We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem Scores Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lansdowne Hotel to your Saves list
Lansdowne Hotel
657 Antrim Road, Belfast BT15 4EF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast, Co. Antrim
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little Gem Scores Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

My second visit to this Hotel. Again, some of the negative responses posted on this website do not do it any justice. The Lansdowne is a small busy little hotel with local values and a good value for money ethos.

If you are seeking a large multi-national, this is not for you. If you are seeking a touch of the local life whilst exploring the local mountain range, cycling, visting the local Belfast Zoo, golfing at the local Fortwilliam, or even visiting friends and relatives in the vacinity, then this location is ideal.

It is only three miles from the hussle of the city centre, so a trip in does not cost an arm and a leg.

So... value for money and down to earth service... its worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    25
    19
    15
See reviews for
21
30
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon tyne
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

I recently stayed at the Lansdowne Hotel with a group of friends for the weekend and found this hotel particularly inviting and friendly. The rooms look like new and the main bar excellent with friendly staff, I particularly liked the view of the garden from the conservatory which had an inclosed childrens play area. We were also able to get discount on the rooms as we were with a group of people. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit Belfast for the weekend or even for business.

  • Liked — Clean and friendly
  • Disliked — not close enough to centre
  • Tips/Secrets — book early
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

This was terrible. The rooms look like they haven't been decorated in years - one of the castors on my bed was missing and the matress drooped alarmingly in the middle. The staff couldn't have cared. The duty manager told me that the General Manager wasn't available to deal with my complaint, but would investigate and get back to me. Nothing.

Breakfast was dissapointing and I was waiting almost 20 minutes before I could even place my order. there was someone asleep, and snoring in the dining room - turns out it was the chef!

Possibly the worst hotel experience ever - avoid like the plague.

  • Liked — Convenient Location for me
  • Disliked — Total lack of service or even civility from staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Go somewhere else
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2006

it was disgustingly untidy the food was horrendous and the staff were unpolite in a way i have never experienced.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2005

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and the rooms nicely decorated they even had an iron and ironing board! We were there for a wedding at Belfast Castle which itself is well worth a visit if only for the views. It was only a short bus ride to the city center. This hotel was excellant value for money.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, South Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2005

The staff were the best thing - friendly and helpful. If you check in on a Sunday there is no food after 5 so the only option is the Chinese adjacent (excellent but pricy) or a taxi into town. Be warned.

Breakfast disappointing.

The bathroom was definitely in need of an upgrade - all a bit sad and faded.

Reasonable value for money but next time I'll stay closer to the centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2004

The staff were disgraceful and accused us of having too many in our room which was completley unfounded.Took an hour to recieve our keys and yet they never apologised about the whole affair. Other guests were seen complaining about various other incidents. No respect for the paying customer.Would suggest staying in a caravan before this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Hotel

Address: 657 Antrim Road, Belfast BT15 4EF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iconic Lansdowne Hotel is now under the new ownership of Metro Inns.Situated in the picturesque Cave Hill area of Belfast just 3 miles from the City Centre and just a stone through away from some of Belfast's popular tourist attractions, with our newly refurbished bar and restaurant and conference rooms the Lansdowne Hotel meets the needs of business and leisure traveller alike. The private hotel offers free Wi-Fi has easy access to all major air, sea and land routes. The bedrooms provide everything you require for a stress-free and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfast Court Hotel Lansdowne
Lansdowne Court Hotel Belfast
Lansdowne Court Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.