We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dukes at Queens to your Saves list
Dukes at Queens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is a great hotel. We booked a deluxe double room. It was huge. The bed was massive and very comfortable. We had a lovely sitting area with two big soft chairs. There was a large desk with a big leather office chair. On the wall was a very big Lowe flat screen tv. Other little amenities like biscuits and chocolates made our stay even more welcoming. The bathroom was also huge with an anti-mist mirror, large shower and separate bath. All in all I would definitely return here - we were impressed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    131
    35
    15
    11
See reviews for
43
265
22
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at this beautifull hotel in the students area of Belfast. My room was very large and the bathroom new and modern with both shower and bath. Very quiet room to the back of the hotel. The bar with dining had a relaxed atmosphere with very good young staff. Food for breakfast and dinner simple, fresh and very tasty. The young girl in the reception gave a warm welcome and excellent check-out. My only complains were that the window in my room could not open and that the kitchen was closed at arrival Sunday evening

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband I stayed last night and enjoyed Dinner/B&B offer. We were very warmly greeted by the receptionist. Our room was immaculate with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath, piping hot water and lovely white fluffy towels. Dinner was to die for and our waiter again was warm, friendly and professional. Breakfast the next morning did not disappoint. Staff genuinely offer excellent customer care in a genuine easy manner, nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be making a return trip to Belfast, sooner than we had planned... If only to stay at this hotel again!!! Thank-you for a fantastic night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

For the price, a good hotel and better than that. A large room - nice. An excellent bathroom with a shower space large enough to look forward to. If you could drive your car into the bathroom, you could probably use the shower as a car wash. Well, perhaps a motorcycle. Breakfast was good. Location is a nice one - plenty of places to eat surrounding the hotel.

Room Tip: I'd go slightly higher up than the 1st floor - their seems to be some compressor or extraction u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Wrong billing, unhelpful attitude, paid more than 100 pp for more than 10 days and was charged 1 p for news paper, internet not working and fortunately if works is very slow. Menu not changed on regular basis so customer have to sustain with what has been offered ...specially for long staying guests . Was offered a room without information that was meant for special people..had to chuck out.

Claudine's staff is an exception.... else nothing great about staying at the Dukes

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchster
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Booked a luxury room for one night for a weekend break with an 18 month year old. We had room 207 which was HUGE. Very nice. Couple of niggles in the bathroom - the sink plugs seemed broken and there was some water damage to the ceiling. Otherwise fantastic room, real high quality finish.

Reception staff were superb and very very friendly and really made a fuss of my daughter.

Would definitely recommend. Although it is a walk into town. .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I booked this hotel as a last minute surprise for my wife, we only live 20 mins out of Belfast but we're going up for a night out and i thought we might as well stay the night and im glad i did, we will be staying here again in the future.
I can remember this hotel from when it was under the previous owners as i done a bit of work in it and back then it was a bit tired and run down but it has been restored beautifully and is now for me one of the best hotels in the city.
The rooms are first class, spacious, tastefully decorated and spotless. The atmosphere in the bar areas, reception etc is very welcoming and very chilled out. We had a few drinks before heading out and there was excellent variety. Breakfast the next morning was lovely and again the choice was plentyful.
The staff we're great also and could'nt do enough. We will definatley be back and soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#8 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#21 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dukes at Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.