We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stormont Hotel to your Saves list
Stormont Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   587 Upper Newtownards Rd, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed for night this week on business. A nice hotel, good sized room with a very, very large king sized bed!! Bathroom nice, room very nice, breakfast first class. Was tired so didn't eat downstairs, picked up a local chinese meal and a bottle of wine and retired to watch tv instead. Only wee complaint, the room was warm on arrival and even though I turned that radiator off, the room was a tad warm all night.

Would I stay again? Most definitely, very good value for £75 B & B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for posting your review glad yopu enjoyed your stay. Try La Scala on your next visit the food is great .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    161
    62
    29
    20
See reviews for
57
130
43
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night B&B. Plenty of free parking. Warm and welcoming reception, nice big lobby area with open fire and armchairs. Staff were lovely and helpful. Rooms were very good and spotlessly clean. Bathroom excellent with nice fresh white towels, facecloths and toiletries and the little duck as mentioned by a previous contributer - nice touch. I think our room was completely refurbished, fabulous comfortable bed. It was just great, except for one little thing. A small table to sit at (probably not supposed to have one)- we found one in the hallway and helped ourselves. We decided to eat in the La Scala restaurant as they have a permanent deal on from 5-7 every evening for £15 p.p. for 2 courses and a glass of wine, and you can upgrade to a bottle of wine for £5 extra- which we did and it was a nice quality Chardonnay.(from a selection on offer) The food was excellent and very well presented. Great access for sightseeing. Will stay again if in Belfast. Free internet please. All hotels have it now!

Room Tip: I asked for a room near lift. Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Great review thank you so much and we now have complimentary WIFI in public areas and 3rd floor executive rooms .
Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very nice hotel excellent helpful staff very nice breakfast highly recommended would use again.
For travellers wanting to use Belfast City Centre it's perhaps a bit out and will cost £8 to £10 for a taxi in to the city centre and perhaps if this is your intention The Europa which is also equally good is more convenient

Room Tip: All rooms are as per all Hastings hotels very good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you posting your review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
Lots of our guest like to use our complimenary parking and then travel by bus to the city centre The stop is outside our gates and drops you right in the city centre and with the new bus lanes it only takes 10 minutes.
Hope this helps for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The staff were so friendly,bedrooms are top notch and so clean! Have ironing board with iron in the cupboard,big tv,radio with iPhone dock on it,shower room and bath separate. The food is OMG- best ever I've had in my life- I could eat MORE!!!! The staff always asking to make sure everything is fine,offered free newspaper to take it with you, they would resupply more things that you would need!
Would deffo come back again!!!!!

Room Tip: Had it booked in suite room! The room is massive :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for the great review I appreciate you taking the time to comment.
glad you enjoyed your stay.
We now have complimentary WIFI in our public areas and our 3rd floor executive rooms.
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A conveniently located hotel, near the parliament buildings, close to the airport with a nice airy, bright breakfast area. Delicious food in the bistro and breakfast nooke with friendly, competent staff. One disappointment - you have to pay for Internet. Was the only hotel on our entire journey that required this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for the review glad you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted we now have complimentary wifi in public areas and our execuitve rooms on the 3rd floor.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Here again and well looked after as usual by Shane. Keeps us sorted with all our needs, making our lives easier and our time here more enjoyable.

Great location for anyone visiting Belfast and North Down

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Great to have you back . Will pass on your comments to Shane.
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here as part of a conference for the Nutrition Society. Atmosphere was great, staff very friendly and helpful. Bedroom was very nice, I loved the little duck they have in the bathroom. Bed was so comfortable. Enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on. Glad you had a good experience.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Address: 587 Upper Newtownards Rd, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#19 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stormont Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 110 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. Guests can make use of the fitness suite within the hotel or enjoy complimentary use of the David Lloyd Centre nearby. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stormont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.