We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over before ferry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stormont Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stormont Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Stormont Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   587 Upper Newtownards Rd, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 44 hotels in Belfast
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stop over before ferry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Myself and a colleague were travelling from Belfast to Cairnryan on early ferry the next moning so decided to stay in outskirts of Belfast. Have stayed here previously and found it to be ideal.

Highlight has got to be the food in the Bistro! Outstanding. I recommend the Liver & Onions, not to everyone's liking but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Hotel was quiet during our stay and we managed to get a prime location at the bar. Good service, decent pint. Most people seemd to head for the seating area near reception which was home to a large open fire!

Room Tip: Remember to book a table at the Bistro to avoid missing out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks for the great feed back . I will pass your comments onto La Scala
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    132
    50
    25
    16
See reviews for
43
106
35
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Myself and my friend stayed in the Stormont Hotel a few motnhs ago and we had the lovliest time. The staff were excellent and we felt like pampered princesses for the duration of our stay! Our room was luxurious and the little Hastings ducks in the bathroom made us smile :) for breakfast we were given the lovliest table by the window and the staff were so accomodating and friendly. I even realised I'd forgotten my toothbrush and they were able to provide one for me. The hotel is elegantly decorated with a very modern and warm feel. After checking out we ordered tea and coffee and were given complimentary sweets with this as the sunlight flooded in through the large glass windows of reception. Although it isn't city centre we shared a taxi into the city with another couple and it was only £2 each. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definately return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I really appreciate your feed back it means a lot to get great comments.
hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here Sept'12. Although I won my stay here, it's not what I expected. WiFi has to be paid for which is awful considering the price of the rooms. We attended a function in another hotel, there was 50 of us left in a coach, when we returned to the hotel after the function the night porter said he was unaware of a party of 50 returning. We asked about the residents bar to be told that there was only a limited supply behind reception!!! Don't think I'd stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments from last september.
we had taken advice from the event organiser that there would be no need to have a late bar had we realised we definatly would have kept the full bar open. althought the night bar does have quite a range of products. please dont let it put you off just tell us the next time.
hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unnaryd, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at Stormont Hotel for 5 nights visiting our son in Dundonald. The hotel is a mainstream modern hotel and everything is OK. But 2 things was annoying.
WiFi costs 10£ for 24 hour. With a room rate of 107£ I expect WiFi to be included.
Room rate is "room only" and breakfast is 16£ per person. That means additional 32£ on a double room. Far too expensive. We ate breakfast the first morning and found it rather mediocre. The following morning we noticed, that other guests had the same opinion. An empty breakfast restaurant with 3 staff persons standing unemployed leaning to the wall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have lots of different rates depending when and where you book, sorry you did get one of those rates.
we are upgrading some of our bedrooms at present and these will also include wifi . so on your next visit book one of those rooms.
look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

A family Sunday lunch on 6 January which was most enjoyable. The young lady who welcomed us into the restaurant was very pleasant and professional and is a model of what that role should be about. Make sure she gets this feedback. Meal was very nice and good to see the boss Mr Hastings eating in the restaurant. Not sure the entertainment adds much to the experience but no one seemed to mind. Well done the Stormont.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks for posting you comments so glad you eneoyed, I have passed yor comments onto Victoria.
See you again soon I hope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

stayed on a sat night was a great nite hotel is lovely and room was lovely clean and comfy, food was lovely was a great meal, staff in all departments are friendly would recommend it . My only downside was we had noisey people in room next door and across the way and had our door knocked very noisely a few times (i know you have to expect it on party nights but never got to sleep untill 5,30 and was woke again just before 7) We stayed a couple of yrs ago and never had that problem and i dont think it would put me off again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Sorry you had the noise from the party revelers, the night staff do try thier best to control the noise. we try and put every one attending the party nights together as we are never sure which of them will party on. please ask to be a way from there next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed on a weekday night through business. Didn't eat in the evening as got there late but the room was great, massive bed which was sooooo soft and comfy, flat screen tv, big walk in shower and my test of a good room is when I turn of my tv to go to sleep, can I hear noise and.......peace so solid walls. Only little moan was two lights bulbs not working in room.
Not sure what the moans are about breakfast as great selection with hot food, cereal, fruit and even cheese, plenty of choice for you.
Overall hotel well presented, good decor and as I stay in a few hotels with work on main land this place is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay hope you get to try La Scala on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast
Address: 587 Upper Newtownards Rd, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#12 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stormont Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 110 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. Guests can make use of the fitness suite within the hotel or enjoy complimentary use of the David Lloyd Centre nearby. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stormont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.