We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Made in Belfast Cathedral Quarter

Made in Belfast Cathedral Quarter
23 Talbot St, Belfast BT1 2LD, Northern Ireland
028 90244107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 778 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
belfast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Something Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 7 adults with 3 children celebrating a Birthday party and were overall very satisfied with our meals but disappointed with the children's menu there choice was burger , fish fingers or pizza all served with skinny chips which looked awful. Two of the children were 11 and 10 who would have preferred a mini version of what the adults had. The service was excellent and our waiter was very efficient. It felt a bit bizarre having your drink from jam jars but this is the essence of the place a lot of recycling and eclectic furniture . Would I come back here again? Maybe! The drinks are quite expensive and as for paying over £2 for a green tea which is in essence 1 tea bag and hot water think that is a bit much.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    123
    58
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Eclectic Belfast experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Good Northern Irish food in a simple, unpretentious environment. Try to count the number of furniture styles! Very good for lunch; slight downside was the very salty chips. Even so, I'd happily go back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Try it. You won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Friendly, welcoming staff make such a pleasant first impression at Made in Belfast, Cathedral Quarter.
The ambience is charming - a quirky interior adds to the general buzz of the restaurant. Don't forget to look up.
We started with cocktails (which took a while to come) but were great value for money at £3 on a sunday evening.
Wine was 'organic' which I thought might mean expensive and bland, BUT it was neither. Full bodied red cab sauv - every mouthful a joy.
Starter - pork and duck terrine - was bland. there was little flavour from the terrine, but the freshly baked roll, sprinkling of sea salt on the butter and little jelly cubes were all yummy - presentation was pretty too. Hubby had piri piri prawns which were much more successful with little light, flavoursome bites.
Main - I had the duo of venison and it was cooked to perfection. I requested my venison steak blue and it was. Thankfully ... as I send them back otherwise (fusspot)
I passed on pud, but my hubby had apple crumble which was huge and delicious in equal measure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fab food in a Fab Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I went here with colleagues from work for an evening out while we were in a conference in Belfast. there were 22 of us and they coped really well. Very friendly staff, The food was the best I have had in ages and the decor was really different
I would definitely recommend this restaurant to everybody

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An out of the way treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Found this lovely restaurant down what I would consider a side street away from the main city. It was a busy evening but they maaged to find us a table, nice friendly staff with efficient service. The food was certainly a treat and tasted absolutely lovely. Next time I am in Belfast I will definitely call again

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Made in Belfast Cathedral Quarter also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Made in Belfast Cathedral Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Made in Belfast Cathedral Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.