We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Park Avenue Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   158 Holywood Road, Belfast BT4 1PB, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel several times before as they do a 3 for 2 weekend offer. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is good, the rooms are modern and clean and the location is excellent for going into Belfast and it is only a short distance from the airport.

Room Tip: I always ask for an airy room as I have asthma. Our room had a double and single bed in it and was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    130
    47
    16
    14
See reviews for
57
133
34
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have stayed here now on four occassions for business and each time has been great! All of the staff, without exception are helpful and friendly and the hotel is clean, well furnished and well laid out.

I have eaten in both the resturant and on-site bar and both are lovely. The bar meals offer great value for money and the food is of resturant standard (last nights 'five spice cod with pea puree mash' was delicious!). Breakfast is always good and despite trying to stick to my diet, once again I gave in to temptation and went for the Ulster Fry - worth every calorie!

If you are looking for a good value hotel in Belfast I cannnot recomend this one highly enough - I willl definitely be back.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

The Park Avenue is a great hotel. I stay there regularly on business. Reception staff are welcoming and efficient, the rooms are spacious, well decorated and in my experience always clean, with large comfortable beds and excellent en suite bathrooms. There is also free WiFi in the rooms, which is nice.

The bar is popular with locals, always a good sign in my opinion. The food in the bar and restaurant is always very good (especially the breakfasts) and the staff are excellent, very friendly and always helpful.

Parking is free and plentiful, and the hotel is only a short drive/cab ride from Belfast City Airport.

There is a good selection of meeting/conference rooms available, with good service. I would especially recommend the tea and scones for meeting refreshments!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany/UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here for the New Year's Eve night and were half an hour late for breakfast. The young man serving us could not have been friendlier. He went out of his way to still give us the best service possible. We were served a full Ulster fry, toast, tea and everything else we wanted. Moreover, our friends found their way to the breakfast table even later and were still given the same excellent service. I wish I had asked for the young man's name, because he was exceptionally helpful and cheerful.
The room was lovely, reception staff also very friendly, would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Decided to go reviews good and relatives said it was okay. We paid for two rooms a double with a single and two twin beds. The later room was two times bigger than the double bedroom with the single. Also more that 30 channels on the twin room tv. No mini bar in the rooms, good lighting.
My bedroom was disgusting! I had hairs in the bed, orange marks on it, on the pillows were White stains, dust dead spider and on top of the wardrobe, I would fire the cleaners without a thought, years of dust lies on top of it. All around the door frame dust, tv. The bathroom though was pristine and nice and modern!
Room service was swift however it felt that the young staff were not enjoying being there.
Breakfast for a four star hotel....
You have cerial yogurt strawberrys apples, ready made Danish pastry and couisants, not exactly a fantastic continental by a mile. Had a dirty fork and knife, plates were served with finger in the food. Toast was burnt or not even cooked! Flora is available. If you ask the staff a question they tend to go into great detail... I thought I should start to charge for counselling, I don't need to know about their families. Nice seating area not packed full! Meat was yum, they were more than happy to d grilled instead of a fy up.
Front desk staff polite however at night the doors close, we got back to the hotel at midnight to find all the doors were locked, however the man soon noticed and opened it for us and was more than polite.

I wou,d recommend to friends and family however I wiuld say dint be affraid to complain.
Oh the bar was jam packed full and had no atmosphere....

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontypridd
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Once again stayed one night prior to flying home as very convenient to City airport. Friendly check in staff, clean comfortable room. Had a problem with the window which was attended to immediately. One problem that did arise was that there was no where to plug in an electric shaver in the bathroom. On contacting reception they said there was an adaptor in the room. However, I could not find one and when given one from reception it did not work. Breakfast was good and staff very friendly but my wife only had two pieces of toast as she always does and there does not seem any way to only pay for this apart from the B&B rate. For all this would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
367 helpful votes 367 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I stayed here for one night on business. The check in was smooth and friendly. The reception area is well decorated and comfortable. My room was on the first floor and was very spacious, with everything you need except a mini bar and safe. Bed was large and very comfortable. Bathroom was also very spacious but my only personal complaint was that there was no walk in shower. Everything looked fresh and clean. I did not eat in the main restaurant as was there for a business function but the food we were served was hot, well cooked and the staff efficient. This was a large event and staff were well organised.
Breakfast in the dining room was excellent. Cold outside and I wanted porridge. No problem for them. The whole hotel has a relaxing feeling and is well kept. All the staff were friendly from security to a lady cleaning the mirrors in the morning.
Only 10 mins from the city centre by car. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Avenue Hotel

Address: 158 Holywood Road, Belfast BT4 1PB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Family Hotel in Belfast
#12 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Park Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Avenue Belfast
Hotel Park Avenue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.