We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Monaghan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights with our young daughter while attending an event in the Odyssey (which costs about £5 in a taxi from here). On first impressions the reception & bar area was clean & welcoming. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely; clean, modern & comfortable. There was a fold-out sofa-bed made up for our daughter which left it a bit tight for room at the desk, but this wasn’t really a problem. The shower was a lot better than other hotels I’ve stayed in. The car-park was a bit tricky as it was difficult to maneuver in and out of, especially as we have quite a large vehicle, however when I mentioned this to the reception staff I was told that their larger car-park is currently undergoing maintenance works. The breakfast was good, as nice as I’ve had anywhere else. Overall this was one of the best budget hotels we’ve stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

Thank you for your great comments, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that the location and rooms were everything that you needed. I am also pleased to hear that the staff were helpful and you enjoyed your breakfast. Our car park is under maintenance at the moment so our parking is unfortunately a bit limited. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    340
    137
    42
    36
See reviews for
182
236
32
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

opted for holiday inn express due to also staying with them in Scotland and Wales ,and in all those times not once have i had any reason to complain,rooms clean,tidy,and excellent,breakfast always excellent,varied choice, just cant complain......some will no matter how good you make things......prices not excessive......will always use them,wont go anywhere else

Room Tip: any your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am delighted to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay with us but with all the Holiday Inn Express' you have stayed in, we all aim to be a great place to stay. I also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and we had everything you needed to make your stay comfortable. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The rooms were comfortable enough and clean. A good location which is in reasonable walking distance to the city center. Breakfasts were good value with a range of foods offered. You can book the Hop On, Hop Off bus city tour tickets at reception and a smaller bus will come to the hotel and collect you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am pleased to hear that you found us good value and enjoyed your stay with us. I am also pleased to hear that the staff helped you with tickets for the City Sightseeing Tour and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as i attened a concert in Custom House Square and an event in the Odyssey Area, both of which are in walking distance. I also went to Victoria Squara Shopping Centre while i was in belfast, yet again walking distance from the hotel. Great Location! The Rooms were cosy and had all we needed. The breakfast was lovely and ran to a great time instead of finishig early on the weekend. The Staff were great and always offered to help in anyway they could. Anytime i will be back in belfast i will always stay here!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us in a convenient location for your trip. I am also glad that you enjoyed your breakfast, we love it that we can serve a full cooked breakfast until 12pm over the weekend! I will pass on your kind comments about the staff and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a weekend break to Belfast.
Room very comfortable, quiet & clean.
Breakfast acceptable, 24hr room service, ( pizza/wedges) good, liked the ice & vending machines.
Location good - bars in mostly student area walkable, taxi to Cathedral Quarter about £4.
Would definitely stay again if returning to Belfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and found our hotel to be clean and quiet. I am also pleased to hear that the location was convenient for you and you took advantage of the great area we are in. I hope we will see you again when you are next in Belfast.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We have stayed here on numerous occasions over the years and the service is always excellent and we have always enjoyed our stay.
This time mattress in our room was terrible, with a huge sag in the middle, we didn't notice until late that night, so we just put up with it.
When we first stayed here it would have been regarded as a budget hotel, the prices now however seem to have rocketed over the past 2-3 years. Our room including breakfast was £135.00 for the one night, as good as this hotel is, I don't think it is worth this.
I do still like this hotel, and the secure parking is a real bonus, and we are due to stay here again in October.After that however I would only stay here again if I were getting it at the base rate which I think is around £90.00

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am so pleased to hear that you experienced excellent service and you enjoyed your stay with us. There have been some big events happening in Belfast recently and this can mean an increase in room rates all over the city, however, we do have some great offers on our website. I will pass on your comments regarding the mattress as we are beginning to replace all the beds in the rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in October!

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Nothing special here but it was okay. Free parking but car park was a challenge to get in and out of without damage. It was end of July and hot, but no air conditioning or even a fan. Twin beds were terribly uncomfortable - felt like dorm room beds as another reviewer noted. No bottled water provided, and tap water did not taste good. Breakfast was fine. Internet was frustratingly slow and spotty. Staff was friendly but the gentleman who checked us in told me he was giving us a quiet room, and then proceeded to put us in one that faced on the busy street with lots of traffic and loud people until the wee hours. Facing the rear car park or the side alley would have been much quieter. Location not great. I do not believe it was a great value, given the negatives.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, do not take a room that faces the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do understand that it was warm in July, however, we do have fans available from reception. We are a 3 star property and so we do not provide bottled water in the rooms. I apologise for the disturbance caused by the street and hope this does not deter from booking with us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Belfast has fantastic and fascinating major tourist attractions and the Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is situated close to many of these including Ulster Museum, The Odyssey arena, Crumlin Road Gaol, Titanic Centre & Belfasts Botanical Gardens. The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter offers competitive rates, Complimentary car parking, Complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas & a traditional cooked buffet breakfast is included and served in the comfort of the Great room by our friendly staff from 7am until 10am. The hotel has 114 ensuite bedrooms which are attractively designed & offer flat Screen TVs, radio, telephone, free wifi, power shower, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There are six well equipped meeting rooms all located on the ground floor, seating up to 120 people. There is a bar & restaurant serving delicious food at great prices. Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter benefits from excellent transport links and The Great Victoria St bus & railway station is within 5 minutes, whilst the M1 & M2 motorways are also within short proximity. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the George Best City Airport & the International Airport & Ferry Terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.