We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bistro in Belfast is no longer lonely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lonely Poet

The Lonely Poet
Kings Square, Kings Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland
028 90 401 248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 783 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Irish, Bistro, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistro in Belfast is no longer lonely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I was introduced to The Lonely Poet some years ago by a work colleague, and I enjoyed lunch there several times. However, recently it changed it's name to The Poet, dropping the 'Lonely', and I entertained a work colleague there to a lunch to celebrate his moving to a new position within the organisation.

The Bistro menu, served Monday to Friday, from 12 to 7 p.m., reads enticingly and we enjoyed the slow baked sticky buffalo chicken wings and the fish terrine as starters! For mains we enjoyed the Poet's farm house club (chargrilled chicken breast and thick bacon loin with sliced beef tomato, lettuce and creamy mayo, hand cut chips, salad and coleslaw) - which looked phenomenal! - and the Sea bass risotto (pan-fried fillet of sea bass on a chorizo and pea risotto) - which was simply 'divine'!

Overall, great location, great ambience, great service (from Pauline - thanks!), great food and great value! It is a firm favourite for me to treat friends and colleagues at lunchtime.

I heartily recommend this restaurant to all ... You will never feel 'lonely' at The Poet - the food will always be great company!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    41
    12
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the 'guys'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

On arriving for an impromptu meal around 7 pm we were greeted with 'You guys here for a meal?' - not to be taken aback we agreed and were promptly seated at a table for 2. We ordered Soup and Chowder. The soup was ok, but I was a little shocked when the chowder arrived - it was 'red'. Perhaps I hadn't read the menu properly I thought, but 'chowder' should also have meant that it was thick and creamy which it was not! A little disappointed to say the least.

We ordered the sweet pork with rice and the fish pie. The portions were big, but both were sadly lacking in flavour.

We did notice, however, that the most popular choices seemed to be the sizzling 'dishes', so perhaps we will have that the next time, if there is one.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePoetBarandGrill, General Manager at The Lonely Poet, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Sorry that you were taken aback when you were greeted at the door, it was maybe not what you expected, although you could not deny that it was friendly? what we try to achieve at The Poet is a warm friendly atmosphere that allows the staff's personalities come through, rather than making everything uniformed. I believe this to be unique and positive when it comes to our service.

The chowder that we serve is a chilli tomato and vegetable base, it does state this on the menu. We do have a lot of compliments about the dish but I can understand that if you were expecting something different that it may have put you off.

The Fish Pie and Hawaiian Pork are both very popular dishes and are usually well received but unfortunately they were possibly not to your taste? If you had let us know that you were not enjoying your meal fully we could replaced or amended you meal for you, we are always happy to oblige.

Although your experience with us was not what you had expected I really hope that you give us another go.

I would be interested in speaking with you about your visit, if you could contact me at 028 90401248 or info@lonelypoetbelfast.com it would be appreciatted.

Thank you
Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast,Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“1st Sunday Lunch at The Poet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Three of us had our Sunday lunch here and it was delicious! One had the 11/2 roast of chicken,one had the silverside roast and the other had the salmon each brought with all the trimmings! All perfectly cooked! Desserts were scrumptious!
Service was excellent,waiters were very helpful and friendly!
It certainly won't be our last time here!!
Would highly recommend!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePoetBarandGrill, General Manager at The Lonely Poet, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Really glad that you enjoyed you meal with us and look forward to accommodating on further visits.

Thank you
Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
“my 1st visit tothe poet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

the first time i was at the poet with a very good friend of mine we had the £15 specials all i can say was the meals were fantastic the service amazing and the atmosphere brilliant. as a visiyor to belfast i live in england i will most definatly be going back again. cannot praise it enough thank you everyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePoetBarandGrill, General Manager at The Lonely Poet, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Really pleased with your positive comments and glad we helped in making your trip a enjoyable one.

Thank you
Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“blah”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

whatever.....average food, average atmosphere, average service. overall a bit boring and ok for a drink or two before heading on somewhere else

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePoetBarandGrill, General Manager at The Lonely Poet, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Sorry that you thought your experience was average, hopefully if you come dine with us again you will have a much more positive experience.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your visit so if you could contact me on 02890 401248 of info@lonelypoetbelfast.com I would appreciate it.

Thank you
Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lonely Poet also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Bangor, County Down
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Lonely Poet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lonely Poet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.