We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean. Very good in its way. More for business than pleasure?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mon Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Mon Hotel & Country Club to your Saves list
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Gransha Road | Castlereagh, Belfast BT23 5RF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Clean. Very good in its way. More for business than pleasure?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I didn't want to attend the event which led me to stay here for three days and that may have coloured my view but 'clean' is really the best thing that I can say. Not that 'clean' is bad, it's very good in fact.

The place is gigantic and feels soulless - it reminded me of the fake hotel run by Alexei Sayle as a front for his spying activities in 'Apocolypse Now'. When I was there the only obvious non-business guests were parties of pensioners who arrived by 'bus and who didn't seem to be enjoying themselves at all. Not all the staff were helpful and not all of the rooms were covered by a wifi signal.

In spite of that the hotel is generally fine: the food was fine, the room was fine, the conference room was actually quite nice by the standards of these places. The coffee and pastries during the breaks was very good.

This is somewhere I'd certainly consider if I was planning a conference or a corporate event, I'd also stay here if I was travelling on business but I wouldn't come here for fun.

Room Tip: Try not to be sent to the outer reaches of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    153
    53
    40
    22
See reviews for
217
217
9
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
enniskillen, n. ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here with hubby and son. You will definitely need a car is you want to stay in this hotel. Carpark is very spacious. Check in staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a good size, but quite cold. The radiator didnt work, but there was and electrial heater in the room. We had evening dinner in the resturant and it was lovely. Good value for money and the staff provided very good service. The resturant was extremely busy, but we werent keep waiting for too long. My son was provided with colouring pencils and paper to keep him entertained. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet. In the morning we went down to breakfast and the staff continued to be extremely helpful. The breakfast menu had a good selection. My son and husband used the swimming pool and they enjoyed their swim. This is the first hotel we have stayed in that hasnt got restrictions on when kids can use the pool, so it was a bonus.
Overall, we were happy with our stay. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. As it is a family hotel, they made my son feel very welcome and this made it more relaxing for myself and my husband.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed 5 nights with a Just Go coach party - one of two groups staying at the same time. Our room was spacious; the provision of clean towels every day is now poor environmental practice. The use of the pool was welcome. The wide choice at breakfast was good, but the staff could not keep up with the need for toast and fried eggs - while the queue waited the rest of the cooked items went cold on the plate. Three evening meals were three-course buffets with plenty from which to choose and adjust to appetites, but the other two evenings the dinners were three courses served to the tables: the starter was three tasters: a very small cup of soup, a cube of paté, and a.n.other; the main course was a slab of over-cooked chicken or tough beef, with roast potatoes as well as a splodge of mash, and rough chunks of unscraped carrots, swede, parsnips and a wilting asparagus; three small portions on a dish made up the dessert. The service was very slow by a disorganised 'team' of inexperienced youngsters. Wine by the glass was pricey. Weddings seem to be the core business; just our luck the first evening to have a high-decibel band the other side of a thin partition. Does this qualify for Four Stars ? Oh, and the dining room roof sprang a leak.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my 3 children and husband, would not recommend to anyone, firstly the reception staff where rude and seemed a bit too focussed on other areas to be conserned about customers. Secondly although my room was very clean,housekeeping daily restocked biscuits,tea and towels also helped me find my lost mobile phone under the mass of children toys. the roof seemed to be coming in on me as it dips down and has cracks all over it which have been painted (badly) trying to hide the fact a small lake lyes above it. I had been placed this room as 2 ajoining rooms which they let my 3 small children sleep in dangerously. I complained nothing was done. Health hazard to all. The room was shabby and outdated and very dark. Not 4 star infact my mothers decor in her house is probably more upto standard than this. Food was average and most of the waiting staff are very young. ( Easier paid ) please do not stay here. The city centre has more to offer. It has nothing for children no play park and just a big gravel car park.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hotel and the grounds were gorgeous, perfect for a marriage proposal.
Managing Director Francis Brady made our stay more spectacular with complimentary rose champagne and upgrade to bridal suite.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.We received 5 star service and will be looking here for our wedding venue

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Only stayed one night but will stay again, nice room good size for price ,cleanliness of room was very good , most of the staff were friendly, good food look out for there deals great value ,great leisure facilities and breakfast was excellent with good choices

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehead
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Went to our nephew's wedding yesterday, had a great day, very nice setting, room beautifully decorated, food excellent with nice time given between courses. The night entertainment was very good and the buffet was also very good

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mon Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mon Hotel & Country Club

Address: 41 Gransha Road | Castlereagh, Belfast BT23 5RF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mon Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mon Hotel is a superb 4 star venue, 15 minutes from Belfast City Centre. It is complete with a luxury Health club, including a 15m Swimming Pool, Gymnasium, Tennis Court, Putting Green, Beauty & Hair Studio. Moreover La Mon's 120 luxury bedrooms and Award Winning Cuisine offers the chance to escape the bustling city and retreat to an altogether more luxurious and informal environment. Perfect for a Family Break or a Romantic Weekend Away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Mon Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mon Hotel And Country Club
La Mon Country Hotel
La Mon Country Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mon Hotel & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.