We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Longford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We arrived at the hotel much earlier than check in time as we wanted to see as much of the city as possible in the short space of time we had, we were not expecting to be able to check in but were very pleased when we were checked in and given a room within 20 minutes of arrival. The receptionist was lovely and offered tea or coffee while we waited. We were given an executive room which was lovely and spacious. We were a little worried as our room was at the front of the hotel right over the top of the bar, but we needn't have worried, you couldn't hear any noise from the bar or reception even on the Saturday when there was a wedding in the hotel!
Breakfast was great, especially the pork and leek sausages!
All the staff in the hotel were incredibly friendly and approachable.
Great free Wifi in the hotel also.
The hotel is ideally located, just a short walk in to the city centre, and a tour bus even stops right outside the front door!
Would definitely stay again next time we are in Belfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Malone Lodge Hotel and Apartments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our Hotel, great location and our great team here met your exceptions. At Malone Lodge Hotel and Apartments we continuously strive to deliver a high level of service and it's great you feel this was achieved. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    192
    81
    37
    22
See reviews for
114
257
26
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at the Malone Lodge to celebrate my birthday. I mentioned this when booking and was touched to find a fruit platter and birthday card awaiting me in our enormous room. We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package. The food in the restaurant was superb, and the service was attentive, polite and friendly without being overbearing. Although there was a wedding, this did not disturb us at all. The room was really comfortable with an enormous bed. The bathroom had a walk in wet room and a large, deep bath. Everything was outstanding until breakfast, and that's where it all went wrong. Appalling service, a long wait for 'hot food' that was luke warm, tables not cleared... a real let down. When we mentioned this at check out we were thanked for bringing it to the hotel's attention and told that it would be followed up on, so we left feeling good about our stay. I'll definitely be back next time I feel like a treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Hotel. We are very pleased that our team at the hotel ensured that you were looked after. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations and we let you down. From your feedback we have been actively retraining our staff on how to deliver the perfect breakfast again thank you for it and we hope to see you again in the Malone Lodge Hotel and Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Malone Lodge is my favourite hotel in Belfast and I have tried a few, some of which have been found wanting. I like the atmosphere at this hotel and the staff are always welcoming. The standard of the rooms is very high and the recent renovations have improved the accommodation both for functions and the public rooms. It gives excellent value for money and I can recommend it without any reservation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We're so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here in the Malone Lodge Hotel and Apartments and we do hope to see you again in the very near future. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful stay! We arrived really early to check in and just figured if our room was not ready, we could at least drop off our bags. The girl at reception was wonderful and kind and treated us to complimentary tea while we waited for a room to be ready. My husband and I enjoyed the lobby environment and were very pleased when we got our room as it was clean and comfortable. The cookies with tea and coffee in the room made for a lovely experience. The view of the surrounding neighborhood was pleasant. We used public transportation and it was only a five minute walk to the bus. We booked a Giants Causeway tour and they picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel door and knew exactly where we were staying by the hotel name. We dined in the deli and restaurant and the food and staff were fantastic! Overall fantastic accommodations and staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We're so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here in the Malone Lodge Hotel and Apartments and we do hope to see you again in the very near future. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here recently with a large group of girls and was very impressed with the recent renovation and the friendly, attentive staff. Rooms are modern and spacious. Bathrooms are a good size. Knife and fork restaurant does amazing food. Definitely will be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Malone Lodge Hotel and Apartments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our Hotel, great location and our great team here met your exceptions. At Malone Lodge Hotel and Apartments we continuously strive to deliver a high level of service and it's great you feel this was achieved. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights there with our 18 months old daughter.
At check-in we were offered to stay in one of the apartments opposite the main hotel since a wedding was taking place and it could be noisy at the bar and in the reception room until 1AM.
We decided to stay in the main hotel and were not bothered by the noise.
The baby cot arrived later but the staff was not able to set it up properly (as it was old and broken) so they offered to get another one from a nearby hotel.
We eventually managed to sort it out and did not need the other cot in the end.
The room was spacious and clean but teh bathroom was very smelly.W
We notified the reception the morning after and it was all taken care of in the afternoon while we were away.
Overall nice hotel and helpful staff. Our room was not part of the recently refurbished one but it was ok. Probably a bit expensive for that kind of room but I don't know what it's like in other hotels in Belfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback as this enables us to improve standards and provide guests with the best possible service and a comfortable stay. Thank you for telling us about the issues with the bathroom and cot, these issues will be seen to immediately as we work to improve our hotel standards. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Was told that this place did a great Sunday lunch. To my disappointment the Sunday lunch was not up to hotel standard of food and expensive for what was on the plate. The beef was very tough and the service was VERY POOR and SLOW. I ordered desserts and we never received them. Not one staff member came to the table to inform us that they had forgotten to order the desserts. We had to get up and pay and tell them we never received are desserts. Overall I was very disappointed with the service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience with us. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of the Knife & Fork Grill & Deli. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the team at the Hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Knife & Fork Grill & Deli in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Address: 60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
#14 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#20 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover tranquility and a welcoming Irish Hospitality at the award winning Malone Lodge Hotel, Apartments & Suites which is situated in the peaceful, leafy suburbs of the Queen's Quarter of South Belfast, just minutes from the city centre. The four-star Malone Lodge is one of Belfast's finest boutique townhouse hotels with recent awards including : GO BELFAST Hotel of the Year; Northern Ireland Wedding Venue of the Year; AA Rosette in our Green Door restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malone Lodge Hotel And Apartments
Malone Hotel Belfast
Malone Hotel Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.