We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel room but quite basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Belfast City

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Belfast City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Belfast City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Brunswick Street, Belfast BT2 7GE, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap hotel room but quite basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great central location to access both shops and clubs or bars. There are a number of good bars close to the hotel, one of the best bars I found was Brenans bar which is just around the corner...great deals on drink and the food is cheap but lovely!

The rooms are cheap and you do get a fairly basic room however it's fine for just sleeping in! The bedrooms have most things that you need however having no shampoo is a bit of a pain and the fact that you need to request a hairdyer from the reception is an annoyance, although because the rooms are so cheap you can't really complain!

The staff were friendly and were there to help with any problems we had.

All in all if I needed a cheap place to stay for a night I would go back to this hotel, however if I wanted to stay for a few days I would probably pick a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Ester M
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and you took the time to acknowledge the friendliness of our staff.
By providing the basics we are able to offer great value on our rooms and hairdryers can be picked up from reception on arrival and returned on check out.
kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    111
    115
    85
    83
See reviews for
35
160
57
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights whilst on a course in the city, this hotel should be of the hostel status! It is in a very dodgy area behind a row of pubs with a square to the right of the building which is full of down and outs begging. The rooms sparse and in much need of a lick of paint. Never again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Irish_coffee_9
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel enjoys a very safe central location which is commented on regularly by other reviewers. The rooms are fully functional and have everything a guest needs. And we have the painters starting work on Monday morning to give the whole hotel “a lick of paint”.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at this travelodge on the 1st March and no complaints. Just visiting Belfast for two days, a Titanic based trip. The hotel was clean, warm and the staff were friendly. The bathroom was very good too. It's perfect for the city centre and only five minutes from the Titanic Quarter in a taxi. Food in the restaurant was also top notch. So well done to the team, and will be back soon.

fraser

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Scott 184
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your appreciation to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was exactly what we were after, affordable central location with good quality rooms. If your after a short city break in Belfast (Which I highly recommend!) this is the place to be. Right next to all the pubs and within walking reach of some very nice restaurants. Its clean and its warm with very friendly reception staff. Definately be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Simon & Sandra
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your trip to Belfast and your stay in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Good location but it ends there, the hotel is not maintained well at all and is showing its age, but for me it was just a place to sleep so was fine. Biggest problem for me was the price, £90, its dirty Belfast after all

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Jo_Joyce
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I would like to assure you that the hotel is well maintained and we always offer the best value of any hotel in Belfast especially when booked in advance.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed at the Travelodge, Belfast for one night in February. It’s hard to review, as it depends what you are after…..if you just want somewhere to ‘put your head down’ for the night, or somewhere quite cheap ad in a convenient location, go for it! If anything else (luxury/relaxation/a break/business) then do not.

Pro’s:
1. Location – central Belfast a 1 minute walk. This is the biggest pro.
2. Price – relatively cheap, and was the cheapest option for us.
3. Some amenities provided – tea, coffee, kettle, TV. But no shampoo and NO HAIRDRYER and we had to ask reception for TOWELS.
4. Wifi is free, BUT ONLY IN THE DOWNSTAIRS RECEPTION AREA (but it is free…)

Cons:
1. No car parking (they have a ‘deal’ with a nearby car park, but that’s £8 per day, which is ridiculous as all other car parks/street options/meter parking are much cheaper!)
2. No breakfast (£3 for a bowl of cereal – what the hell?!) however, some cafes nearby are nice, including ‘Avoca’ in the centre.
3. Beds – truly atrocious quality – slightly better than a camp bed, but not by much!
4. Rooms – small, dingy, smelt of stale smoke, quite dirty. The rooms strongly resemble a typical ‘halls’/’university dorm’.

I would recommend for those who just need a nights rest/emergency sleep, but for romance/business/leisure, pay £5 extra and go somewhere significantly nicer….!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear oreo_jo
Thank you for taking the time to leave you review. At Travelodge Belfast we aim to provide a clean comfortable no frill accommodation at great value I can assure you that towels are provided and our rooms are cleaned to a high standard. Full continental breakfast is £4.95.With regard to the car parking as you mentioned we do not have our own car park but offer a number of options to our guests, parking on the street which is £1.20 per hour maximum of 2 hours free from 6.00pm to 8.00am and all day Sunday or a local multi storey which is £8 for 24 hours it really depends which suits your personal needs.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

i have stayed in this hotel before and the location is very good, close to all amenities, i was very pleased with everything overall . the only "gripe, " i have is that my room overlooked the back of hotel where all the bins were and i was woken very early by the bins being emptied, also the generater was humming all night. i realised this cant be helped , but i think the windows should be double glazed to keep the noise out

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Tina D
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and our windows are double glazed , and I will contact the refuse company to ask them to minimise the noise in the morning.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Belfast City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Belfast City

Address: 15 Brunswick Street, Belfast BT2 7GE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Belfast City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Belfast is the ideal location to base yourself while working or visiting Belfast. The train and bus stations are across the road from the Travelodge, which features on all major routes. The universities of both Queens and Ulster Belfast are within a 10 minute walk. There is a vast array of restaurants, pubs and clubs locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Belfast City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Belfast City Hotel Belfast
Travel Lodge Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Belfast City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.