We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dukes at Queens to your Saves list
Dukes at Queens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
471 helpful votes 471 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

A very good hotel located adjacent to Queen's University and Botanic Gardens. Close to town and railway station (both 15 minutes walk) the room and bed are very comfortable and all very well managed. However the breakfast is not too good if you like the meal to be presented at table in one smooth service (it is a combo affair of buffet and waiter service) which does not work. Over three days the staff had to be reminded to bring essential items (toast, cutlery, butter, etc.,) whilst food from the kitchen was going cold. Still breakfast isn't that important so its probably best avoided here - there are plenty of nearby cafes. Otherwise I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Comfortable room and bed
  • Disliked — Excellent hotel service is let down by the poor breakfast service.
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    146
    49
    17
    14
See reviews for
45
291
24
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

My wife & I stayed here recently and I have to say we really enjoyed our experience. This is a lovely hotel, its clean and with very friendly staff who do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Food is great & its great value. The only downside was the window in our room which was small and up high with no view at all but this was only a minor detail. Will I be back? Definately

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

this is a great hotel, all the possitive comments are correct with very very little to fault.
it knocks spots of the corperates of this world

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Glad I picked this place for a surprise weekend away with the Mrs.

Nice staff, really nice clean & quiet room, good breakfast. The bar lets the place down a little, it's a bit ordinary, & the reception area looks a bit temporary, but all this is more than made up for by the rooms. Unusually for Europe, it was more expensive on the hotel's own site than thru an agency, so we used Expedia or somebody.

We dined at Beatrice Kennedy restaurant round the corner - also excellent. I reckon we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Recently stayed there for 4 days. A really beautiful hotel. Arrived early and allowed to check in there and then. Reception staff more than helpful. Lift to rooms behind reception. Room fantastic, decor beautiful and serene, widescreen tv, no irish stations though. All extras in rooms, even an ipod docking station, speakers in ceilng. You would nearly want a tour round the room! Bath is huge, taps in the middle so you can really relax, there is even a heated mirror in the bathroom. Air conitioning in the room, really effective. Shutter blinds on the windows, something different. Room service is very good, they change your bed every day, fresh towels supplied also. No parking though, car broken into. Reception staff said area was safe when booking. Right beside college. Within easy access of town. If you want to do red bus tour, reception furnish you with tickets & they order bus to the door of the hotel that brings you to the starting point. Restaurant poor, not a nice cosey area for a quiet meal. Air conditioning above some tables that makes food go cold. More like a pub menu than a restaurant menu. Nice restaurants within 2 min walk. Pub is only available in the restaurant & you feel you are in the way of staff setting tables for breakfast. The nicest hotel I have stayed in ever & I have stayed in lots. Modern but neat . Only downfall is no parking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with a group of friends for a Saturday night. We paid £90 per room B&B. The hotel has a lovely wrap around veranda with nice wooden furniture which was lovely to sit at and have a drink and watch the world go by. The rooms are huge with an equally huge bathroom complete with shower, seperate bath and funky sink. The bed was also huge and was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The cold breakfast buffet wasn't huge, but they provided a delicious cooked breakfast designed to feed a man with a huge appetite. We had a few drinks in the bar onthe Saturday night and they had a guy playing the guitar who was really good.

Note to Sat Nav users - it doesn't come under the hotel section so you will need to put in the address.
I have two young children and I will definitely come back and stay in the hotel with them, as the spacious room would more than accomodate us with a spare bed and a cot.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

We had a one night stay in Belfast and opted for Dukes at Queens. We were greeted warmly, had a spotless room with everything you could want. The bathroom was huge with a separate bath and shower. We took advantage of a Monday to Thursday offer in the bistro of a set price menu including wine and the meal was fantastic, both value and quality. The only slight problem was parking onstreet round about, but that was only because we arrived before the people who park in the area during the day for work had gone home. After that there was plenty of parking on the road outside. Only wish we'd been able to stay an extra night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#23 Family Hotel in Belfast
#23 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dukes at Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.