We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Date with Dukes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dukes at Queens to your Saves list
Dukes at Queens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Co Kildare
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Date with Dukes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I have just had the pleasure with my mother and two sisters of staying at the recently refurbished Dukes at Queens. From the get go our stay was delightful. From the moment we pushed open the front door where we were greeted by their fabulously friendly front of house staff to our farewell breakfast just before we departed there are not enough positive things I could say about the hotel. Every aspect of our stay was extremely positive. The rooms are elegantly decorated with very comfortable beds and a bathroom that was made for spoiling every lady who loves to sink into a hot bath after spending her day shopping. The Bistro style restaurant has a lovely buzz about it with entertainment that suits all age groups that allows you to enjoy your meal and the music without drowning out your ability to converse with your companions. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation for a pampering girly weekend or a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    146
    49
    17
    14
See reviews for
45
291
24
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Booked a Saturday night stay for my boyfriend and I. Really impressed with the rooms in the hotel. Fantastic bathroom with seperate bath and shower - absolutely gorgeous. Bedroom decor was beautiful and touches like built-in ipod dock made the room feel so special. Loved this hotel although when we returned after being out in the city there was a function going on in the function room and to be honest the guests seemed unsavoury to say the least - felt this cheapened the feel of the otherwise luxurious hotel. Also when I went into the residents bar for one last drink I found the female member of bar staff was less than friendly and to be honest looked like she was under the influence of some substance or other - felt she let the place down. Other than that we had a fantastic stay and the restaurant food was lovely

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

On arrival at 'dukes' we were WARMLY greeted by reine the receptionist.she explained all the hotel had to offer and explained about the valentines menu,which we gladly took.the bedroom was HUGEEEEEEEE.WOW you could have fitted a family of 6 EASILY into this room. i and my partner have every intention of going back to 'dukes', next time we will be trying out the pizzas that dukes have to offer,we are told they are really really nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

two nights cost us £150 which i thought was about right but i noticed the rates at reception were much higher. really comfortable bed but the standard room is quite small. Its on university street whish is a good walk to the city centre. There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby though

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

this is are second time staying at the Dukes, for the following reasons, great location, great breakfast, great staff, great style, great price, simple review !!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Stayed one Saturday night in Dukes with my partner, cannot fault this hotel, refurbishment has been completed to a high standard, rooms are large as are the bathrooms. Very modern appliances in bedroom including ipod dock which was a great advantage. Only negative i would have is that the shower is over the bath and in particular you have to hold the shower head, only a small thing as i said.

Staff were very polite, attentive and always available to help out.

Didnt eat in the hotel but was very busy on the Saturday night, plenty of options in the close vicinity if you dont wish to eat there.

All in all a great nights getaway in a modern boutique hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

I booked 2 nights B & B with one meal for a stay in late November. The hotel looks fantastic on the website and going by the reviews on this website I thought I had made the right choice for a romantic weekend getaway.

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who checked us in etc. Heading to the room it is clear that the hotel has been recently renovated (do not visit if you have a hatred of the colour purple), everything looking very new and upmarket. The room itself was lovely with a very comfortable bed, 32" tv on the wall as well as a built in iPod sound system that was also hooked up to the tv. The room overlooked a road but the double glazing obviously did the trick at keeping the majority of the traffic noise out. The bathroom we had had a walk-in rainfall shower as well as a large bath, all very nicely done. The room and the bathroom were very clean which is really nice to see.

We had our prebooked dinner on the first night and I must compliment the chef as the food, and portion sizes (too much for us!), were to die for. We liked it so much we went back the second night.

However, the only problem we had with the hotel is the noise. It appears that they now rent out the "relaxing bar" for functions, meaning that it is out of bounds to guests and seems to be filled with either students from the nearby university, or birthday parties, all fuelled heavily by drink. Our room was directly above the bar and you could hear every single word of every song, the first night not finishing until gone 11pm and the second around 1am. We complained about the noise after the first night but the receptionist just offered to find us another hotel. We declined.

The second night, however, after hours of noise, my partner went downstairs and complained to the receptionist who eventually got the manager. After a discussion it turns out that the receptionists are meant to alert you to the fact that the room is being rented out for a private function on the nights you have booked. On the 4 occasions I called the hotel before arrival (in September and October) not once did they mention this and had they I would not have booked this particular hotel. The manager did offer us some money off our bill which did sweeten things a little.

On the second night they also had an acoustic night - the receptionist commented that even if we had been moved room we would have still been disturbed by the noise ( this was not possible as the hotel was fully booked for the Saturday).

It is such a shame that a hotel that has been renovated so beautifully can be let down so much by renting out the bar as a function room. I understand that hotels are having to make ends meet in the current climate but surely there is a more guest friendly way of doing this!!

All in all, we came back to Scotland not so refreshed, with myself, who cannot sleep with background noise, more tired than when we left. Belfast is a lovely city and I would definitely recommend a visit to this hotel, just don't go at the weekend unless you plan to be joining in the party.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#23 Family Hotel in Belfast
#23 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dukes at Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.