We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
Balmoral Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blacks Road | Dunmurry, Belfast BT10 0NF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Me and 7 others have recently stayed in this hotel we couldn't of booked a better one . Staff where so friendly and where more than willing to help everyone was always smiling and happy. The food also was 10/10 as we ate in the hotel the whole as the quality, amount of food and price was fantastic. Some reviews on here say not to go here but ignore them this is an excellent hotel and I will be going back

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nattypatty1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The hotel is not signposted from the main road, so even though we know Belfast very well, and were in the right ball park, it took us over an hour to find it. We arrived quite distressed as a result and what was to follow did not help.

We had booked a "cuddles and bubbles " break for a special occasion. The offer included chocolates and bubbly on arrival. We were given a room opposite the laundry room and beside the fire escape where dirty laundry was being collected and taken away via the fire escape. Not a great start.

Had to remind them about the "bubbles" several times and when the porter arrived it was a still bottle and he advised they had no chocolates but we could have breakfast instead!. Naively we were expecting champagne and didn't realise that breakfast wasn't included anyway! They did change the wine for a nice sparkly, minus the champagne glasses. When we queried the terms of the booking, they admitted that they had had problems with their internet bookings and had difficulty accessing them.

When we arrived, we realised there was a wedding in progress The noise later was so bad we had to ask to change rooms. They did accommodate us with a quiet room, however it was a disabled room with twin beds - so no cuddles!

The occasion was totally spoiled so I wouldn't recommend it for that reason. If you were a wedding guest it would fine. The staff were pleasant and they did have a lot of wedding guests to cope with.

On checking out we we were given a reduction on our bill, which we were not expoecting; it was good to know that the staff recognised that the experience was disappointing. The hotel should not advertise a romatic break that they are not really geared up for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMsept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belfast hotels

belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We went out for a nice meal recently and to be honest, the service was terrible. They wouldn't let us sit in our chosen seat, then we had to ask for menu's. The food was delicious but our plates stayed on the table for nearly half an hour before we asked for them to be moved. When we asked to see the desert menu, it was a good 15 mins before anyone approached our table. We won't be going back in a hurry.

The staff were very pleasant and the accommodation was basic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doonbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We arrived at the Balmoral mid morning because our flight got in at 8 and we hoped we'd be able to leave our suitcases. What a welcome! We were invited to wait while our room was serviced early, given coffee and toast, and were in our room within half an hour. The room was lovely - the Balmoral seems to specialise in weddings and there were three receptions while we were there, so the bar was extremely noisy, but our room was at the side of the hotel and very quiet; apart from some guests who probably got lost and tried to climb into the broom cupboard next door at some unearthly hour, it was very peaceful. Breakfasts were excellent and service always with a smile. I was pleased to find a variety of pillows available; beds very comfy and rooms clean. The downside was a long bus ride from the centre and no buses on Sundays, but the Balmoral is actually next to the motorway and has plenty of parking. I would recommend the Balmoral for a stay in Belfast, preferably with car, as it would be excellent as a base for touring Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: No good views, quietist rooms overlook car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We attended a wedding here recently. Having been to several this year already, this was by far the worst venue ever! There was nothing special or spectacular about the wedding room, decor was very outdated. The food was abysmal, watery vegetable soup, roast chicken, which was cold and dry, and what was supposed to be deep filled apple pie, was a thin, soggy, cold slice of apple cake and a blob of cream from a can. The service was appalling - at one stage the waitress cleared an untouched round of drinks. There was no water or cordial on the table, something apparently included in the package. Then there was the compere - an older gentlemen who's announcements might have been audible if he wasn't practically eating the microphone. The disco started about 8.30pm but it wasn't until about 11.30 people started to get on the dance floor, the music just didn't work at all. All in all, I would urge anyone considering their wedding here to think again - it might seem like value for money but other venues when all is factored in works out to be similar in price with a much better service, far superior food and enjoyable entertainment. On the plus side - the toilets weren't bad!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Room was nice but hadn't been cleaned properly.
We ate in the bar and it was ok but nothing to get excited about.
Nice part of Belfast.
Boring dated and very Bland.

Room Tip: If your on buisness - Fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Irish Style Restaurants in this area are mostly pretty disasterous.

If you wish to dine reasonably well in this area, the obvious choice, is go for, Indian, Chinese or Italian. If you however want to try Irish style cooking,
your first choice in this area, should be the Balmoral Hotel.

The service and cooking in this Hotel is not fancy, however the staff are friendly and try.

For a basic Sunday lunch, this the best in this area.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alavna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
Lansdowne Hotel
#36 of 44 in Belfast
3.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Beechlawn House Hotel
#34 of 44 in Belfast
3.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Golden Mile
Etap Hotel Belfast
Etap Hotel Belfast
#30 of 44 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: Blacks Road | Dunmurry, Belfast BT10 0NF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmoral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing