We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and great value for money, if a bit far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camera Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Camera Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camera Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44 Wellington Park, Belfast BT9 6DP, Northern Ireland (Queen's Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and great value for money, if a bit far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Pros:
Staff were lovely, and the place overall was spotless. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful, and the hours during which it was served were reasonable. My single room had a sink, television, dresser, nightstand, and plenty of outlets. Fresh towels were provided, and were changed daily. Housekeeping also threw out trash, cleaned the sink, and made the bed. Noise from the road was minimal.

Cons:
However, the shared bathroom was abused by other guests (shower broken because they couldn't figure out how to use it), and the hallway floors in a building of that age are quite creaky. Doors are rather thin, as well. Well-served to the city center by the 9A/B/C bus, but rather a long hike on foot. Tesco superstore a 10 minute walk south, various convenience stores and restaurants nearby.

Overall, had a tremendously positive experience, and this will be my base on subsequent Belfast visits.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    26
    18
    11
    15
See reviews for
14
33
21
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
omagh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night in the triple room. Location is great (just away from the madness of the city centre, but still not too far) the place is warm, friendly and clean. My bed was great and i got a good nights sleep. No street noise or noise from other rooms. Hosts do their best to help you out (two of us went to bed and fell asleep, which left one of our party keyless, knocking at the door at 2.30am). Hosts didn't hold a grudge and were still as friendly as ever the following morning. The breakfast was fantastic, everything fresh, and just the right amount. Overall i thought this was an excellent place and could not recommend it highly enough. It promotes excellent value for money. Definitely going to bring my wife here next time we are looking for a cheap weekend break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very friendly staff, who were very hospitable. Good location, 15 minute walk to Belfast, and the surrounding area nice and quiet. Our room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom very clean. Breakfast made-to-order, with a good choice of non-cooked items also. Miriam reccomended nearby places to eat, and booked taxis upon request, exceptionally helpful and friendly, made us feel very welcome. Really good price for the location, level of service and quality of accomodation. Will definitely bear in mind for the future! Thankyou very much!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The perfect place to stay in Belfast for a weekend if on a budget. Decent sized room, very clean and an excellent breakfast. Probably the best value for money B&B in Belfast. Ideal location for University. Lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Our only complaint would be lack of places to put things in the Bathroom and the noisy toilet system. I visit Belfast often so Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Miriam was lovely - excellent arrival communication. Miriam even called our tour company to have us picked up to go to their location for our Giants Causeway tour. Excellent location for ourpurpose, very quiet and close to city center. Yummy breakfast, friendly staff. Miriam will help you with anything to make your stay great. She recommends wonderful places to eat that are close to walk. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Despite our late arrival, Miriam welcomed us into her guesthouse and we enjoyed a wonderful stay for 2 nights. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable with all the quirks of an older house. Breakfast made to-order - Miriam was most accommodating and the breakfast was wonderful. Lovely guest lounge as well. Will definitely be back! Thanks, Miriam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camera Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camera Guesthouse

Address: 44 Wellington Park, Belfast BT9 6DP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camera Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camera Guest House is an authentic 19th-century Victorian building situated in the leafy suburbs of South Belfast. It takes its name from the many photographers who stayed here during the 'troubles' who wanted to avoid the bigger, easily-targeted hotels. Camera Guest House is a family-run business that provides a warm welcome and makes an ideal base for both leisure and business visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Camera Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camera Guesthouse Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camera Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.