We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Belfast City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Belfast City to your Saves list
Travelodge Belfast City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Brunswick Street, Belfast BT2 7GE, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overpriced and old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Good location but it ends there, the hotel is not maintained well at all and is showing its age, but for me it was just a place to sleep so was fine. Biggest problem for me was the price, £90, its dirty Belfast after all

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Jo_Joyce
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I would like to assure you that the hotel is well maintained and we always offer the best value of any hotel in Belfast especially when booked in advance.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    122
    126
    93
    90
See reviews for
36
179
60
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed at the Travelodge, Belfast for one night in February. It’s hard to review, as it depends what you are after…..if you just want somewhere to ‘put your head down’ for the night, or somewhere quite cheap ad in a convenient location, go for it! If anything else (luxury/relaxation/a break/business) then do not.

Pro’s:
1. Location – central Belfast a 1 minute walk. This is the biggest pro.
2. Price – relatively cheap, and was the cheapest option for us.
3. Some amenities provided – tea, coffee, kettle, TV. But no shampoo and NO HAIRDRYER and we had to ask reception for TOWELS.
4. Wifi is free, BUT ONLY IN THE DOWNSTAIRS RECEPTION AREA (but it is free…)

Cons:
1. No car parking (they have a ‘deal’ with a nearby car park, but that’s £8 per day, which is ridiculous as all other car parks/street options/meter parking are much cheaper!)
2. No breakfast (£3 for a bowl of cereal – what the hell?!) however, some cafes nearby are nice, including ‘Avoca’ in the centre.
3. Beds – truly atrocious quality – slightly better than a camp bed, but not by much!
4. Rooms – small, dingy, smelt of stale smoke, quite dirty. The rooms strongly resemble a typical ‘halls’/’university dorm’.

I would recommend for those who just need a nights rest/emergency sleep, but for romance/business/leisure, pay £5 extra and go somewhere significantly nicer….!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear oreo_jo
Thank you for taking the time to leave you review. At Travelodge Belfast we aim to provide a clean comfortable no frill accommodation at great value I can assure you that towels are provided and our rooms are cleaned to a high standard. Full continental breakfast is £4.95.With regard to the car parking as you mentioned we do not have our own car park but offer a number of options to our guests, parking on the street which is £1.20 per hour maximum of 2 hours free from 6.00pm to 8.00am and all day Sunday or a local multi storey which is £8 for 24 hours it really depends which suits your personal needs.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

i have stayed in this hotel before and the location is very good, close to all amenities, i was very pleased with everything overall . the only "gripe, " i have is that my room overlooked the back of hotel where all the bins were and i was woken very early by the bins being emptied, also the generater was humming all night. i realised this cant be helped , but i think the windows should be double glazed to keep the noise out

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Tina D
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and our windows are double glazed , and I will contact the refuse company to ask them to minimise the noise in the morning.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Maine
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My boyfriend took me here at the weekend 16th February as a surprise night away and we were very disappointed with what we got for our money 82 pound! the room was tiny, far too warm to get a comfortable nights sleep, noisy could hear people constantly slamming doors up and down our corridor, we had no air conditioning and the window only opened a tiny bit, i know this is probably for safety reasons but in that case then there should have been air conditioning in the room. for the price we expected maybe some shampoo/showergel, or at least breakfast to be included, but neither was, on leaving the receptionist took our key and said "thanks" and that was it no enquiry whether or not we enjoyed our stay or if we had any problems. bed was uncomfortable and when my boyfriend had a shower the bath was dirty and the shower head. the view from our room also was terrible , thankfully we were on a floor just above the wall we were facing. will never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Danni
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay.
I have checked our records and nobody paid £82 on the night you stayed, as we also check our rates daily against our competitors we were lowest priced hotel in Belfast on that night. When reservations are made either through our website or directly with the hotel it is clearly stated that breakfast is not included in the rate quoted but is available for an additional £4.95 per person.
I am quite confident if we had been made aware of problems during your stay we would have been able to address them.
kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was thinking of visiting Belfast because it was nice and close to the local attractions and sites. I went on the 11Th of February and paid about £190 for my entire stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Simes908
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here several times for work visits and finally gave up and tried other hotels.
Situated very centrally, the Travelodge is just behind the "Golden Mile" and handy for the bus/ train station with links to both airports. The building is not showing it's age well! Rooms are small and basic with no views, and some are noisy due to close proximity to the back of the bars on the mile.
Most Travelodges offer breakfast, but this one has an arrangement with Olio's restaurant next door to offer theirs - although I did hear that before Christmas they stopped offering hot options during the week. Worth checking before pre-booking breakfast!
Something that bugged me by the end of a week's stay was having to hand in your room key every time you leave the building. Waiting to hand in and collect your key all the time is just plain annoying, but I guess it harks back to the more troubled times in Belfast's past when they'd need to know who was in or out?
Stay here if the nearby Days is full, otherwise you can get better rooms for the same price or less....

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Shark-E
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Firstly I would like to assure you that breakfast is and always has been available and is excellent value at £4.95.
The keys can be dropped at reception without having to hand it to the staff however I find that when keys are dropped in or picked up is an excellent time to interact with our guests rather than only speaking to them when they check in or out however if you wish to keep the key with you this is not an issue.
We always offer the best value in Belfast especially for corporate guests for whom we have extra facilities available .
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night 3rd July was £55 which was an unfair price to charge for such an outdated and poor overall standard of a hotel. The room had a translucent window which u couldn't opened and it faced some building opposite so there was very little light and the room was so warm i had to sleep with the noises air con on all night and above the duvet. The bathroom floor had some yellow stains and the carpet in the bedroom needed replaced. Also prior to check in the receptionist told me over the phone that It was £50 and when we arrived she said the price had changed to £55. Which I thought was a bit strange as it was only 20 minutes. Also on check out their was one receptionist and a que of around 5 people lookin to check out had to wait 5 minutes and all she did was take the key and said thats fine no how was your stay? Etc makes myself as a customer feel unappreciated for my custome. Would highly recommend people stayed in the primer inn as its cheaper and modern unlike this hotel. Will never return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Ryan
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We take all comments very seriously and if any matters are raised during your stay we will try to ensure they are resolved promptly. However as your stay was 6 months ago it is not possible to fully investigate all of your issues.
Your actual date of stay was the 1st of July, I have inspected the room and the carpet is in good condition, we have never had any complaints about the air conditioning being noisy and when I inspected the room personally found it to be very quiet.
As payment is taken on arrival check out is only a matter of handing the key back however our staff always ask if our guests have had a good stay and it is a good point for guests to raise any issues.
With reference to your claims that we changed the rate after you made your booking , we always charged the same price on our website, on the telephone or at the hotel. We check our rates daily against other hotels and I am confident Travelodge always gives the best rate of any comparable hotel on the day of arrival.
kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Belfast City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Belfast City

Address: 15 Brunswick Street, Belfast BT2 7GE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Belfast City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Belfast is the ideal location to base yourself while working or visiting Belfast. The train and bus stations are across the road from the Travelodge, which features on all major routes. The universities of both Queens and Ulster Belfast are within a 10 minute walk. There is a vast array of restaurants, pubs and clubs locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Belfast City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Belfast City Hotel Belfast
Travel Lodge Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Belfast City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.