We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camera Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Camera Guesthouse to your Saves list
Camera Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44 Wellington Park, Belfast BT9 6DP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
devon
1 review
“Very clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

I have just returned from staying 5 nights at the Camera House and although it was a time of sadness for my visit to Belfast, Peter made me feel very welcome and was most helpful.

The double room (with the usual tv, coffee/tea making facilities)was very comfortable and extremely clean, as was the dining room and if you wanted to relax outside of your room, there was a nice large lounge to sit in.

The breakfast was exceptionally good, with plenty of choice and the bacon was the best I have tasted for many a year.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Camera House to my friends or family and although maybe not as modern or as big as some of the lodge hotels, it made up for it in many other ways.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and good food
  • Disliked — Old chest of drawers
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    28
    22
    12
    23
See reviews for
19
37
25
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

The guesthouse is in a convenient location, not too far from the main bus station close to two bus routes and walkable to the city centre.

The twin room was simply decorated, but clean and adequate for the purpose of a short break. The plumbing made some rather odd noises, but the shower was fine.

The breakfast was fine, if not the most spectacular and was served in a very pleasant dining room.

  • Liked — Location and reasonable price
  • Disliked — Not a particularly pleasant view out back
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

The Camera House is ideally situated only a fifteen minute walk from the centre of Belfast. Our room was at the front on the first floor and was noisy as there was a big soccer match on the night we stayed. The room was fairly comfortable with an average shower. The B&B was clean but the decor was basic. You'd think with a name like the Camera House that they would have some interesting photographic memorabilia around - not so.
The cooked breakfast was nothing to rave about and was served in a pleasant room. The hosts were pleasant but were rarely seen. We stayed two nights. I think that we would look elsewhere if staying in Belfast again.
There are plenty of restuarants on the way into the city - we had a Thai meal (on the L.H.S of University Road / Dublin Road which is the main road into city central). You wont be disappointed with their food - excellent.
Several other must do's are: take a walk through the magificent Botanical Gardens (near the B&B) and visit the Crown Bar (also on the main drag (however the road changes its name to Bedford Street). Buy a beer in the gas lit hotel and sit in a "Snug". GREAT ATMOSPHERE !!!!!

  • Liked — Their location
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

Camera house is located in a leafy quiet street with ample on street parking if your planning to drive around Ireland. The downstairs rooms are lovely, and the breakfast is plentiful and tasty. We booked a double and a single, and I have to say the single room was not great value for money. It was tiny and had a sink which was great until i realised it caused a dripping sound that I couldnt stop, and kept me awake all night. The walls are thin, so if your neibough snores, you will hear them. It is a lovely spot, and some rooms are better than others, remember it is a budget place, and if you expect more than basic accomodation you better book elsewhere.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

After reading about this guesthouse in a guidebook and on this website, we decided to book it site unseen. It turns out we had no reason to worry.

It is located on a quiet street quite close to the university. It's a young neighborhood with lots of great restaurants within walking distance. It wasn't within walking distance to the train/ferry stations, but certainly an easy cab ride away.

The hosts were very nice, although we didn't see them very often. The rooms were clean and airy with great high ceilings. The breakfast room was a great place to start the day with a hearty meal.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

I stayed at the Camera Guesthouse during the World Irish Dancing Championships in March. Despite being extremely busy at the time, Bronagh and Peter were so hospitable and lovely to us during our time there that I have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone.

Our room was lovely, comfortable beds, the whole place was very clean and a had a great atmosphere and the breakfast was amazing!

The location is on a beautiful quiet street just near the Queens University. Its a fairly short 10-15 minute walk into the city and there are heaps of options for dining out really close to the Guesthouse too.

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

The rooms were adequate but the owners very unhelpful. 7 of us booked in to stay the first night as were running in the Belfast marathon. She asked us what time we'd be down for breakfast and we said 7am, as the marathon starts at 9am. She informed us that they don't start serving breakfast untill 7.30am. That was too late for most of us so we missed it. Two of us were booked in to stay for the second night. We were never informed about finishing times for breakfast. So at 9.10am we arrived down for breakfast and the owner informed us that breakfast is only served from 7.30am untill 9am. I asked if there's any way he could give it to us as we weren't aware of this and we were only 10 minutes late. But he said no way and wasn't atall nice about it.
I would strongly advise anyone to steer clear of this B&B. The city is beautiful, and full of great accomodation options. It's the first time I've ever been dissappointed with a B&B in the area.

  • Disliked — Owners
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camera Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camera Guesthouse

Address: 44 Wellington Park, Belfast BT9 6DP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camera Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camera Guest House is an authentic 19th-century Victorian building situated in the leafy suburbs of South Belfast. It takes its name from the many photographers who stayed here during the 'troubles' who wanted to avoid the bigger, easily-targeted hotels. Camera Guest House is a family-run business that provides a warm welcome and makes an ideal base for both leisure and business visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Camera Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camera Guesthouse Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camera Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.