We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, great apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, great apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We (husband, his son and partner, i.e. 4 adults) stayed in the Malone Lodge apartments for 2 nights. The apartment wasn't ready when we arrived at 12.30 but we were offered complimentary tea whilst we waited. We had a two-bedroomed apartment. Beds were comfortable; rooms were clean; plenty of towels, changed each day just as in a hotel room; clean, well-equipped bathroom and kitchen. "Continental breakfast" packs included, meaning juice, milk, butter, jam/margarine, a loaf of bread, and single-serving cereal packs. Large flatscreen TV also. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Lovely and quiet at night (no view from the bedrooms at the back, but who cares when you are sleeping?) We liked this, and would deifnitely stay here again. Very good value for money at £99 a night for 4 (i.e. £24.25 per person). It was perhaps a bit warm in the apartment, the wallpaper in the main room was a bit weird, and you have to pay for internet access, but no other negatives!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    220
    90
    42
    24
See reviews for
133
285
29
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

My wife and I travelled to belfast with some friends for some relaxation and some shopping. We decided to stay at the malone lodge hotel on the strength of the reviews on tripadvisor, well I am so happy that we did, from start to finish all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless and the beds were so comfortable, the breakfast on both days was excellent, we also had bar food and this too was lovely. We got taxi's from the hotel to the centre of belfast and within 5 mins of reception calling for a taxi they duly arrived..now that's service and only £4.50 for 4 people. The belfast taxi men are a fountain of information and very friendly, in fact everyone we met in belfast was the same. A special mention to John the barman in the malone lodge for the tips on where to go etc. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I have done so already.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

My husband and myself decided to stay in Belfast overnight and arrived at the Malone Lodge without a reservation. We were met by a lovely smiling receptionist who immediately made us feel welcome. She offered us a choice of suite or hotel room and brought us to see both. The suite was across the road in a renovated townhouse and had jacuzzi included, but we opted for the hotel room. We were most impressed. Our room was spotlessly clean adn sparkling, huge with a table and two armchairs, a writing desk, big double wardrobe, trouser press and iron, hairdryer, and a ahospitality tray with a little kettle and tea and coffee.
The bathroom was very big, well equipped and clean.

The bed was one of the most comfortable and warm I've ever slept in, and there were plenty of pillows.

We opted for a meal in the lounge that night and had a wonderful meal, with the same friendliness and hospitality shown to us.

Next morning we enjoyed a full breakfast, with plenty of refills of tea, and toast.

Congrats to the management and staff for getting it just perfect!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed here for three nights during a family touring holiday of Ireland and Scotland. We prefer self-catering or aparthotels as we like the flexibility, and we were very pleased with the Malone Lodge. We stayed in one of the apartments in an annexe - ie a large converted terraced townhouse - next door to the main hotel itself. Generously sized rooms; good beds and bathroom; well-equipped open-plan kitchen/living area with oven, hob and grill, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwave; satellite TV. We cooked a full meal one night and ate bar meals in the hotel itself on the other two nights, where the prices were not too bad and the food quality and quantity was excellent. There are plenty of local shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants within a few minutes' walk if you'd prefer to go out, and the hotel itself is in a wide tree-lined street with plenty of free onstreet parking outside. We walked into the city centre on the Sunday morning, a nice walk which took us about half an hour. A good tip is to take the open-top city bus tour, which takes you round all the sights and actually passes the door of the Malone Lodge on its return trip, where they are happy to let you out. We'd certainly stay there again on another visit to Belfast.

  • Liked — Everything we expected and needed
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

As I regular visitor to Belfast and normally staying at the likes of the Europa and Radisson, I decided to give the Malone Lodge a try as it was closer to the Kings Hall for business purposes.

Myself and a colleague arrived in Belfast early after sailing overnight, somewhat disheveld and tired we arrived at the Malone Lodge around 10.30am. Fully understanding of the fact that we would be too early to check-in to our rooms we checked in anyway and as we had to be ready for a full and very busy day, we nipped into the toilets to get changed. Caira (one of the hotel staff, sorry I didnt get chance to find out your job title)saw us struggling and immediately dashed off, returning a minute later with a room card and assured us the the other room would be ready shortly and would be next door.

That was customer service going the extra mile and for two female business women having had a long and tiring journey it was very very welcome.

We will certainly be returning to this hotel on our next visit to Belfast. The warm reception was second to none and the rooms, both public areas and bedrooms were very well maintained and thoroughly clean.

My only gripe was the breaksfast and the room it was served in. Not a brilliant choice for a 4 star, although it was adequate.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

Stayed at the Malone Lodge for 1 night on a business trip. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, and took me to my room, which was in the "suites" block over the road opposite reception. The room was a double, but was very large, with a huge bathroom with jacuzzi and walk in shower that all looked very new. The receptionist said the room had been recently refurbished.
The room was very comfortable, with tea and coffee supplied, along with slippers and a robe. Bed very comfortable, and the room was quiet (I think there were only a couple of other people in the whole building though). There was a safe in the wardrobe.
Gripes? None really - the water pressure in the shower was a bit low, but that's all.
Breakfast was included and very pleasant with a buffet and hot menu. I had the Irish breakfast which was very nice.

All in all a nice, friendly hotel. I gather from friends in Belfast they do a lot of weddings, and that it gets raucous at the weekends, but whilst I was there it was peaceful and welcoming.

  • Liked — The peace - and the bed!
  • Disliked — The poor water pressure in the shower
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

Hotel lovely, room big (executive) double and single beds, very clean. Nice bathroom. The check in was excellent. We asked to top up our bottles for baby at the bar, and they brought us a complimentary pint of milk. I asked for ice, extra pillows and towels, all brought to our room within minutes as well.

We had room service for dinner....was BRILLIANT, one of the best meals i've had in ireland!

Our only problem was we were located above the bar on first floor, and we could hear chairs being moved all night, very loud.
That wouldnt prohibit us from staying there again, just will make sure we werent above the bar.

Breakfast OK, plentiful, lots of extras.

  • Liked — customer service
  • Disliked — noise from bar under our room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Address: 60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Business Hotel in Belfast
#11 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover tranquility and a welcoming Irish Hospitality at the award winning Malone Lodge Hotel, Apartments & Suites which is situated in the peaceful, leafy suburbs of the Queen's Quarter of South Belfast, just minutes from the city centre. The four-star Malone Lodge is one of Belfast's finest boutique townhouse hotels with recent awards including : GO BELFAST Hotel of the Year; Northern Ireland Wedding Venue of the Year; AA Rosette in our Green Door restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelBookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malone Lodge Hotel And Apartments
Malone Hotel Belfast
Malone Hotel Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.