We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietly impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stormont Hotel to your Saves list
Stormont Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   587 Upper Newtownards Rd, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Staffordshire, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Quietly impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here on business during the G8 and overall was impressed by the hotel.

Positives- The staff were professional and polite and the hotel was very clean and modern.
The rooms were good quality with excellent bathroom facilities with decent bath and shower with good water pressure.
Bar service was good and quick and staff made you feel welcome.

Negatives- Quality of breakfast was not brilliant although acceptable but service could have been better. Some mornings you would order poached eggs and they would never arrive.
The hotel also does not do a lunchtime menu in the bar or reception area and we could not get any food at all on Fathers Day despite being paid guests at hotel because they were full with bookings from outside. I did not think this was acceptable considering we had paid a lot to stay here.
Hotel advertises a fitness suite etc however it does not have one and it was removed sometime ago. It is a 30 min walk to a local gym you can use through the hotel. Don't be fooled by this advertisement.

However overall very good and I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Great feedback thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    164
    66
    33
    20
See reviews for
59
134
43
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

we stayed in the stormont hotel and was a excellent place to stay. The beds were soooo confortable. The decor of the hotel was very nice and the staff were excellent in helping us get around our first time in belfast, the bar girl seen us playing cards while drinking and when at the bar i said im not sure of the rules to go fish we are prob just making them up, after getting our drinks she went off printed the rules of the game and handed them to us, sums up the little extra things they would do. WIFI free in the lounge, Right on the gates of stormont so great location form the city centre and Titanic Quarter etc. overall very good place to staty

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for the review great feedback I have passd onto staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed here last week on a business trip. Location literally at the gates of Stormont, Plenty of free parking which is great. Checked in to on of the City rooms. My key didn't work so I made my way back to reception and the gentleman kindly checked my key and also escorted me back to the room. Which is nice rather than just sending you back with another key. They only fault I have with the city room is that the only window you have in the room is looking out through a main hall and at another window looking outside. Which in fairness lets in light but there is a privacy issue if people are walking down the hall. But to be fair all hotels were very busy in the city that night so was happy with what I got. Had a drink at the bar and a meal in the bistro downstairs. Food was very nice scampi for starter and then a burger. Was not left wanting for more. The staff in the restaurant we're very nice and helpful. Had an early night and slept fine. Didn't have breakfast because I was still full from dinner the night before. Only bad thing was you have to pay for Wi-Fi.. Should be free in all hotels these days. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments
Glad you enjoyed your stay and the dining experience.
Our free wifi is only in public areas or executive rooms.
Why don’t you upgrade to an executive room on your next visit.
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was a perfect hotel for relaxing, amazing landscape, all staff are so so so friendly, i love to visit it again for sure, In general taht hotel was excellent. I had a business trrip there, i like the gardens around the hotel, green is everywhere. conferences hall was nice, hotel style is most beautifull thing, i love classical style in all things. I think if you are faced with the opportunity to visit Belfast, you must visit this hotel and enjoy with the great location.

Mohammed Al-Sayed

Room Tip: just find that rooms front of the the big garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for posting your review I really appreciate the comments.
Hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This is avery nice hotel just outside the gates of Stormont itself. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the food was very nice. There's even a bottle of Bushmills Whisky next to the porridge at breakfast so you can have a wee dram mixed in! My room was an executive one and it was very nice and spotlessly clean. The bed is massive and you get free wi-fi with the upgrade rooms. Three very small issues, there is no air conditioning and these rooms look like they have just been refurbished which would have been an ideal time to fit it. As a result the rooms are very hot so you have to open the windows which, if you are at the front of the hotel is a real problem. Why? because every morning coaches turn up very early to pick up tourists, the drivers don't appear to know how to turn the engines off so its very very noisy. There is also a lot of noise from people outside on a night smoking and carrying on because they've had a few drinks, not an issue if you can stand to close the windows. Also they still say in the room brochures that they have a gym, which they do not. You can go to the David Lloyd one free which is excellent and the best gym i have ever been to but it is 30 mins walk away.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for writing your review
Great feedback about staff, bedrooms and food.
Sorry the coaches are noisy in the mornings for about 10 minutes or so before they leave.
We don’t normally get overly hot weather so air con has not really been an issue but it is something we will look at.
Glad you enjoyed David Lloyd gym it is great.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed in the hotel over the weekend while attending a local wedding. The hotel looks amazing and the service is first class. I really can't sing the praises of Norman and his staff enough. The bedrooms were lovely and the food in La Scala was excellent- in particular the pork. Breakfast again was superb. Would recomend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Belfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Great to see you again so glad you enjoyed your stay.

See you again soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This is my 4th stay with the Stormont, it's fair to say I'm a fan! Rooms are very pleasent and have all the facilities to make my stay relaxed and comfortable: tea/coffee, hair dryer, iPod dock/alarm clock, decent flat screen telly. In particular the furnishings are super, lovely beds and pillows plus a large shower. Food is worth every penny, it's really great quality-pork duo is fab. The staff deserve a mention, on every visit they have been especially helpful and friendly. The Stormont is opposite a lovely park, if you like a stroll its a couple of miles to the parliament building and back. It is on a main bus route, probably a little too far to walk to the pubs-that said I find the location perfect for my needs. Free and ample parking-110% happy customer, I'm sure I will be booking again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks for the great review really appreciate it.
hopefully see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Address: 587 Upper Newtownards Rd, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Belfast
#20 Business Hotel in Belfast
#21 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stormont Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 110 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. Guests can make use of the fitness suite within the hotel or enjoy complimentary use of the David Lloyd Centre nearby. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stormont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.