We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a great stay at the Malone Hotels apartment in Belfast Queens university area.
Lovely quiet hotel, very attentive and pleasant staff
The apartment had all amenities of high quality needed from well equipped kitchen with cutlery, pots pans, gas cooker, microwave, small dining table to a lovely bedroom with king-size bed and on-suite bathroom.
a very comfortable stay. If you did not feel to use the kitchen, you could go to the Malone Hotel's own restaurant THE KNIFE and Fork which was also very reasonable in price and the food and service was as much tasty.
I would stay there again

Room Tip: The rooms are large and offer all amenities required for a comfortable stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi DavidPK101,
It is great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide all that you needed in your apartment. Our guest’s satisfaction means everything to us and we strive to be exceptional every day. The feedback that you have provided is excellent and really drives us to be our very best here in the Malone Lodge Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to review the Malone Lodge Hotel and the Knife and Fork restaurant, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    220
    90
    42
    24
See reviews for
133
285
29
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brit in St Albans
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed as a family of 4 in one of the two bedded apartments next door to the main hotel. The apartment was like a small flat and highly recommended for a family of up to 5. Good value including free wifi.
Best thing though about Malone Lodge was the service at the front desk. Every time we needed their help they exceeded expectations. It is obviously important in setting the tone for your stay and our experience of friendly and efficient service from 4 or 5 different members of staff over the weekend is the reason I'm writing this now.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Sully47,
We believe in the Malone Lodge Hotel that consistency of service is key to our success. With the variety of different accommodation we have to offer we hope to cater to all types of clientele but always provide an exceptional experience. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the team here have given you exceptional service. We cannot wait to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I can't believe our apartment here cost us only £20 less than a room at a low budget hotel. The place was like a good sized flat. The rooms are well decorated and the kitchen had everything from gas cooker to spoons and waiting for is in the fridge was fresh milk! The hotel itself is also superb. We were so shocked on arrival at how beautiful the place was given the low price. The staff are fantastic and it's the first place we have stayed that there wasn't a single noise the entire night. We booked online (3 couples) and on the morning we were due to stay one of the party received a call from
The hotel as the apartment they had booked had been left a mess by the previous people so my friends were upgraded to an executive room in the hotel with complimentary breakfast and an hour later check out, which was fantastic. We arrived at 3 to check in and had a bit of a wait as the room wasn't ready, the receptionist advised us to wait because our apartment was one of the luxury ones (and it was). The 3rd couple had already checked in and were shown to their apartment and returned shortly after as they were told they had been given the wrong one and had to wait 30 mins for another one but were also given a better apartment. So all in all a little bit of mix up at the beginning but everything after was great. My husband and I will 100% be back and will recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Wickedbambi,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Malone Lodge Hotel. I am really pleased that you found our “little gem” in the city so great! We are working on our check in time and also the slight delay in checking in on busy days and hopefully when you come to stay again this will certainly not be an issue. Thanks again for the positive feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Hi to all at Malone lodge
just dropping you a line in regards to my recent stay at your hotel.
On arrival your reception staff were outstanding. We were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome, as if we were old friends for a long time (this is the 1st time I've stayed with you)
The guy on reception (sorry didn't catch his name) was extremely helpful he used extremely effective questioning to ascertain if we needed a taxi later and if we needed a table for dinner which he arranged both for us, then proceeded to explain the internet access process for our devices before giving us our room keys and bidding us an enjoyable stay
later we dined in your restaurant where we were looked after by Emma. Again we were treated like old friends with a warm and friendly service. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she served us attentively. The meal was delicious just a shame we didn't have time for desert as we were attending a concert at the odyssey.
On arrival back to the hotel we were greeted by Emma finishing her shift and instead of running out of the door as I would at the end of a working day Emma took the time to stop with us and ask about the concert and did we enjoy it etc. The bar man was closing up and advised us we could sit in the lobby and enjoy our drinks there was no rush and if we had wanted another drink it was no problem from the night porter
The rooms were nice and modern toasty warm, clean and comfortable
Room service for breakfast was great
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay from start to finish your staff are wonderfully warm friendly and attentive and I will definitely be returning and recommending
Thanks Malone lodge :)
Kinds regards
Emma holland

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Emma,
It is with great pleasure that I read this review. Everything that we strive for in the Malone Lodge Hotel has been achieved in your review, from the warmth of welcome at reception, to the great food in the Knife & Fork restaurant and also great friendly and caring service from the team. I cannot wait to pass on this review to all the team and be able to show how this exceptional service can really make a guests journey special. We hope to see you again soon in the Malone Lodge Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed for one night to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. Had booked 'a night of indulgence' which included executive room and dinner. We were upgraded to a suite and there was a card and the room decorated with The Big 50 banners. Dinner was excellent and the dessert for my husband was decorated with Happy Birthday.
The staff went out of their way to make this a very special evening. The room and the food were lovely and I would recommend a visit if you are in Belfast.
Incidentally I lost an expensive bracelet which I suspected May have fallen down the plug hole in the bathroom.
I checked out of the hotel and was reassured by the lovely Rachel at reception that she would arrange a member of maintenance staff to check for me.
Within 2hours of leaving the hotel, Rachel phoned me to say that it had been found in the pipe in the bathroom. The moral of the story is not to leave your jewellery around a sink!
I am very grateful to the staff at Malone Lodge for helping me in my moment of crisis and would definitely encourage a stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Janice ,
I am so glad that we were able to make your stay special. We aim to get the little details right for all our guests and as we were aware of your special occasion we could provide a personal touch. I was also aware of the missing bracelet and that Jonny (maintenance) was able to get it from the u-bend, success! I will be sure to pass on your wonderful feedback to all the team especially Rachel and Jonny. We hope to see you again soon in the Malone Lodge Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

situated about 1 mile from city centre and close to queens university, ideal for a quiet vacation. found the the hotel to be of very good quality with excellent staff who were warm and knowledgable. Dined in the restaurant on one night, it was good but not spectacular. Rooms were large andcomfortable. Would visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi tomandbridie,
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. I will be sure to pass it on to all the team and hope to see you here at the Malone Lodge Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on business. Service pleasant but seemed to be going through the motions.

Bedroom clean and more than adequate but room was overly warm even with window open. Resulting in a poor nights sleep. I'd equally echo others comments about the lack of sound proofing. Glad it wasn't busy on the night I stayed.

Evening meal was again just average. Rib eye steak was rough and lacked flavour, that's a first and one I won't want to repeat, but to balance that criticism the salad was excellent and huge. Restaurant service was again just average.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Madaboutfooooood,
I am sorry to hear that you thought the food and service to be just average. Here at the Malone Lodge Hotel we strive to provide an exceptional experience to all our guests and on this occasion you did not have this experience. I will be sure to go back and look at our steak quality and also the service training we provide to all of our team to ensure we get it right for all our guests and work on areas that are maybe lacking. Thanks you for your constructive feedback, hopefully we will see you back again and you will notice a great improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Address: 60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Business Hotel in Belfast
#11 Family Hotel in Belfast
#17 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover tranquility and a welcoming Irish Hospitality at the award winning Malone Lodge Hotel, Apartments & Suites which is situated in the peaceful, leafy suburbs of the Queen's Quarter of South Belfast, just minutes from the city centre. The four-star Malone Lodge is one of Belfast's finest boutique townhouse hotels with recent awards including : GO BELFAST Hotel of the Year; Northern Ireland Wedding Venue of the Year; AA Rosette in our Green Door restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malone Lodge Hotel And Apartments
Malone Hotel Belfast
Malone Hotel Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.