We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tara Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tara Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 10% saving
Ranked #1 of 44 hotels in Belfast
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were more than satisfied with our stay at Tara Lodge. It´s a beautiful little B&B Hotel, the rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was really excellent (mmh the pancakes were the BEST!!) and the staff was always friendly and nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,036
    261
    42
    14
    16
See reviews for
142
735
95
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place is like a little gem tucked away yet still so close to all the nightlife in the Botanic area. There is off street parking provided which can be hard to find in other hotels in Belfast, this was a bonus for us. On arrival we were greeted by exceptionally friendly staff who maintained a high level of customer service throughout our stay. The room was very spacious and clean. There were nice features such as the iron board and a dvd player. The hotel is a 5 min walk away from loads of restaurants and bars yet it is not noisy at night. Breakfast is beautifully presented and really nice. Overall we had a great stay, and got good value for money compared to other chain hotels in Belfast who offer much less for a higher price. I would highly recommend this place and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermanagh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Can't fault our stay at the Tara Lodge in any way. On arrival Ricky greeted us and gave us a comprehensive chat on all aspects of the hotel, its facilities and our room location. Our Signature room was spotless and very comfortable. As other reviews have mentioned the bed was superb. Very comfortable. The bathroom and shower were spot on. We were told on check in that our room didn't have the coffee machine which we didn't really mind as there was tea and coffee making facilities but we were given a complimentary bottle of M&S cava in consolation! Much appreciated! We ate at the excellent Sakura restaurant in the evening and had a great nights sleep. Already mentioned how beautifully comfortable the bed was!!!. The breakfast menu is very comprehensive and we opted for a traditional fry which, again was excellent and the service was very attentive without being overbearing. That was us. Well rested and fed. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great hotel, in a central (slightly run down) area.

Stayed here with my fiancee on the 9th Feb for one night as we were going to a performance in the Lyric Theater close by. Warm and friendly welcome on check in, free car park on premises (although its small so get there early - I wouldn't want to park on street in that particular area of Belfast).

Rooms were comfortable with all the usual facilities. Good shower, comfortable bed and good sized TV with a DVD player at the bedside which is a nice touch.

Highly recommended, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swinton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel 31st Jan - 3rd Feb, 2013. Fantastic location, lots of restaurants and bars at end of the road. Dont be put off with appearance of surrounding student houses. The tara lodge is fantastic. Staff, rooms, location, breakfast choices amazing. Such lovely staff who are genuninely interested in you. Hotel is approx 10 mins walk into Belfast. Added advantage of car park. We walked and used the hop on off bus for touring. Will definitely go back again if ever in Belfast

Room Tip: We were on 1st floor at the back overlooking car park, room 9. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Tara lodge as a surprise birthday present from my boyfriend on 26th January 2013. Staff were lovely, bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up the next morning! Breakfast was nice, although I'm not a big breakfast eater but the other half enjoyed his! Would stay here again in a heart beat, everything is so close that you want for nothing :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff by the Sea, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The design of the rooms of this hotel is spot-on: clean lines, modern, light and so comfortable. The open shelves invite guests to use them: they do not have to fear forgetting their clothes & things in drawers since their belongings are visible yet well stowed. The service, especially at the reception desk, was proactively helpful. Highest marks go to the provision of large towels in the bathrooms: while there is an economic argument for small towels, the large ones provided here (and nowhere else, as far as I know) give comfort where it is most needed. This hotel is reasonably priced for the value and luxury it offers.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel, overlooking the car park, are quieter than the ones overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Family Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style city hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you’ll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer.Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tara Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.