We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stormont Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stormont Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   587 Upper Newtownards Rd, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 hotels in Belfast
manchester
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at the stormont for 2 nights. I checked into the room to find a empty vodka bottle, left by the previous guest, who it seemed had also taken the toilet seat ! Went back to reception, and was allocated another room straight away. The hotel has been going through a full refurbishment, and it seems newly refurbished rooms do not have a bath, just a walk in shower. The rooms are very nicely decorated, with a large very comfortable bed with excellent bedding. I found the restaurant to be nice, if not a little pricey. There are no bars/pubs or restaurants nearby so you are restricted to the hotel unless you decide to go into town. The hotel has a gym but it really is a token offering, not a proper gym.

Room Tip: refurbished rooms have no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
I appreciate your feedback.
Housekeeping had taken the first room you were allocated off thier system but it had not reached reception sorry about that.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
We have a Sizzle and Sip menu which runs 5 to 7 with two course meal and a glass of wine for £15 try that on your next visit it is very popular.
see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    150
    58
    27
    18
See reviews for
54
121
41
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for the first time Saturday night just passed for an event in the Hotel. Nice hotel, nice clean room albeit a little on the small side - 2 people would have trouble passing each other anywhere in the room although I could live with this.

It loses a star for the ridiculous price of drinks, a rose wine and a white wine spritzer £12.60!!! so decided to switch to cider which still stung the wallet at £4 a pop but gave me change from a £10 for 2 - you can get drinks cheaper in Central London.

It loses the second star as I was woken at 3am by a guy in another room screaming, shouting and stamping his feet and bashing a table/chair - I say screaming as this was not the room beside us or other side of the hall it was a good 2 if not 3 rooms away, I called reception to complain who said they would check it out but it continued for another 30 minutes and then it only stopped from what appeared to be another person associated with them knocking on the door and telling them to quiet down.

I accept that the guy was not the hotels fault but I would have thought that it could’ve been handled better and quicker. Nothing was said to me on check out even although I let them know my room number when I reported it.

So I came away feeling tired and overcharged for drinks, I wouldn't discourage others from going there/using as this could of just been my bad experience but they do need to revise their bar prices.

Room Tip: Better views at the front - unless you like looking at roofs and car parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback .
Sorry about the noisy guest the night staff did try and keep them quiet as much as they could.
thankfully we rarely get complaints of this nature.
There is a wine list with varying degrees of prices for you to chose from . we do try and cater for all tastes and budgets.
Hope to see you gain soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have stayed at the Stormont Hotel several times for business. It is a comfortable, modern hotel with a decent restaurant, very close to the Parliament Buildings and the Stormont park around them. Staff are always very helpful and friendly. Taxi-ride into the city centre, about 15 minutes and £8.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are large and well fitted-out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the review.
It is great that a regular customer takes time to post a review . I really appeciate your business see you again soon I hope .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is great, lots of space, great location, just a short drive to the City centre. All the staff were friendly and polite, service was good and the food excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Location a bit far away from the city, which I don’t really mind as I need to sleep, the staff was really nice, she checked me inn fast and professional , a big clean room, big and confy bed, big screen TV, and got everything what I need.
The restaurant was really good, the food was tasty, I ate twice in the hotel restaurant, and the variety of cocktail was also good.
Only ordering room service late at night was a bit hard, ended up I ordered pizza from domino 
I would for sure recommend this hotel to my friends if they need some rest, despite the location , I really enjoy the service and the hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
With the new bus lanes in place it is easier to get to the city centre only takes 15 mins so if you feel like shopping or exploring its much easier now.
Thanks for the feedback on room service issues I am addressing that with night staff and chef.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The main reason for booking Stormont Hotel was the free car parking that was available ( I refuse to consider any hotel that charge for this ). Room was spacious , clean and quiet ,facing out onto the gates of Stormont Buildings. Staff were friendly & helpful. Buffet breakfast was exceptionally good , plenty of variety & fresh , not dried up like most establishments serving hot food. Again staff here were extremely helpful. Also with the large crowd on Sunday morning there was no waiting around. We ate in the " La Scala Bistro " on Saturday evening. Luckily we had booked it on arrival on the Friday evening as it was completely booked out on Sat night. As it turned out the meal in this restaurant was OK , nothing to get excited about. Having read some of the negative comments regarding this hotel , Im afraid that I could not add to them. We had a pleasant stay here & would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the review.
I am glad you enjoyed you weekend break hope to see you again soon.
La Scala does get very busy at the weekend with non residents as well, booking was agreat idea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely peacful hotel set in a lovely area and easy access to Stormont itself, food in the bistro was also of a high standard and very reasonably priced. Bedroom comfortable and spacious. Staff helpful also

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the review .
Glad your stay was great hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Address: 587 Upper Newtownards Rd, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#17 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stormont Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 110 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. Guests can make use of the fitness suite within the hotel or enjoy complimentary use of the David Lloyd Centre nearby. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stormont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.