We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Coffee Company

California Coffee Company
43 Arthur Street, Belfast BT1 4GB, Northern Ireland
028 9043 4340
Improve this listing
Ranked #445 of 782 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Southend-on-Sea
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had coffee here couple times last week while in Belfast, nice friendly atmosphere and the best bacon sandwich. Nice way to start the morning

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabulousCoffee, Manager at California Coffee Company, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks Darren G, great to hear you love what we do here in California Coffee, be sure to say hi next time you drop by.

See you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“California Dreaming in Downtown Belfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a lovely 'wee Place to visit, & right in the Heart of Belfast.
Even it's just for a quick coffee the staff are always the same, caring and very attentive to the customers wishes and needs.
There is such a variety of food on offer, and so it is very unlikely that you will leave California Coffee with a frown on your face.
It is now quite some time since first visited, and really 'get a Lift' when I walk in, the American styled Decor is refreshing to the eye, all matched up to great service, great food, & wonderful people.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabulousCoffee, Manager at California Coffee Company, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi Alexander M and WOW ! Thank you for an amazing review. All of us at California Coffee are smiling from ear to ear after reading it. We love what we do, we love to make people happy but most of all we really love hearing how much you loved it.

Please say hi the next time you visit.

From all the smiley crew at California Coffee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been here a few times for both lunch and coffee and I've never been able to fault it. The staff are lovely (even smiling when my indecisive friend changed her order after ordering!) and the service is always fairly fast, even though it seems constantly busy.

The menu is lovely and quite varied and their coffee, which they pride themselves on, is lovely, their cappuccinos in particular are very smooth

Recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabulousCoffee, Owner at California Coffee Company, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us newjerseysuccesstory, we love what we do and are delighted you do too. Hope to see you again soon !

From all of us at California Coffee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Good coffee from here. The food was a bit of a let down. Good options but the execution was below par. Ordered of few sandwiches/paninis and the filling was not what I was expecting. Having said that, friendly staff and a good location!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabulousCoffee, Owner at California Coffee Company, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi Borneouk27, thanks for reviewing us.

We are really happy you enjoyed our coffee, we put an amazing amount of effort into every cup. We are the only single location coffee house in the country to have our own, unique coffee blend.

Sorry to hear you where underwhelmed with your choice of food. We really do some great food and perhaps your choice wasn't best for you but we promise if you try us again you will discover why we have been so busy for the last 13 years.

We really look forward to seeing you again and convincing you that we really are the best in the city.

All the California Coffee team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Coffee Shop - But Charging Policy should be reviewed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I popped into this coffee shop yesterday lunchtime. Service was good, if a little rushed (girl raced us to our seats, and I could hardly keep up - whirlwind). Our bill came to £8.25 and I was then informed that, because I was paying by 'debit' card there was an sdditional 50p charge as the total bill was less than £10. For me, there are many other coffee shops that don't charge extra in such circumstances. Therefore, I must say that this soured the taste of the place for me, and I won't return. Sorry!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabulousCoffee, Owner at California Coffee Company, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
HI Nikonphotobro
We appreciate your review. We are a 100% locally owned business and proudly so. Sometimes being small is fantastic and other times it makes life a little more awkward such as the fees banks charge us to take cards. The 50p charge to use a debit card is something we didn't like but banks actually charge us a hefty fee plus a percentage to take them.

The GOOD NEWS is we have just completed a renegotiation with them and have at last eliminated the charge. WE NOW HAVE ZERO CHARGE TO USE CARDS FOR ANY AMOUNT.

We hope you will allow us to serve you again soon.

From all at Belfast's finest coffee house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Coffee Company also viewed

Holywood, County Down
Holywood, County Down
 
Holywood, County Down
 

Been to California Coffee Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Coffee Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.