if we would like something else. Complained to reception nothing done. We were planning on coming back next month with our partners but will probably boo
k somewhere else. The Mcgrattan party room 103

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was enticed to #takebackthecity and #backinbelfast due to all recent campaigns. My friend knew about the deal which was 2 courses for £10 and all cocktails £3 between 6pm and 9pm...we were not disappointed! I enjoyed a lovely brushetta starter with cheese and bacon, my friends had squid, pate and caesar salad...being friends we shared each others and there was not a complaint to be had! The squid was great..not at all rubbery and the pate was homemade!! Let me move to the main courses..one of my friends and I had the most beautiful braised steak with mashed potatoes, the steak was melt in the mouth and so full of flavour! Others had fish cakes which were plentiful (too much in fact and some was left over..imagine!!) I had a little taste and they had the perfect balance of fish and potatoes..the last friend had a burger which you would have needed a ladder to climb! The burger was pure beef and accompanied by onion rings and chips! Now...can you believe we had all this for £10??? Added to this the service was perfect..unobtrusive but extremely helpful at the same time..nothing was too much trouble and we didn't have to wait long until our food arrived or between courses.

Well done Madisons...you have embraced the #backinbelfast campaign and the place was certainly buzzing tonight! Would highly recommend a visit...we had a great nite!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Armagh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I found the hotel lovely and the staff were very friendly. Check in was quick and we got to our room which was spotless and tastefully decorated. We had called reception to make a dinner reservation who I have to say was very helpful. Dinner was beautiful and plenty on the menu to choose from. Restaurant staff very efficient. Well done!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Well located, really pleasant staff, the hotel is right in the middle of some great nightlife/
Breakfast til 11am and checkout at midday means lots of time for a sleep in.
The breakfast iis a bit disappointing for Belfast with inferior sausage and black pudding but i suppose you can't grumble too much given the price of a room. Don't think about it just book it!

Room Tip: rooms at the back on second floor were quiet but looked in on the back yard. I suspect they will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on the 22nd of jan with my boyfriend as we wer in the city to c a gig!!
the location was perfect 10 min walk to the limelight where the gig was on 15 min walk to the city center for shopping!! we booked on the hotel website and got the january sales price which was super cheap 50 euros for bed and breakfast!
the hotel was nice the reception staff were lovely and helpful. our room was big with a huge bed and big bathroom.
i just have a few comments on the room it smelt like eggs my boyfriend says this is because of sulpher added to the water i got use to the smell after a little while it was just very strong on entering the room. our room could do with a lick of paint lots of marks n splash marks on the walls , we had to try about 7 different internet codes to get the free wifi and the last thing was the duvet was super thin and there was no extra blankets, it had been snowing all week so even though the heating was turned right up it was quite cold in bed!
the breakfast was lovely the next morning.
the bar and restaurant were lovely with cheap cocktails during happy hours we would have loved to try the food maybe if we come back.
overall we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison's Hotel

Address: 59 - 63 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JL, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison's Hotel is located at the heart of Belfast's Boulevard society in the beautifully tree lined Queen's Quarter, only ten minutes walk from the city centre. An elegant boutique hotel offering 35 ensuite rooms that have recently been refurbished, a 70 seat restaurant, popular Cafe bar and nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Madison's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madisons Hotel Belfast
Madison Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.