We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor room was at Christmas fiction kettle broke etc in room and left comment card that no one acknowledged” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beechlawn House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Beechlawn House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechlawn House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Dunmurry Lane, Belfast BT17 9RR, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 44 hotels in Belfast
Newry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very poor room was at Christmas fiction kettle broke etc in room and left comment card that no one acknowledged”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Rooms disappointing. Food always nice I go there with my family for different events but was surprised at the small old fashioned room with broken kettle and water taps in bathroom was not impressed at all would not stay overnight again in poor conditions like that

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
On behalf of the Partners, Management and Staff, I wish to thank you for your custom and taking the time to post the complimentary comments about our food.
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your room, but we did not receive any complaint or comment card either during or following your visit and therefore were not able to immediately rectify the problems. We could have moved you to another room or replaced the kettle if we had been aware of any problem at the time.
Since your visit, we are undergoing a refurbishment program throughout the hotel and in addition to the foyer and dining areas we have already completed a number of the bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    21
    12
    20
See reviews for
24
25
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clogher
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break staying in the Beechlawn. Staff were very helpful and friendly, the food was really good, the room was basic but clean and I have no complaints whatsoever about our stay here and yes i would return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
On behalf of the Partners, Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for choosing the Beechlawn House Hotel for your weekend break and for taking the time to post your positive and complimentary comments; in particular it gives our Staff great encouragement when their professionalism and hard work are recognised and appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Travelled up to celebrate cousins 50th birthday.Greeted at reception by a lovely girl very welcoming.Party went very well until we looked for a late drink [12.30 am] Management did not seem to have a clear policy on residents late drinking if you could call 12.30 late. Situation was handled very badly.Just as well we were all of a mature age or the whole night could have been a lot worse.Its not asking too much that management should have a clear policy in place so as all staff on late shift should know if they can serve drink or not.
Bernadette

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
On behalf of the Beechlawn House Hotel, thank you for taking the time to post your comments and I am glad that you were pleased with the greeting you received and enjoyed the birthday celebrations during the evening.

I am sorry that you were not happy with the hotel’s after hours drinking regulations, however we do have a clear policy in that NON RESIDENTS cannot be served alcohol after normal permitted hours. These guidelines are forced upon us by the NI Licensing Laws. The management do have a difficult role to fulfil especially at the end of a successful evening when NON RESIDENTS often look for the same after hours benefits as residents. It would be helpful all round if the licensing laws were more flexible but unfortunately our hands are tied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Staff were very welcoming. Place was very homely. Nothing was too much trouble. Food excellent. Hotel was warm with central heating all the time. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Water was nice and hot. Would only say that the shower in 240 could do with being upgraded to a power shower to give a heavier flow - other than that it was perfect! Will stay there again without hesitation. Hotel is very recommended. Christmas decorations looked excellent throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
On behalf of the Partners, Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for choosing the Beechlawn House Hotel, and for taking the time to post your positive and complimentary comments.

We do very much value and appreciate your custom and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

great value, clean, nice atmosphere, lovely staff!! they were so busy with Christmas do's but they couldn't have been more helpful.... breakfast was very tasty!! we were only hear one night for a show at the odyssey, i was glad to be staying a little out of the city as it was that bit quieter, would defiantly stay again, thank you :-)

Room Tip: economy rooms are small but clean and perfectly formed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
On behalf of the Partners, Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for choosing the Beechlawn House Hotel for your trip to Belfast , and for taking the time to post your positive and complimentary comments; in particular it gives our Staff great encouragement when their professionalism and hard work are recognised and appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My friend and I stayed overnight at Beechlawn on Saturday 8/12 and we really enjoyed ourselves. The bedrooms need a pick me up decor wise and the TV was out of the ark but the service and entertainment made up for the shortcomings. Ruth was slaughtered in the bar serving on her own so it was a long wait for a drink. The guys singing and playing guitar were wonderful. All the staff were working hard and doing it with grace and smiles. The food is very good and reasonably priced. I saw a lamb shank going past on Sunday and I intend to fast for two days, skimp on breakfast and go for gold next time.
The rate is £10 more expensive than the Europa which is strange given that the hotel is a fair skelp out of the city centre but the pints are 80p cheaper and cocktails £1.50 cheaper.
Only real complaint was that there were kids running riot at 1:00am. Not the hotels fault. When I rang reception and complained they sorted it out right away.
Rebecca stored our luggage and the lovely Sarah who is studying Mechanical Engineering (and prob paying her fees by working part time) got me a "cure". She also loves The Big Bang Theory. Hard not to love a place like this even if the rooms need up-dated.
Merry Christmas one and all and thank you. I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
On behalf of the Partners, Management and Staff at the Beechlawn House Hotel, I wish to thank you for your custom and taking the time to post your constructive comments. In particular it gives our Staff great encouragement when their professionalism and hard work are recognised and appreciated.

In response to your comments about the bedrooms, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment program and at this stage a number of bedrooms have already been redecorated.

We generally are one of the most competitively priced hotels in the Belfast area, and offer very good value for money. Sometimes other hotels discount the room rates when their occupancy levels are low. I hope I have assured you that we are continually assessing the Hotel to achieve first class, friendly service, excellent food and beverage, in clean and comfortable surroundings.

Thank you once again for your custom and taking the time to leave your comments, it is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Visiting Northern Ireland on a business/pleasure weekend I booked my wife and I into the Beechlawns with a little trepidation as there had been one or two negative reviews. However, the hotel is fine for the money you pay. The quality of the food was good, the staff were friendly and attentive and the room was more than adequate. There were one or two maintenance issues which we highlighted in the feedback form but I have no doubt these will be addressed over the quieter winter months. All in all, I would recommend the Beechlawn House Hotel and will use it again should I be visiting the area.

Room Tip: The hotel does cater for a lot of weddings etc - so it may be helpful to ask for a room in the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
On behalf of the Partners, Management and Staff, I wish to thank you for your custom and taking the time to post your positive and complimentary comments about our food, bedroom facilities and our high standard of service. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. We are working on the maintenance issues you had mentioned and are currently redecorating our bedrooms. Thank you for highlighting these issues on our comment card.
We do strive to achieve first class, friendly service, excellent food and beverage in clean, pleasant and comfortable surroundings. Thank you once again for your custom and taking the time to leave your comments, they are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beechlawn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechlawn House Hotel

Address: 4 Dunmurry Lane, Belfast BT17 9RR, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechlawn House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beechlawn House Hotel is situated less than 10 minutes drive from Belfast and Lisburn city centers, and less than a mile from the M1 motorway with easy access to the City and International airports, ferry, train and bus terminals. The lavishly refurbished Beechlawn House Hotel offers a superb range of facilities including; 42 En-suite Bedrooms, an intimate Bistro, Bar & Restaurant, Conference Suites, Function Rooms and a Multi Media Suite. Complimentary Wireless Internet access WiFi for all residents and delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Beechlawn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechlawn Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechlawn House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.