We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel if you get the right room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lansdowne Hotel to your Saves list
Lansdowne Hotel
657 Antrim Road, Belfast BT15 4EF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Sittard, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel if you get the right room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed for a wedding party at the Belfast Castle in this hotel, which is at walking distance from castle. We got a room at the backside of the hotel on the second floor, which guaranteed a quiet sleep without much disturbance by the heavy traffic on Antrim Road or the noise of the music from parties on the groundfloor.. So , if possible, avoid to get a room on the first floor!
Our room was OK, but the the mattressses of the beds were not too good as you could feel its springs.
Breakfast was good and the hotel staff was friendly.
Dinner at the hotel was also good at an acceptable price level. In addition you can have dinner at the Chinese restaurant in the basement of the hotel. This chinese restaurant is excellent
There is a bus stop quite close to the hotel, whichs offers a connection with downtown Belfast every 10-15 minutes.

Room Tip: - Take a room at the backside and avoid to get a room above the bar/party saloon - Cheeck the quali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    25
    19
    15
See reviews for
21
30
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrenpoint, null, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I went here with my boyfriend for our one year anniversary.
The staff were really nice and the hotel was clean and modern, we were warned there was a party that night so it would be noisy which was good, didnt bother us though as we were out that night anyway.
When we got to our room, it was a bit dated looking compared to the other parts of the hotel. We were given a twin room so it was two beds, so we thought...ok we will move them together..well that was a no go because there was a cabinet between them that was glued down, so that was a bit dissapointing.
We had a really nice breakfast the next morning and the staff were really fast.
Over all it was a good stay my only problem was not being able to push the beds together if you wanted to.

Room Tip: Just be aware the hotel is 3 miles out of belfast so a taxi to and from the city centre will cost yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domfront, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed here a few times recently and the stay has been consistently good. Great value for money. Good clean comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. If you like Chinese food one of the best in NI is in the same complex, the Welcome.

Only drawback is lack of reasonable and affordable internet service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night 30th July the receptionist was pleasant on arrival and asked us if we wanted room service bar orders costs an extra 2 pounds to the room. The room was basic but nice value for money yes. The male night porter/ receptionist was really really nice and helpful gave us a take away menu at 12 m/n for a local chinese and rang in our order. The breakfast the following morning was o.k. All in all it's a budget hotel with nice staff. Would recommend as it's close to Belfast Castle and Belfast Zoo.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We had a great time staying here, big included breakfast in the morning, nice rooms, very friendly and helpful staff and a reasonable rate. Not that close to downtown but buses come by every 30 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I was in Belfast with my elderly Mother &Father in law and Sister in law as my Mother in law originally hails from there. Agter spending 2 nights in the city centre we decided to find somewhere quieter and we stumbled upon the Lansdowne.
We originally booked in for one night (Thurs). The staff couldn't have been more helpful especially with regards to my Father in law's age and frailty. They made sure our 2 rooms were close together and near the lift. In the evening we only wanted something light to eat but the bar was very busy so they let us sit in the restaurant but eat from the bar menu. Even then Dad di'dn't fancy anything on offer so the young waitress offered him the soup from the main menu which he loved. I had to have the Guinness and steak pie with champ which was fantastic.
Based on all this, as we made our way to bed we asked if we could book the next night. Again the staff were great and nothing was too much trouble..........
Friday night, Halloween party in the conference room (below our rooms), karaoke in the bar, bouncers on the door. At 11pm I rang down to reception to ask if we could be moved to another floor away from the noise but was told there were no other rooms. At 11.30 I rang down again to ask when the music would stop and I was told 1am. I asked if it could at least be turned down. 5minutes later I swear the volume was turned up. We gave up on sleep and read. 1am the music went off and we had to endure an hour of poeple milling around outside shouting and laughing.
When we went down the following morning I asked why we hadn't been told it would be like this when we booked in, the receptionist shrugged her shoulders and said she didn't know why she should!
To summarise, ok rooms very basic, staff helpful but no common sense, more a club/bar than a relaxing break.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

This is an older hotel just outside of Belfast - and probably half the price of the newer hotels in the city center. The staff is extraordinarily accommodating - they would get 5 stars for customer service. The hotel just needs a face-lift. As long as you don't mind outdated, it's a great value

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Hotel

Address: 657 Antrim Road, Belfast BT15 4EF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iconic Lansdowne Hotel is now under the new ownership of Metro Inns.Situated in the picturesque Cave Hill area of Belfast just 3 miles from the City Centre and just a stone through away from some of Belfast's popular tourist attractions, with our newly refurbished bar and restaurant and conference rooms the Lansdowne Hotel meets the needs of business and leisure traveller alike. The private hotel offers free Wi-Fi has easy access to all major air, sea and land routes. The bedrooms provide everything you require for a stress-free and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfast Court Hotel Lansdowne
Lansdowne Court Hotel Belfast
Lansdowne Court Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.