We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be great once the refurb is finished!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Save Saved
You added Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 44 hotels in Belfast
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Will be great once the refurb is finished!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at the Malone Lodge Apartments which was fine. It was really nice to have a lounge, kitchen etc as we were over in Northern Ireland for the best part of a week. The bed was comfortable and the shower great!

The restaurant was closed due to a major refurb in the hotel itself but we were provided with breakfast packs which were fine for purpose.

My only gripe is due to the contractors vans taking up up the large majority of the upper and underground car park, we had serious issues with parking. The local streets are always chocka block with cars so you need to ensure that, if you're driving, the works are finished before you go. If the refurb is still happening, you will really struggle to park.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and I really feel for them having to carry on working in the middle of what was essentially a building site. So much building dust!

All in all it was a good stay, but as I have said. Once the refurb is finished I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    179
    71
    29
    21
See reviews for
104
234
21
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed in the ML a few times... actually... I have never stayed in the hotel itself... but in their annex across the road. They have the best value apartments in B'fast!

Clean, good size, good value and great location. I am a light sleeper and love the quiet. Only gripes are the light in the bathroom has a sensor and everytime I went past the door it clicked on etc. Also the curtains in the bedroom aren't measured correctly and do not meet in the middle... so light pours in early in the morning... but I used a hair clip to sort that one out.

Room Tip: Make sure to grab an apartment across the road... I love the independance and privacy of being able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in the Malone Lodge, in one of their appartments, over Christmas. I have no complaint about the accommodation, which was excellent value and is very well located, or about the staff. What I was really disappointed about was their offering on Christmas Day. They charged £70 per head for a meal that would barely be acceptable in a pub carvery, and which was served in a dismal, windowless function room which had hardly even been decorated for Christmas. The tables and chairs were squeezed in, and the "festive atmosphere" was hardly enhanced by the stainless steel portable bain-marie from which the soggy vegetables were served. We had booked for a late sitting (4 PM), which turned out to have been a mistake, as we confronted a pillaged starters buffet and side dishes that were running out. No apology was made for the fact that one of the main courses, roast beef, was at this point a withered, unappetizing morsel. We also had the delightful sight then of staff clearing dishes and napkins into black plastic sacks while we ate. I have also had Chistmas dinner in the Hilton in Belfast - the same price, but in a different league as regards the quality of food and surroundings. I know where I'd be booking next time if I ever spend Christmas in Belfast again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed here several times now, there is an interesting and eclectic set of "rooms". Last stay at the begining of December I was in an executive suite which was vast and very comfy. It was actually the smallest of the rooms I've stayed in here. I have also stayed in one of the suites in the building across the road and one of the apartments that are down the street a little way. Both of these give you plenty of room to spread out and would be more than suited to a small family. The staff are excellent. There's just the right amount of chit chat without it becoming overbearing. Food is decent enough (I felt that drinks were over-priced but have no comparison with other Belfast outlets). Tempted as you might be by a full breakfast, you should try the porridge. It is quite remarkable. My only grumble would be that the hotel charge for use of wi-fi. I know that many hotels do this but as a business user it annoys me no end.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is our fourth visit to this hotel this year and I continue to find it a lovely place to stay. The food is beautiful, in both the bar and restaurant and breakfast is always a feast to behold. I am starting to notice the hotel is getting a little worn around the edges but a big renovation is about to commence so hopefully the décor and rooms will get the freshen up which is urgently required. Always clean beyond belief. Compliments to housekeeping. Staff always so friendly and make you feel very welcome and nothing is a problem. On our last visit we were in room which had obviously had been painted, gloss paint and heat don’t marry very well and without hesitation we were moved.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in the apartments over Christmas while visiting family. When we arrived there was all the things you would need for breakfast even milk and orange juice in the fridge and a loaf of bread.
The bedrooms were comfortable and the two bathroom were very clean. It was nice to have a living room to come back to and just chill.
You could park your car under the apartments but it was a bit tight.
It is in a location that is close to the city centre of Belfast and has many palce to eat and shop nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Booked a function room here for a family gathering. The hotel staff were excellent and extremely helpful, the food, which was soup and sandwiches was tasty. The booking was extremely well priced. Hotel overall was clean and tidy. Would used the hotel again for a similar function.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Address: 60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#14 Business Hotel in Belfast
#14 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#19 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover tranquility and a welcoming Irish Hospitality at the award winning Malone Lodge Hotel, Apartments & Suites which is situated in the peaceful, leafy suburbs of the Queen's Quarter of South Belfast, just minutes from the city centre. The four-star Malone Lodge is one of Belfast's finest boutique townhouse hotels with recent awards including : GO BELFAST Hotel of the Year; Northern Ireland Wedding Venue of the Year; AA Rosette in our Green Door restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malone Lodge Hotel And Apartments
Malone Hotel Belfast
Malone Hotel Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.