We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Crescent Townhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Crescent Townhouse to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Crescent Townhouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Lower Crescent, Belfast BT7 1NR, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

This is a lovely fairly small hotel. My room was very large and quiet. The hotel has its own first rate bar and restaurant, with a larger public bar attached. Service is first rate and the hotel is a very short walk from the city centre. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    80
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
16
104
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

The check in was a little unfriendly.
The suite (Empire) was a nice style although very shabby in places (bulb not working etc). The room however was too dark for my wife to do her hair and makeup easily (all lights were on at teh time)

A group of 6 of us went for the meal and stay package. Usually teh service and food in the Metro Brasserie is superb. However on this occasion it was well below the usual standard. The 6 of us arrived for our pre-booked meal. however the waiting staff did not know we were guests in teh hotel (lack of communication). They wouldnt although one of teh party to swap a starter fro dessert (poor service). The food was not at its greatest for this usually great restaurant. They even tried to charge us for th entire meal (which was clearly included in our stay) and the end of the meal.


Breakfast was good apart from no one actually sayingw here it was held and that juice etc was available for self-service. We later found this out after having eaten our breakfast.
The cooked breakfast was very good.

Sleep - it was incredibly noisy (until about 3am and early in the morning).


Overall for spending over £120 on a one night package and meal I thought the service and accomodation would have been better. Unfortunately the meal may have put me off returning to Metro. We would go there quite often.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Four adults and 2 kids for 2 nights stayed in 2 of their suites. The Empire is in the old style with a beautiful canopied bed and the ensuite had a roll top bath and a walk in shower. Lots of lovely fluffy white towels and excellent quality Molton Brown toiletries. The O'Neill Suite is modern with a seperate living area with a couch. Breakfast was delicious both mornings - cooked fresh to order - served with freshly brewed coffee.
It was quite noisy on the Saturday night as we were on the first floor - however this did not detract from the stay. Dinner was included on the second night - two courses from the early bird menu and I was delighted to be served fresh pasta as my starter. The pork was a little disappointing and it was more like a gammon - but overall the meal was nice. The kids had to order off the bar menu but luckily we don't have picky eaters.
The one problem was the internet. The Wi-Fi is chargeable at £4 for an hour - which in most hotels is FOC. It didn't work after a couple of attempts and we were given a full refund and an apology - however it would have been nice to have internet access for the weekend.
We will be back the next time we're in Belfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Excellent staff reception very accommodating and friendly. Great offers for weekend stays too!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Found this hotel via internet search and booked two rooms at B&B rate.
We had been traveling around most of Northern Ireland - causeway area etc. and were going back to Dublin. As none of us had been to Belfast before we decided to to a short stop and see the town.
Had a hard time finding the hotel as the motoerway sign was different than the direction given. There was construction going on and so maybe it was some detour or something but hotels should keep their directions up to date.
Arrived and ther is no parking out in from of this hotel. No parking dedicated to the hotel at all. This is near a university area and in a city so parking is a premium. Being from NY we knew that they hotel must have some arrangement with a local lot. Anyway the receptionist was rude. Rude to the point that we could have been invisable. The older members of our party had to carry their luggage up the flight of stairs throught the library and down a few more steps and down a hallway. Which ironically was across from a meeting room with a wheelchair lift, that had a elevator next within the stairwell next to their room. Now, I and others who are young didn't mind the carring the luggage but to find a elevator next to the room of the people who need it was awful not to offer to let them use it.
Parking is on the street/square, metered, a pond and hour for a three hour limit starting at 8 am. The hotel should look into getting some type of parking pass or day permit for guests. the Hotel is located right off the Botanic subway line which would make it great for anyone arriving by train or from airport.
Rooms are contemprary in decor and were very clean. Decor reminded me of Ikea. Bathroom was small but utilitarian. Huge closet.
We had rooms facing the side street, which is actually a main road. The front of the hotel is on a side street of a square.
The double paned bay window our rooms had did little to keep out the street noise and they is a lively club on the opposite corner that goes until 4 am. So, expect to hear drunk co-eds yelling and screaming at each other with loud music. Other than that the room was very nice and comfortable. Breakfast was served in the adjacent restaurant. We had eaten there for dinner - 50/50 on reviews of quality of food.
Did not see any business center or fitness area. Library area seemed to have internet access as there was someone using a laptop in there upon our arrival, and tea and coffe making facilities.
We walked down to the city center and was able to take advantage of the sightseeing tours of the city.
The receptionist (same girl) did charge us separately for the breakfast, which upon checkout the on duty receptionist (guy) fixed for us and even offered to let us use the elevator to bring some of our bags down - he actually went and got them for us.
All in all for what we paid we thought the quality was good.
We didn't find the city all that tourist friendly or at least those serving the tourist to be.
This hotel would be great for a younger college to 30ish crowd that was going out to party esp. at the place accross the way. Not for families, children or Sr. Citizens. I wouln't recommend this hotel to any of my friends as I think they are not of this hotels target demographic - young and hip.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed here on a Saturday night in May. For £99 we got B&B and an evening meal. The meal was fantastic and I have to say the breafast in the morning was the best I have ever had in a hotel. Freshly cooked for you and nothing was any trouble to the restaurant staff. The room was lovey and clean and in my opinion nicely decorated, the extra treats of tea/coffee, biscuits and the lovely Molton Brown toiletries were an unexpected delight for this minimal price in a city centre hotel.

The only problem we encountered was the noise outside the hotel but as it was a Saturday night I suppose it is to be expected. I did ask the receptionist if we were staying again was there a quieter part of the hotel and she said to ask for a room at the front so we would definately do that.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night only, thankfully.

Arrived at the hotel and was greated by the most grumpiest receptionist!!! Teresa i think i heard a member of staff staying, stood for a few mins while she back stabbed an other member of staff in her words " who does that stuck up cow Jean think she is" I must admit that was a bonus on our behalf as we were in utter shock... who says these things in front of resients... Oh yeah Teresa does!! Very rude. Checked us in anthen turned her back to [--] about some one else.... Firts Impression, that was strick one!

Went to our room which was surprising basic compared to all the comments we had read on this... Went to run a bath and found an insect crawling.... That was Strick 2 at this stage all i wanted to do was get out and see anything but here!!

Went down stairs YES a hell lot of stairs i might add....to see an elderly couple sruggling to carry there case, my patner carried there bag to the third floor as they were given no help! doesnt surprise me much the reception was sitting eating when we went passed again! We need directions to city centre but just aske on the street as we didnt even want to look at her again as she had already put a downer on our meant to be romantic weeekend in belfast.

Shopped for a while an came back. We ate in the restraunt hands up 5* to them the food was excellent an we enjoyed it enderly. Then went to our room to chill only to be interetuped to ask if we ha been smoking in the room!!!!!!!! No we are non somker and the person on the phone then said well its against hotel poily to smoke in that room as its non smoking!! the cheek of that we requested a non smoking... so y ring? i was utterly fuming.

It was a hard night sleep aswell with the noise from out side the room.... To be honest we would never visit this hotelagain put it down to bad service and ignorant staff......

Restraunt is differnt tho girls worked off there feet which was no surprise it was so busy top class!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Crescent Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crescent Townhouse

Address: 13 Lower Crescent, Belfast BT7 1NR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#17 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#21 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Crescent Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of the bustling Queen's Quarter, the historic Best Western Crescent Townhouse Hotel and our friendly staff are ready to welcome you to Belfast where we will endeavour to make your stay as special and memorable as possible. This well-appointed boutique hotel has been carefully and thoughtfully designed to give a contemporary feel in a classic setting. It features traditionally decorated rooms with comfortable, modern amenities including a flat screen TV/DVD and free Wi-Fi. The lavish Suites are decorated in traditional Victorian style fitted with dark mahogany canopy beds, floral drapes, antique wing armchairs and a roll top bath and walk-in shower, complemented with luxurious Molton Brown toiletries. Metro Kitchen, the hotel's award winning AA Rosette restaurant has designed an exclusive menu allowing our guests to taste some of the traditional flavours of Belfast with a modern Metro twist and is open both morning and evening offering everything from a hearty full Irish breakfast to daily specialities made from locally sourced ingredients. Metro Bar offers a more relaxed welcome with a full bar food menu available every lunchtime and evening. In addition, we also showcase some of Belfast's best live music every weekend. The atmosphere is lively, warm and friendly and the famous Belfast banter goes on well into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crescent Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Townhouse Belfast
Crescent Townhouse Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Crescent Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.