We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a bit of a tidy up !!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Belfast City

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Belfast City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Belfast City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Brunswick Street, Belfast BT2 7GE, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 44 hotels in Belfast
liverpool
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“In need of a bit of a tidy up !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

As with a few of the other reviews..you usually know what you're getting when you book a Travelodge. Unfortunately Travelodge Central (or room 115) needs a bit of TLC. On arrival the staff let us check in straight away (brilliant as we arrived at 10.30 a.m.). Room was EXTREMELY basic. Literally just 6 hangers and a rail. No drawers and absolutely no room to put any more of your clothes, which meant I had to leave all my other clothes in my case. The bathroom is the tiniest bathroom I've ever been in..the door literally touches the toilet as you enter the room. As I went in the bathroom I noticed, what looked like vomit in the toilet. On flushing the most awful stench filled the bathroom. This took 3 flushes to get rid of. On reporting this to reception we were told that this was 'back flush' (it was sewarage). The gunk didn't reappear but there was a slight 'pong' to the air everytime we came back to the room. Also they had literally attached a piece of lino to the side panel of the bath with large black screws, which looked very cheap and tacky. Water pressure was very irratic. You literally had to time your shower as the water would suddenly turn freezing and then would change to scalding hot. At first I thought this was somebody next door turning on a tap but our friends had the same problem in their room. The good side to the hotel is it's location. Smack bang in the middle of Belfast...although it was rather noisy at night (closed window did get rid of some of the noise)...windows wired so very little air gets into the room. Didn't try the restaurant next door but would highly recommend Harlem Cafe just round the corner for breakfast and lunch...brilliant. Apparantely Premier Inns have totally refurbished ALL the Belfast hotels so think they may take a bit of Travelodge's trade as this hotel is in definite need of a tidy up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear CallywallyLiverpool
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry you found some points of you stay disappointing and would like to assure you our maintenance staff will address the issues you have highlighted. We are committed to constantly updating our hotel with new TV’s installed last week and further improvements planned.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    107
    113
    82
    82
See reviews for
34
158
54
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I visited late at night and it was a man at reception and a security man also... security man led me to my room and was very friendly. The rooms are basic but I guess cleanliness is the main key, well for me it is anyway. Good place to say as long as you aren't hoping for a luxury stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Aine47
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the help our staff provided.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Travelodge is usually my go-to hotel when I want a bed for the night during a trip somewhere so that was why I went with them when staying in Belfast for a few days. The hotel itself is a fairly standard Travelodge. Clean enough but nothing too luxurious. The walls seemed to be a bit thin so it could be quite noisy, especially when cleaning was being done (I think I was next to the cleaning cupboard!) but it wasn't too much of an issue. The staff were all friendly and helped a lot when I needed pointing in the right direction. They supplied a map showing me where the open top bus departs from, too, as well as providing instructions on how best to get there on foot.

The real selling point of this hotel, however, is the location. It is right in the centre of Belfast and just across the road from The Europa Hotel. This is where many of the bus tours and other things leave from. It is also only about a 5 minute walk from Castle Place, where the open top bus tours leave from. Many of the attractions can be reach in this way, or by a short taxi ride (the Titanic Quarter, for example, is only a few minutes drive away). So if you want a hotel without the frills but for a good price in an excellent location, this is ideal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Andrew
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you experienced the hotel is excellently located, clean and comfortable with friendly staff and good value for money which is exactly what we aim to provide.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here recently for 2 nights. Staff were friendly and polite when we called to book and they were pleasant throughout our stay. When we checked in, I went up to our room with the bags only to find that someone else was staying in the room already.. Thankfully we have a sense of humour and the guy on reception allocated us another room straight away. The look on his face made me laugh even harder than I already was! Room was basic but spotless and had everything you need. We didn't eat here (try cafe Harlem around the corener for breakfast!) so can't comment on the food but overall we enjoyed our stay and though it was the perfect central location from which to explore Belfast. We will be back.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms seemed quieter, we stayed on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear donegal25
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I would like to apologise for the mix up on you arrival, this was due to the previous guest leaving items behind in the room (which are still at reception waiting to be collected!).I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Located in a central Belfast location just steps from the Crown Bar (oldest bar in Belfast, recommended) and Belfast City Hall. This is an economical hotel (42 GBP for a double room) does not include breakfast (~7GBP) or Wifi (5 GBP) in the price. Wifi is only good for 24 hrs, but is on the bitbuzz network so if you buy an Ireland '3' sim card for your phone that includes wifi, you can use that login to access their network. Clean bathrooms and beds. Slightly noisy with proximity to pubs. Free street parking (limited) until 0800.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Frantstc
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We keep our prices down by charging guests only for what they use, other hotels “free Wi-Fi or breakfast” is built into the price everybody pays. We also understand that guests may only want to use the Wi-Fi to keep in touch whilst they are away from home so we now have free Wi-Fi in the hotel reception.
kind regards

Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I wouldn't stay here again! This Travelodge is centrally located but it is old, tired and is desperate need of a make-over. First night the main light went. Also sink plug and bathroom fan didn't work. Told reception next morning but when I got back that evening I was told that the maintenance man was not back for three days. I had to move myself to another room! It was scruffy. Not dirty - just scruffy. TV picture was poor - very few channels. Wi-fi costs £5/day!! Three night later bulb in new room went at 8pm - no-one available to fix it!
Breakfast in Olio's was good!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Richard E
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I would like to apologise for the problems you encountered during your stay. We aim to resolve any problems as soon as possible as the maintenance staff were not available we changed your room. The wifi cost of £5 for 24 hours I believe is the best value in Belfast for a high speed reliable connection. We are constantly updating the hotel with new flat screen digital televisions being installed in all of the rooms this week.
kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

First visit to this central hotel and we loved every minute of our stay. A bit noisy with hen party but that's to be expected in budget hotel in the midst of bars and clubs. Rooms fairly large and beds comfy and clean. Staff friendly and attentive. Excellent meals next door. Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast City, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Misty 186574
Thank your for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Belfast City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Belfast City

Address: 15 Brunswick Street, Belfast BT2 7GE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Belfast City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Belfast is the ideal location to base yourself while working or visiting Belfast. The train and bus stations are across the road from the Travelodge, which features on all major routes. The universities of both Queens and Ulster Belfast are within a 10 minute walk. There is a vast array of restaurants, pubs and clubs locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Belfast City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Belfast City Hotel Belfast
Travel Lodge Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Belfast City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.