We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 14 day stay and I still wasn't tired of the breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ravenhill Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ravenhill Guesthouse
Save
You added Ravenhill Guesthouse to your Saves list
690 Ravenhill Road, Belfast BT6 0BZ, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A 14 day stay and I still wasn't tired of the breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. There is something very solid and reassuring about it. It is real, not made to a formula like chain hotels. The furniture is solid wood, not veneered, and the bedroom doors close with a satisfying clunk. There is an old fashioned Roberts radio beside the bed which gives a warm rounded sound. As Olive says, there is more to running a good hotel than meets the eye.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
163
36
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Olive is a very nice lady and made our stay as comfortable as possible. Vey nice and tidy room and also very good and diverse breakfast. Anytime we go back to Belfast we would choose the Ravenhill guesthouse again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here two nights in March with my daughter on a quick trip over from Newcastle. Unfortunately had awful weather but Ravenhill was a lovely retreat. Roger was the perfect host - very helpful and welcoming organising trips and taxis on our behalf. We had a lovely room with a big bay window which was very cosy, clean and warm. Bathroom was very small but functional. The breakfast was fantastic with lots of homemade breads and jams. It was a little bit out of the centre but well served by buses and taxis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst we stayed over in Belfast and we could not fault the place. From the moment we arrived the owner Olive warmly welcomed and looked after us.

After we had unpacked we relaxed in the lounge with some freshly made coffee done so by Olive and we chatted about our plans during our visit. Olive kindly shared her local knowledge of good places to eat and drink and of Belfast in general. This was a nice touch to be recommending places especially as we were new to the area and unsure. Based on such recommendations we went to Errigal Inn (local) and had a very nice evening meal. The Guesthouse itself is a beautiful period built establishment that has been well maintained and looked after and is about 10-15 minutes by car or taxi (£5/6) from Belfast City Centre. The room we stayed in towards the back of the house was very clean and welcoming. The guesthouse is on a busy main road towards Belfast City Centre so maybe having a room at the rear of the house is a good idea for some extra peace and quiet. In the room itself was a very cosy double bed with ensuite bathroom with toiletries. Also there was a TV with freeview channels and free wi-fi included, information on what to do in the area as well as about the Guesthouse itself as well as complimentary tea and coffee facilities and biscuits were provided too.

Being a weekday breakfast was served between 7-9am and it was delicious and very filling and kept us going way beyond lunchtime. We had a combination of cereal, a cooked breakfast, toast fresh coffee and orange juice. There was a very good variety to choose from.

Checking out time was easy and not too early nor late as I believe it was 11am. Ample time for us to get ready before we set off to our next destination. Off street parking is also provided and does give you peace of mind too.

We would readily return to stay again with Olive at The Ravenhill Guesthouse the next time we visit as we will need to do so as there is so much more to discover of Belfast that we could not do on our first short stay there. Room prices are very reasonable indeed especially in mind of the excellent service that was provided. We are looking forward to our next visit and stay here :-))

Room Tip: The room at the rear of the Guesthouse (2nd floor) we stayed in was very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at Ravenhill for 2 nights in the middle of February. It is an excellent B&B (and I am hard to please!!) Roger is the perfect host and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Can thoroughly recommend to Titanic Belfast and the Bengal Brasserie on Ormeau Road a 5 minute walk from the B&B http://bengalbrasseriebelfast.com/

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 night in early Feb, the place is excellent and lives up to all the previous reviews. It's well located near bus stops and shops/pubs/restaurants etc and only a short ride into town. The hosts are very welcoming, helpful and friendly but not over intrusive. Spotlessly clean, lovely linens and fluffy towels. Breakfast was lovely with home made bread, granola, muesli, fresh coffee, kippers and high quality bacon, sausage , egg etc. We ate at the nearby Errigle pub and that was excellent - the Parador pub also had traditional Irish musicians playing on the Tues night - they all just turned up and joined in it was great ! I would have no hesitation returning or recommending. Thank you Roger and Olive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

During our trip around Ireland, we spent one night at the Ravenhill Guesthouse to explore Belfast. We were absolutely delighted by the decor and hospitality of Ravenhill Guesthouse and would strongly recommend anyone stay there if given the opportunity.

Once we arrived, Roger greeted us and helped make sure we were comfortable by brewing us a fresh pot of coffee. Roger also spent a considerable deal of time answering our questions about the area and making sure we had all the necessary maps or information, which we greatly appreciated. The B&B was only a short walk to a bus stop that took us wherever we wanted to go and Roger made sure we knew how to get there and which buses to and from to take. We got to see all the sights we wanted to see.

We were very impressed with how clean and nicely put together Olive and Roger's home was. The room we stayed in was quite beautiful with high ceilings and ornate crown molding. Breakfast was handled through a small menu order card that we left by the door before bed that contained many options made to order. I ordered the Kipper and overall breakfast was very good. This B&B was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravenhill Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenhill Guesthouse

Address: 690 Ravenhill Road, Belfast BT6 0BZ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravenhill Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.