We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms have zero soundproofing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Save Saved
You added Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmoral Hotel
Blacks Road | Dunmurry, Belfast BT10 0NF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 44 hotels in Belfast
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Rooms have zero soundproofing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed as a group attending an event nearby. Not cheap compared to the usual deals we get and very disappointing. Reason we're unlikely to return is that the rooms have zero soundproofing, I could hear everything in the next room and there was a loud event going on underneath us until 1 am, I literally felt like it was going on right next to my head, a complaint to reception was entirely ignored

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    23
    20
    25
See reviews for
33
31
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We go to the grill bar freguently and have never been disappointed. The service is quick and the staff very friendly. They have paper and crayons for the children . The food is excellent with great portions. We can sit after our meal with a few drinks and there is no rush from staff to vacate the table.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went to a funeral and booked the room at short notice. The whole experience was excellent. The staff were lovely and the room was clean and modern. The bar areas were good and although we didn't have dinner the breakfast was all we could expect ,given the price we paid

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just nipped in for our evening meal and it was lovely good choices reasonably prised.good kids menu with paper and crayons supplied to keep the kids entertained while waiting on there meal.good friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife & I stayed at this hotel on 22nd August as we were attending a concert nearby.
The room(18) was basic but very comfortable & clean.
It was priced at £49...a great rate.
I recommend their Grill-bar for "good home cooking".
Plenty of secure car parking.
Definitely would stay/dine again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

A nice hotel in general. The personel was sometimes a little 'cold' a specially during breakfast, but mostly they where helpfull and as warm as the Britts are known for. So defenetly this will be my first stop in Belfast region

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here on business in July. Have stayed here many times previously and its a good hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Its starting to fray a little around the edges but its still really good value for money. Room was spotless and breaakfast was great and all for £50. Not a bad result.
had a meal in the downstairs bar, arrived piping hot, great value and plenty of it.
Only ctiticism for me was that the TV was minute. It was like a small computer monitor and the sound quality was a little tinny but on a one night stop over not too much of an issue. Would stay again

Room Tip: If eating in the hotel, try the daily roasts in the downstairs bar. Reaaly good when I was there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: Blacks Road | Dunmurry, Belfast BT10 0NF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.